We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm and classy bed and breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maplecroft Bed And Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Barre B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Maplecroft is in a beautiful old home in Barre, VT where your hosts have created a warm and inviting place to relax and rest. While we were there, the house was exceptionally quiet. There was no tv in our room but there is a small tv room on the main floor. OUr room was very clean and tidy. The king size bed was comfortable and covered in tasteful high quality linens. The skin and hair care products in the bathroom are locally made and are a real treat to use. Breakfast is served at 8am at the dining room table. All guests are served at the same time. Conversation is encouraged. Depending on the number of guests, it may be family style or buffet style. The china and silverware are a testament to the attention to detail of your hosts. The breakfast was freshly made and delicious with blueberry pancakes, sausage slices, roasted peppers, and fresh fruit. It is a short walk down the hill to a variety of restaurants. Your hosts can help you choose what suits your budget and taste. The street out front of the house is a little bit noisy in the morning but not terrible. The calm and quiet of the house instils a feeling of oasis while staying there.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
There are newer reviews for Maplecroft Bed And Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed 3 nights in this old Victorian B&B in Barre, VT. The interior is filled with antique furniture. Brass rail beds are fitted with modern, comfortable mattresses and a/c is installed in every room. Even though guests take a step back in time, the place is airy and spotless. Some common areas could use some attention (repairs) but none of them detract from the comfort. The hosts are very friendly and helpful. They offered excellent recommendations for places to eat and for day trip activities. Breakfasts are delicious. Outstanding value.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MrG153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My husband and I had an excellent experience at this bed and breakfast in Vermont. My whole family stayed here for a weekend and they all report the same level of satisfaction. First, the rooms are cozy, well-outfitted, and extremely clean. The downstairs is made to feel like your ideal living room and we spent every morning sitting with fresh coffee and catching up. Of course, no review of Maplecroft would be complete without mentioning the delicious, included breakfast. They cook a gourmet breakfast each morning. You sit at a dining room table that is complete with placemats and cloth napkins. I cannot say enough about my excellent stay here.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet and well-appointed. As a couple, we were very cozy and cool in the Tower Roo...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizzAJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Trip Advisor keeps prompting me to write reviews, so here's one that's a couple years late but great. This historic Inn is a short distance from Montpelier. I think it's one freeway exit beyond. Yes, we stayed here in Fall of 2012 but it was a wonderful experience. Our room was at the front of the Inn and our bathroom was across the hall which was less of a big deal than we expected. I have to tell you that, 2 years later, I still remember the breakfasts that were made by Dan's partner who's name escapes me at the moment. But, his partner was born and raised in Japan but cooks New England breakfast better than a lot of New England Mothers could do. Awesome food! Walking distance from the Inn are some restaurants in Barre which are nothing fancy. You can make the 5 minute drive to Montpelier for a broader selection of restaurants and activities. We made this our base while spending about 4 nights in Vermont and had a great time. Thumb's up!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JGBucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yasunari I, Owner at Maplecroft Bed And Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for your comments. We decided to try to respond to more reviews and express appreciation. Dan's partner who prepared your breakfast is Yasunari and he is still striving to serve our guests with healthy, well-balanced home-made meals with local ingredients. Barre downtown is going through very positive transformation and we hope you will come visit again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Unfortunately my wife’s and my experience with the Maplecroft B&B had a few challenges and in our experience with other B&Bs that we have experienced, we cannot issue a review above average. Part of the challenges may have been since we stayed in June which had us needing to keep the window open since it was rather warm in our room and the AC unit was terribly loud. The fan was also a bit loud which kept us up. Our room faced the main street (Washington St.) which had light traffic in the later hours but the traffic built up starting at 05:30 which woke us up. The room also had challenge light intrusion protection. It was only equipped with horizontal blinds that would not close completely allowing light to come in early (around 06:00). Using rankings of 5 as best, room cleanliness was a 3 (cob webs and dust). Comfort a 3 due to noise and light intrusion. Breakfast was a 4, rather good. Inn Keepers were a 3, sorry. Although friendly, they seemed distracted. We had two bags that were a bit heavy. My wife took hers and started up the narrow stairs and the inn keepers didn’t offer to assist her. Infrastructure of Inn has several challenges with water leak stains and ceiling cracking in many locations. Broken window was noticed. Exterior paint very challenged. I also tend to enjoy fresh baked cookies in the afternoon with some additional social time with the Inn Keepers at my B&Bs. The Maplecroft is not a bad B&B but it is also not a 4 star. Giving them the benefit of the doubt due to June, I would rate them a generous 3 star.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We were en route to Montreal from Boston and stopped at the Maplecroft overnight. Dan and adorable terrier Barney greeted us. The room was comfortable, clean and quiet. Breakfast by Dan was delicious. We learned about Barre's very interesting Labor movement history, and as a result, detoured at the Hope cemetery. The granite tombstones were really sculptures, the work of Italian stonecutters, and a unique and beautiful surprise.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank slockemd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Our second stay at Maplecroft lived up to our memories of our first, with beautiful surroundings in this gorgeous home. It is so beautifully and tastefully decorated, not the typical overdone, overstuffed Victorian. All is grace and serenity. Hosts Dan & Yasaguri (& dog Barney) are warmly welcoming, never intrusive. The parlor, dining room, and den available to guests are lovely, comfortable and inviting. Our room was lovely and large and light, and spotlessly clean. Plenty of hot water and good water pressure in the shower. The breakfasts are absolutely delicious and include fresh fruit, colorful sauteed and lightly seasoned vegetables, bacon or sausage, homemade baked goods and jam, and an entree - one morning was hearty, creamy scrambled eggs with scallions, one morning was pumpkin pancakes with real maple syrup. Perfectly made tea and coffee complete the repast. Our only complaints - the room got stuffy at night, and the water at the sink took forever to get hot. (Also we didn't care for the foam mattress, but that's just personal preference. Other rooms have inner spring mattresses, but we do like this room.) I would definitely come here again and recommend it for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barre
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
499 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Barre/Montpelier
6.0 mi away
Capitol Plaza
Capitol Plaza
#2 of 4 in Montpelier
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Firehouse Inn
Firehouse Inn
#2 of 4 in Barre
42 reviews
5.6 mi away
Betsy's Bed and Breakfast
Betsy's Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 4 in Montpelier
106 reviews
5.9 mi away
Inn at Montpelier
Inn at Montpelier
#2 of 4 in Montpelier
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maplecroft Bed And Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maplecroft Bed And Breakfast

Address: 70 Washington St, Barre, VT 05641-4209
Region: United States > Vermont > Barre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Barre
Price Range: £100 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Maplecroft Bed And Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Maplecroft Bed And Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing