We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Clean & Reasonable”
Review of Twin City Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Twin City Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Barre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2008

We booked a group of 8 motorcycle riders to stay one night at the Twin City. The owner is a fellow rider himself and threw out the welcome mat for us. He made sure we had some rags to wipe off our bikes in the morning.

The rooms were clean, in good condition and everything worked. Our room had a couch and a chair. The property abuts busy Route 302, but you can walk to a couple of different restaurants.

Very reasonably priced. Some of the other properties in the area looked a little scary. Same owner for 37 years; there's an obvious pride in ownership.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hedlundk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 110 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2008

I admit it, I was attracted by the price. I planned a five-night stay, a single traveler on a secretary's budget. I couldn't have been happier. Personal emails from the owners prior to my arrival informed me that I would find a modest 50's-style, mom-and-pop motel, quiet and safe. I was looking for a "home base" for a week of sightseeing, rest and relaxation: typically ventured out during the day and spent evenings in, watching TV, listening to music, reading, knitting. I was greeted by name when I went to check in. There was some snowfall on several nights, and one morning was delighted to find a path shoveled from the door of my unit directly to the door of my rental car. Talk about service! My room had a very comfortable double bed, nightstand, small writing desk, a recliner, TV with LOTS more channels than I subscribe to at home, radio/alarm, microwave, and a small refrigerator. I ate several (albeit simple) meals in the room, providing my own dishes and utensils. (Local markets provided coffee packets, a mug/bowl, cereal, cheese, crackers, sandwich innards, and microwave entrees ... not much storage space, especially in the fridge. I advise you scope out the room before you hit the grocery store.) The bathroom is small with a small shower. Bring your own hairdryer and shampoo. Ample towels, soap were provided. The place was wonderfully quiet. Though it is on the main road, traffic noise was nil, and the motel iteself was very quiet the week I was there. Friendly, helpful staff, but not intrusive.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viajanete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2007

Just a few miles outside Montpelier, this is a no-nonsense motel. It's nothing fancy but offered excellent value for money and was exceptionally clean and well cared for. Room with two doubles for just over $80. Appears to be run by the owners who could not have been more helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BucksUK_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank christianseyffarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barre
4.1 mi away
Quality Inn Barre/Montpelier
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
514 reviews
2.4 mi away
Capitol Plaza
Capitol Plaza
#2 of 4 in Montpelier
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe
4.3 mi away
Hollow Inn and Motel
3.6 mi away
Firehouse Inn
Firehouse Inn
#2 of 4 in Barre
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twin City Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin City Motel

Address: 1537 US Route 302, Near Montpelier, Barre, VT 05641-2349
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Barre
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Barre
Price Range: £72 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Twin City Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twin City Hotel Barre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing