We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“comfortable establishment” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hollow Inn and Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hollow Inn and Motel
Ranked #3 of 4 Barre B&B and Inns
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“comfortable establishment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

I stayed at the Hollow Inn and motel as a member of a work crew. first impressions of the place as I walked up were "hmm. rather plain, but not like Days inn" and sure was I right. The lobby was beautifully furnished and check in was a breeze. our host was courteous and the Housekeepers thoughtful. they finished up our room first so we could move in.
gigantic rooms perfect for families as cots are 10.00, if you need more beds. King size beds , (there were 2) very comfortable, with a micro fleece blanket and cover. rug was clean. bathroom impeccable; caulk Job and paint done well, which is something I look for. The fridge was nice the coffee maker worked (surprise!) TV was HQ, and the best part was the excellent wireless connection. I streamed Netflix no problem. Pool was cold, which is fine if you are trying to cool off. Hot tub was not working. Breakfast was definitely carbcentric; the waffles were delicious as were the Danishes, and excellent muffins. the coffee was very good, (I wonder where they got It, it was so good!).

Overall I a great place to stay on a limited budget, as it beats every other 90.00 and lower priced motels in room quality and customer service.
dont expect the Hilton.
Will definitely stay Here again.

Room Tip: room 208 has balcony and faces out onto parking lot.. I stayed in 206 which was on a top floor, alth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nathan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    35
    27
    10
    35
See reviews for
44
36
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Before visiting the Hollow Inn, we read several reviews about it. I feel for those who felt offended (not sure why the women were presented with police, but that may be a cultural clash- see below*). We needed to compare it with another local establishment in our price range, and concluded that at the Hollow Inn, you get what you do/don't pay for.
There are 2 types of buildings- one is the main building, which was built in the 1940's and the other (2) ones were built in the 1970's. We stayed in the main building, which had oversized rooms with substantial structuring. The bathroom was clean for the most part, the shower amazing, the sink fixture barely reached into the basin, but as we found in a few locations (some surfaces- headboard top, commode wall, bedspread, carpet), there were examples of "schmutz". To a guy, this may seem acceptable, but to a woman it may seem "skeevy". Since I am the former, I accepted them and wrote it off to the cost factor. It would help the management to charge $5 more per room and make sure that the rooms were at the next level of cleanliness- at least WE would pay for that.
Checkin was almost seamless- we just gave our name and they handed us our key. Maybe they had enough faith in us, but I recommend that they always verify identity. Checkout was too easy also- there was a woman who knew little English who finally understood we wanted to leave, so she just took our key and said "thank you".
The breakfast was not a full one. They have a great little waffle maker (read the instructions before using), but no fresh fruit or yogurt, 2 choices of cereal and the coffee was mud. Again, if they found that adding a little to this, they could get a better review and MAY be justified in adding a couple bucks to the price.
We appreciate the versatility of Vermont, but whatever business one endeavors to establish, *one should learn AND UNDERSTAND the local popular culture and language of the region to best serve the visitors. In short the Hollow Inn is "good" and has a short way to go to be rated as "very good", or even "excellent".

Room Tip: Ask for the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tmark9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant ,Al
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

The pet friendly rooms need to be updated they need to take up the old carpet and put down hardwood floors and add more lighting to the rooms and more electrical plugs to the room like all the Red Roof Inn have done also the Red Roof Inns have put down hardwood floors I all their rooms This has made the rooms more injoyable to stay at with the cleaner rooms! At the hollow Inn The room we stayed at needed to be updated bad! !! it was very big room and had a nice flat screen TV But The carpet was in need of steam cleaning and there was a couple of holes in the walls the doors needed to be replaced in the bathroom had holes and scratches from where a big dog had jumped on it And the room could use more lights and plugs for pluging in things like your computers The front door to the room needed to be replaced The hot tub didn't work but the pool look nice didn't see any work out room or guest laundry they need more ice machine for the outside rooms that is not in the main hotel to use so that they don't have to go up to the main hotel across the parking lot to get ice for the room. But the staff was very friendly when you asked for things they tried to help you with your needs the best they could. They just need to up date the outside rooms that were pet friendly that we stayed in !!!! Please take up the old out dated carpet in the pet friendly rooms and put in hard wood floors !!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGTurner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

From other reviews I approached this place with a lot of hesitation but the price was right and I ended up pleasantly surprised.

The good: Grounds are well kept and there is plenty of free parking. My room is quite spacious! I am in a King, non-smoking in the Inn part of the main bldg. The in-room wi-fi works great. Sheets are thin but very clean and there are no stains on either the bedding or the carpet. The carpet is either new or recently shampooed. The shower throws medium-pressure water and allows for very hot water if you want it. Check-in was smooth and courteous and Inn is pretty quiet overall which is a huge change for me after staying in mostly chain establishments with school kids running and screaming everywhere. The mini fridge and microwave both worked well and I stored my purchases from the Cheese & Wine Fest easily. Very new flat screen TV with all my favorite news channels. A soda machine is near the front desk as is ice and a main fridge if you have filled your room fridge. Breakfast is what you might expect from a chain with breads, coffee, and sweet treats.

Very minor criticisims: Don't let these stop you from staying here! The a/c machine in my room works great but is pretty old and very loud even when turned on low. Fortunately I was still able to sleep very well. I guess all hotels now have the energy-efficient CFL bulbs which I can't stand. If your looking to read in bed you'll need to remove the lampshade and move the lamp closer to your bed. Alarm clock only, no radio-- and ladies: bring your own shampoo and soap if your picky about toiletries.

I did not use the fitness facilities.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveSoloTravel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

Pros: price, room size, friendly staff, location, free wi-fi, plenty of parking

Cons: not as clean as I would have wanted, breakfast carb-centric and limited, toilet was a double-flush, dated in general.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minnie2452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barre
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

The owner & staff all went out of their way to make my stay comfortable. The mini fridge & microwave were handy, the bed very comfortable. I would definitely recommend this motel. It's a very welcoming place.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gail s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

great rooms awesome staff with great service highly recommend.playground close for the kids,rooms with kitchenettes breakfast is free with a great variety.if you are looking for a nice clean beautiful quit place this is it :)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jeromy630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barre
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Barre/Montpelier
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
6.7 mi away
Capitol Plaza
Capitol Plaza
#2 of 4 in Montpelier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Waterbury Stowe
4.3 mi away
Twin City Motel
Twin City Motel
#1 of 3 in Barre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
1.0 mi away
Maplecroft Bed And Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollow Inn and Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollow Inn and Motel

Property: Hollow Inn and Motel
Address: 278 S Main St, Barre, VT 05641-4829
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Barre
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollow Inn and Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hollow Inn Barre Montpelier Vermonts best choice for reasonably priced comfortable and clean accommodations with friendly hospitable service We have all of the amenities to make your stay in central Vermont charming relaxing and enjoyable Each room comes furnished with a TV VCR microwave refrigerator coffee maker iron ironing board and hairdryer and we also offer a nice selection of videos for your movie viewing pleasure Enjoy a fast connection with our Wireless High Speed Internet Access from your room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Hollow Inn and Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hollow Hotel Barre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing