We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Halladay's Harvest Barn Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Solvay, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay!”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Friendly innkeepers, great service, EXCELLENT breakfasts and evening snacks. Halliday's is a perfect spot to stay as you browse through Vermont. The innkeepers have a wonderful knowledge of what there is to see in the Bellows Falls area and surrounds. What more can you want? We highly recommend Halladay's.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Solvay-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarvestBarnInn, innkeeper at Halladay's Harvest Barn Inn, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write. Once again, we have to say it is so easy to be nice when you have such wonderful guests! We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast as you know P loves to cook. We hope to see you again in your travels. P.S. I found the sweatshirt!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    19
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
85
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gatlinburg, Tennessee, United States
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My review is SO overdue as we visited back in May but here it is, finally.

I must start out to say that this was the most enjoyable stay I've ever had anywhere, whether it be a B&B or otherwise. I didn't want to leave.

I brought my mom to Bellows Falls as a surprise trip for her to see our family, visit her childhood neighborhood & home and as well to visit her mom's (& other family members) grave. This trip has long been on her bucket list and I at last was able to bring her. Needless to say, this was a very meaningful trip in & by itself. However, our stay at Halladay's Harvest Barn Inn really put our trip over the top.

The personal touch that we received there was awesome! The never ending supply of fruit water, coffee and our afternoon cookies, crackers & cheese. The way they genuinely listened and conversed with us. The daily room refreshers & water decanter refills. All of these things made our stay very enjoyable. Besides all of that, the ambiance of the Inn is fantastic. It is very warm and inviting, not to mention comfortable. You feel like it is home away from home. You feel as if you are visiting family or long time friends.

The location is great too, offering wonderful views of the Connecticut River.

We booked & stayed in the Orchard Suite which has it's own private deck overlooking the back yard & pond. This room has a nice comfortable queen size bed with a hide a bed couch. While it wasn't cold enough to use the gas stove, it does have this as an added perk. We LOVED our room! My cousin came over from Main to visit with us and he booked the River View room. This too was a spectacular room, even offering it's own private deck.

On top of everything else, every one of our meals were superb, plentiful, and oh so pretty. Every morning, I rolled away from the table completely stuffed and satisfied.

I would not hesitate for a single moment about booking another stay here. I know my mom feels the same way as she still keeps telling people how she felt like royalty with the way she was treated while staying here.

This trip is one that we both will cherish & remember for our lifetime and it is part due to the hospitality we received at the Harvest Barn. So thank you for that.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarvestBarnInn, Innkeeper at Halladay's Harvest Barn Inn, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Wow, what a review! As much as you enjoyed being here, we enjoyed having you. As we waved good-bye, it was just like seeing family off. The picture of your mom on the porch reflecting on her childhood home is one we shall keep in our memories. Priceless. Thank you for being so kind. We will see you soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fontana, California
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This was a beautiful B & B. Unfortunately due to our flight being delayed we arrived later than we had planned and had an early start the next day. This resulted in us not getting to enjoy it as long as we had hoped.
We had a very nice porch and the view was very nice.
Kathy was wonderful and accommodating. She had cookies out for our arrival and since we had to leave so early in the morning. She had bread put out in the morning and offered to make a breakfast sandwich for us before we had to depart (which my husband really appreciated and enjoyed).
We look forward to another trip to VT and the opportunity to enjoy another night at this lovely Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KandBsALT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarvestBarnInn, Innkeeper at Halladay's Harvest Barn Inn, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are hoping the rest of your anniversary trip went well. It was our pleasure to provide with an early breakfast. We never want anyone to leave on an empty tummy! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed one night in late August while attending a reenactment across the river in nearby Charlestown, NH and our stay could not have been better. The innkeepers were warm and welcoming, the inn was beautifully remodeled, the food was fabulous, our room was extremely comfortable, the river view from the front porch was great, and the grounds in the back with fruit trees and a pond were serene and beautiful. We are definitely coming back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarvestBarnInn, Innkeeper at Halladay's Harvest Barn Inn, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
We loved having you here!. It is not too often we have a British soldier and his wife from the Revolutionary War stay with us! It is one of many stories we will share with our other guests. Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We much appreciate it.

Enjoy the beautiful fall!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We had a lovely one night stay at the Inn while in VT for a wedding. The Inn is beautiful and the rooms are every bit as lovely as they appear on the Halladay website. The rooms were really well appointed, the beds comfortable and Kathy and Phil had clearly thought of everything to make their guests feel welcome.

As nice as the Inn is it would be worth staying the night just to taste Phil's wonderful orange baked French Toast -- it was the best French Toast we have ever tasted and two weeks later we are still talking about it.

Our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarvestBarnInn, Innkeepers at Halladay's Harvest Barn Inn, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed yourselves here and of course, Phill is thrilled you loved his French toast! It was very kind of you to take the time out to write a review and we much appreciate it. We love to take care of folks! Hope to see you again soon. Enjoy our beautiful fall scenery!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howell, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We were only able to spend one night there while enjoying several of the area attractions. Our hosts, Kathy & Phill made us feel right at home in this warm, inviting Inn...We stayed in the Orchard Suite which had a deck off the room and it was PERFECT for enjoying a morning cup of coffee...This suite overlooked a pond and our neighbor, Martin the cat, came by to greet us...I have never met a friendlier cat and he came when we called his name but unfortunately, Martin was not allowed in the Inn. Thats good because I have allergies!!!! The shower had the most impressive water pressure and I didn't want to get out!! The peaceful environment and beautiful scenery made me wish we could have stayed longer...Breakfast at the Inn is served at 8 but since we had to leave early Kathy & Phill prepared us a special gourmet breakfast so we didn't leave on an empty stomach...Kathy & Phill were extremely accommodating and full of helpful information which made our brief stay extremely enjoyable...I would love to return for a longer period of time but until I do, I would encourage anybody who is looking for a visit to Grandma's House, book a room at the Harvest Barn Inn...You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarvestBarnInn, Innkeeper at Halladay's Harvest Barn Inn, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thank you! You girls were so much fun! We loved having you here. It was great to meet each of you. I hope your baking class was good and you got an opportunity to visit some of the sites we talked about. We hope to see you again!
Thank you again for that nice review. We certainly appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GA
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

What a beautiful view, and wonderful innkeepers to match! We arrived much later than anticipated, and found a lovely note from Kathy and Phil, along with fruit, cheese and crackers. Very, very thoughtful! Our room on the second floor was nicely done, extremely clean, and very comfortable. We didn't have the pleasure of eating breakfast, as we had to fulfill obligations with company. (Although what we saw of it looked scrumptious!)

Don't hesitate to stay here. It's a fine choice!

Room Tip: If you're extremely tall, ask for room with an accommodating shower. Ours was fine for me, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarvestBarnInn, Innkeepers at Halladay's Harvest Barn Inn, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you! We are glad you enjoyed your late night snacks. It was our pleasure to provide that for you after a long day of travel. We are hoping next time you can indulge in one of our great breakfasts!

Thank you again and enjoy the rest of the summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellows Falls
7.7 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
332 reviews
8.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springfield
17.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Keene Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Chesterfield Inn
Chesterfield Inn
#1 of 2 in West Chesterfield
309 reviews
10.7 mi away
Inn Victoria
Inn Victoria
#1 of 9 in Chester
474 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Putney Inn
The Putney Inn
#2 of 6 in Putney
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halladay's Harvest Barn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halladay's Harvest Barn Inn

Property: Halladay's Harvest Barn Inn
Address: 16 Webb Ter, 4th House on the Left!, Bellows Falls, VT 05101-3157
Region: United States > Vermont > Bellows Falls
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bellows Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Halladay's Harvest Barn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harvest Barn Inn is a charming, casual, affordable place to stay in Southern Vermont, close to New Hampshire and Massachusetts. We offer gorgeous views, clean, quiet, cozy rooms and outrageously good breakfasts, all for about the same price as a standard hotel.We offer cooking and crafting classes, room for families to re-connect, and romantic getaway packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Halladay's Harvest Barn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing