We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food”
Review of Lil Britain

Lil Britain
Ranked #11 of 75 Restaurants in Bennington
Certificate of Excellence
Description: A real working British fish and chips shop in Bennington run by Brits
Restaurant details
Description: A real working British fish and chips shop in Bennington run by Brits
Bennington, Vermont, United States
1 review
“good food”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

excellent food and service. very friendly people. it is a small place but bright and clean. good experience. fish and chips delicious!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimnSonja D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    17
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wantagh, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“spend your money elsewhere”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

don't blink or you will miss this tiny, 7 or so tables, restaurant. the owners appeared to be the ones doing the cooking, and they were extremely friendly. the place itself was not much to look at inside, and seemed more like a take-out sandwich shop than anything else. we all had the fish and chips which is their signature dish. we all ordered the large size which was one large piece of fried fish with a choice of sides. I had the potato salad which was pretty tasty. however, the fish batter was bland. I was expecting a mouthful of flavor when I first saw the plate come out and saw this nicely cooked,flaky batter. but it was not to be.
not worth the money in my opinion.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“A huge disappointment after reading the reviews”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

I chose this restaurant because of the reviews. We were very disappointed with the food. The fish and chips were rather greasy, the fried scallops had too much breading and the fish tacos only had cole slaw and salsa on the side. Not worth the money we spent on the food. I would not recommend this restaurant after our experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Just like in the UK”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We had lunch here yesterday. It was a very hot day and were happy to discover that this little place is more than the take away chipper it looks like from the outside. It was nicely air conditioned and had seating for about 20. The real star of this place, though, is the food. We both had fish and chips and they were excellent. The fish was a nice fillet of (probably) cod battered in traditional British style and the chips were the large cut kind you find in the UK. A great place.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Will send all my friends.”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We had a delicious lunch at Lil Britain while visiting Bennington. It is a very small storefront with 7 or 8 tables. No frills but the food was very good. I had the small fish and chips while my husband had the fried clams. We both chose the cole slaw as our side dish. Everything was delicious. The fish was tender and breaded just right and not greasy at all. The clams were tender and tasty. We both loved the thick cut of the chips (french fries). The cole slaw was good, too. The lady behind the counter was friendly and explained the menu choices to us. We would definitely go back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 14Art14Trout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lil Britain also viewed

 
Bennington, Green Mountains
Bennington, Green Mountains
 

Been to Lil Britain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing