We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a trip just for the Views”

Bennington Battle Monument
Ranked #1 of 23 things to do in Bennington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Monument to a key battle of the American Revolution. The monument stands over 300 feet tall.
Wirral
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Well worth a trip just for the Views”
Reviewed 20 October 2011

For $3 you get tan accompanied ride in an elevator 256 feet to a viewing platform that gives 360degree views. It is totally safe even when the very narrow windows are open. This allows a first class opportunity to take photos or video so don't forget your camera or camcorder. On a clear day you can see for miles and in the fall the colours are spectacular. On the first floor near the entrance to the elevator is a simple but interesting account of the Battle of Bennington and the story behind the monument

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank DBtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    178
    34
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
578 reviews
252 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 536 helpful votes
“Beautiful Monument, Outstanding View”
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Visited here while staying in Bennington. The monument is visible all around the town of Bennington. It is large, commanding and attractive. The monument is located in a park like setting with a small gift shop. For $3.00, one can go up in the elevator to the top of the monument for expansive views. I have to admit that I have a great fear of heights and was hesitant about taking the elevator. Even after buying the ticket, I hesitated for some minutes about whether I should go up. There was a wonderful volunteer who mans the elevator and goes up with each visitor. He kindly encouraged me to go up and I finally did. He showed me how you can see New York State and Massachusetts State from the viewpoint. The viewing area is very enclosed and safe. I was glad I made the trip up for such a wonderful view on a sunny day. The monument has an interesting history linked to the revolutionary war. Don't miss seeing this if you visit Bennington!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank MSWMom50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Worth a visit for the views”
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Not much to do here, but go up the monument. The views are fantastic, especially in the fall.

Visited November 2010
Helpful?
Thank cattraveler16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A great view for a couple of dollars”
Reviewed 29 October 2010

Take a few minutes to visit the Bennington Battle Monument, where older folks are there to serve you in the nice little gift shop, and even run the elevator to the top of the monument. Be sure to tip the guy! Take your camera as you'll have great views in all directions. You're 300 feet up. All for only $2.

Helpful?
Thank TBayGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Worth it for the views”
Reviewed 22 October 2010

The $2 admission gives you the elevator ride to a point high up the monument where there are windows on all sides. The views from these are great in all directions - especially when we were there with the autumn colours of the trees. There isn't much else to see when you have heard/read about what the monument represents, but if you are in the area or passing through it is worth a visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank CheresX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bennington Battle Monument also viewed

Bennington, Green Mountains
 
Bennington, Green Mountains
 

Been to Bennington Battle Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing