We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fish”
Review of Lil Britain

Lil Britain
Ranked #10 of 75 Restaurants in Bennington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A real working British fish and chips shop in Bennington run by Brits
Vermont
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great fish”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I have had lots of fish and french fries over the years, but the authentic British fish and chips served here ranks as some of the very bests I have had anywhere. We stopped in not long before closing, but were warmly greeted and our fish was ready in short order. It was very fresh and thick cut and a very generous portion for the "small size"....I can only imagine how big the large portion is. The batter was light and crunchy and just right, and the chips were browned and very tasty. I went native and ordered mashed peas as the side instead of my usual cole slaw, and they were interesting to say the least, sort of like a very thick pea soup, but fresh tasting and a good compliment to the fish. i would get them again, cole slaw you can find from coast to coast, buy mashy peas? those are unique.
We didnt spend much time soaking up the atmosphere because our food was done up fast to go, but it was clean and inviting enough, and we will probably eat our food there next time to get it while its hot and fresh. its now a must stop for us when we go through Bennington

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mainetraveller_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    16
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

After reading the trip advisor reviews I stopped here on a recent trip. I've never been to England but I can say they have the best fish and chips I've ever had. The interior is not much to look at. I really wish it was a casual restaurant instead of fast food take out. But either way the food is fantastic.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank briny319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A taste of home”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Been through Bennington many times but missed this gem until today. Fish was good and the steak pie was excellent. Chips were a good mix of English crisp v soggy. Gravy for the pie was as near as you can get to UK chippy gravy. Nice to see curry, bangers and chip buttys on the menu. Now I know it's there, will be worth the 3/4 hour run there just to get a good English supper !

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Great authentic English food”
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

I have worked for an English couple for years and they have tought me all about there home cuisine, and I have tried all of it. When I found out about this place I was very excited.I went there and tried a few different dishes, and I must say I was very pleased with the food. The decor is great and I had a very enjoyable time.

Helpful?
Thank Joel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Regular Columbus Day weekend customers”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I've been here on a yearly basis and am never disappointed with the standard of the fish and chips.
It does take a little wait because it is made to order but when it does come it's very hot, crispy and tasty and actually have to wait a bit because it is so hot. I usually order the small fish and chips because you get one large filet and a generous potion of fries.
Will definitely be back when in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GhostmanNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lil Britain also viewed

Bennington, Green Mountains
 
Bennington, Green Mountains
 
Bennington, Green Mountains
Bennington, Green Mountains
 

Been to Lil Britain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing