We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring your own SHAMPOO and SOAP!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hollow Inn and Motel
Ranked #3 of 4 Barre B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Stayed here for two nights, the rooms are large, beds are soft, the rooms are clean (somewhat).
The bathrooms: old used soap in the soap dish, shampoo in plastic packets - which when your showering and wet are impossible to open except by using your teeth (YUCK).

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oiafisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
There are newer reviews for Hollow Inn and Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2013

I enjoyed staying there, not as clean but good people. Location is great right off the intserstate right next to a park except little scary crossing the street so be careful. There is a gym and laundry not the hilton but serves it purpose. The cleaning people are very nice. And the weekend crew is great. They were very nice to my grandson. He loved the danishes and he loved the owner

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mrsonetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012 via mobile

I read some of the reviews and I was worried of what I would get. Really not as bad as I thought. Clean rooms. Nice people working at the hotel.Everything just fine.
The hotel is not new, but it serves its purpose. I will return to it.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CGuadarrama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

The non smoking room reeks of smoke and one of the blankets sports cigarrette burns. Half the light globes don't work. The doorlock is difficult and the door sticks. On the brighter side the room is spacious, if very dated, and the Internet is fast. The operator is frendly. Needs work to bring it up to a decent standard.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

A recent stay at The Hollow Inn was perfectly adequate. I found the gentleman running the place to be friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and decent enough. Nothing spectacular, but fine for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robs_Screen_Name
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

I needed a place to stay with a family member on short notice. Although I'm familiar with the area, I wasn't at all familiar with The Hollow Inn and Motel. The staff was very accommodating. Our room was spacious, with separate a sitting area with a sofa bed (so if one person had wanted to stay up later to read they could have done so without bothering their room-mate). Although we'd thought of using the pullout bed for sleetping, we decided not to because it didn't seem it would be comfortable for the night.

However, the king-size bed in the room was great: clean, comfortable, lots of pillows. The bathroom was fine and, as I recall, included a telephone in the bathroom! The room also had a small refrigerator and counter above it.

The breakfast in the morning was simple, but enough to get one going.

It's set back from the road and not right next to an interstate, so there was no problem at all with highway noise. Although we were close to the desk and breakfast room, this didn't result in any problems with noise from inside the hotel, either. And the cost was less than chain hotels in the area. Definitely a good choice.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VTMountainGarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

The place is obviously old and has not been maintained well, but my room had nice new furnishings and was a clean and pleasant place to spend the night.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barre
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Barre/Montpelier
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
499 reviews
6.7 mi away
Capitol Plaza
Capitol Plaza
#2 of 4 in Montpelier
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe
4.3 mi away
Twin City Motel
Twin City Motel
#1 of 3 in Barre
106 reviews
1.0 mi away
Maplecroft Bed And Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollow Inn and Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollow Inn and Motel

Address: 278 S Main St, Barre, VT 05641-4829
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Barre
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Barre
Price Range: £51 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollow Inn and Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hollow Inn Barre Montpelier Vermonts best choice for reasonably priced comfortable and clean accommodations with friendly hospitable service We have all of the amenities to make your stay in central Vermont charming relaxing and enjoyable Each room comes furnished with a TV VCR microwave refrigerator coffee maker iron ironing board and hairdryer and we also offer a nice selection of videos for your movie viewing pleasure Enjoy a fast connection with our Wireless High Speed Internet Access from your room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hollow Inn and Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hollow Hotel Barre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing