We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Purgatory Inn” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paradise Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paradise Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Bennington
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Purgatory Inn”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Ludicrous lapses. First of all, the signage is terrible. It took ten minutes to FIND the office to check in. (There's a small sign saying "office," but you have to be there already to see it.
Nobody knows anything. There was a skylight over the bed. I wanted to take a nap. I called the front desk to ask if there was a shade so as not to have sunshine in my face. They had no idea. A guy showed up (manager? maintenance guy) to show that there was a shade, and with a hangar from the closet he managed to close it. Later I found that there was a pole in another closet with a hook on it, designed for this purpose. The coffee shop, :"The Brown Cow" (locals call it "The Mad Cow" is no open on Saturdays or Sundays. There was a coffee maker that worked, but a sign over the sink requesting that guests wash their own dishes.
At least we are not expected to make the beds. Also, the lighting is inadequate

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PappasatParadiseInn, Owner at Paradise Inn, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you for the feedback it is always appreciated. The Inn has two signs on Main Street and one on Harrison Avenue. We also have two signs in the parking lot which point to the lobby. The signage on Main Street does state the office is in the rear of the property which could be missed. The shade in the room does have a visible handle on it. The cafe is seperately owned and they are open Sunday. I have never heard it referred to as the Mad Cow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    108
    52
    32
    8
See reviews for
70
103
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
memphis, ny
Level Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

Opted for the king spa room: Room opened up to the lovely pool area that had a hammock, lounge chairs, tables...secluded and quiet. The sauna in our room was very enjoyable, and the bed comfortable. One complaint- the herd of nocturnal elephants that was staying in the room above us for one night. You may want to opt for 2nd floor room, but, I'm not sure if noise conduction like this is the norm. Loved the food at the Brown Cow Cafe, and their coffee outshines Starbucks! Convenient. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pookle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

Cost was half of a Berkshires B&B we stayed in but had more space and warmth. Very friendly staff from front desk to cleaning crew. Only three blocks from downtown, great location. We fully recommend the Paradise Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ctefanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, Maine, USA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed in a a nice large room that had a deck on the lawn and the lawn and garden are lovely especially on the first really nice Spring weekend of the year. They do not provide breakfast but the is a nice breakfast and lunch place on the property. This place is showing it's age on the outside. The walk to the lobby door is chipped and rough and needs paint. Make a bad first impression. The carpent on our ground level deck needed replacement. But the place was comfortable, the room large and pleasant. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: be sure to ask for a room with a garden or lawn view. $10 more but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allendale, NJ
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

We were pleasantly surprised to find how large our room was and that we had a sliding door to a private little patio right outside our room - with a view of the mountains! Although the outside pool was still closed for the season, it was in a lovely secluded nicely landscaped area. We were traveling with our two large dogs and there was a nice area around the hotel to walk them. The Brown Cow, just a few yards from the hotel was a great find and we found plently of delicious and healthy food to keep us happy. The location was nice as it allowed us to walk all through the town with the dogs. We loved the moose tracks on the sidewalks. We thought it was a good value for the money and would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doubledogone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

we checkec in just thursday evening before Good Friday. We got a suit because we were traveling with my 2 sons and my oldest sons girlfriend. We were greeted by the very unwelcoming front desk lady. she gave us our keys and pointrd us into the direction of the stairs... No elevator! Our rooom was big, 2 queen beds and a pull out coach. we were right over the lobby area where u check in. the tv was on all night, how do I know that? we could hear it in our room just above.. My sons girls friend went to bathroom and said ewe there's still toilet paper in the bowl from who ever cleaned or stayed last. I sneezed all night long.. the beds we ok, pillow were flat and old. we checked out the next morning. for the cost you can stay in a nice chain with some quality. that wasn't my first time at that hotel, but last time was probably 8/9 years ago and it wasn't bad then but we stayed in the other building.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mommyloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

My wife and I stayed here very recently for three nights as part of a group attending a wedding. The main part of the Inn sits back of the road with a building somewhat blocking the view from the street. If we were not using out GPS we may have driven right by the place as the signage for the Inn is rather small. Our group as a whole thought the Inn was a good value.

My wife and I stayed in the Queen suite which along with the King suite is actually part of the building that houses the Brown Cow Cafe and is at least 150 yards from the main part of the Inn. The couple of times we needed to visit the lobby we drove there. We liked the Queen suite overall. This room contained two double beds, a small but functional kitchen area with with a oven, two burner top, sink and bigger than dorm size frig, all were in working order. We were not sure a few days prior to our arrival if the kitchen contained pats, pans, silverware ect so I placed a call to the Inn. The female who answered the phone at the Inn was not completely sure either so we ended up bringing a few items that we could have left at home. I would suggest that the lobby staff be a little more well versed in what the suites have to offer. Prior to booking I viewed the photos of our suite that were found on here and it looked to me that the Queen suite had a sitting area which is not the case.

Overall the suite worked well for us and we had family staying in the King suite right next door and since we were the only two rooms in that building we felt comfortable leaving our doors open and had people moving back and forth between the suites.

I thought the staff was very friendly and helpful. One staff member even let us remove a comfortable chair from the Inn to transport to the reception location with allowed a elderly lady sit in comfort at the reception. Lets face it most hotels would not allow that to happen.

Although I don't expect to be in Bennington again anytime soon if we were to return I would most probably book this Inn again.

Room Tip: The King and Queen suites are a good distance from the main part of the Inn, so if traveling with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fourwaystreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bennington hotels
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Bennington
Hampton Inn Bennington
#1 of 8 in Bennington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
1.2 mi away
Knotty Pine Motel
Knotty Pine Motel
#3 of 8 in Bennington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bennington
BEST WESTERN Bennington
#2 of 8 in Bennington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Harwood Hill
The Harwood Hill
#5 of 8 in Bennington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bennington Motor Inn
Bennington Motor Inn
#7 of 8 in Bennington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.6 mi away
Four Chimneys Inn
Four Chimneys Inn
#1 of 9 in Bennington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Inn

Property: Paradise Inn
Address: 141 Main St, Bennington, VT 05201-2935
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Bennington
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Bennington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Paradise Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paradise Inn is Bennington’s most unique place to stay. Enveloped in gardens and lawns, the Inn is quiet, secluded, peaceful, yet just five minutes from quaint downtown Bennington by foot, where you’ll find shops and great restaurants, coffee and pizza, a fantastic gym and much more. Our 77 rooms are clean, spacious, and well-maintained, and priced ever-so-reasonably. The prefect lodging for individuals, couples, families, and groups, our rooms come in a variety of sizes, from Suites with patios or decks to comfortable economy rooms with king/queen or double beds. Our pool is solar heated to just the right temperature in the summer and surrounded by a slate-stone patio with many chairs and umbrella covered tables. There's great dining just a minute walk away or in downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Paradise Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Hotel Bennington
Paradise Motel Bennington
Paradise Motor Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing