We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!”
Review of The Publyk House

The Publyk House
Ranked #5 of 75 Restaurants in Bennington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WOW!”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

While they didn't have a specific gluten free menu, the staff were very accommodating and knowledgeable and created a safe dish for me to eat that was very tasty too! The view is *spectacular* and was a great ending to a weekend trip through VT. I'd go back for the view and their wonderful service!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlueEyesMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    116
    64
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“It's great food but the staff should be more attentive ”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Really cannot commend the food highly enough, the cod was superb, the meatloaf perfect, great local brown ale to wash it down but the waiting staff need a bit of a kick up the butt, not to be in your face but to keep an eye on tables so that courses are cleared and refreshed in a timely manner. It wasn't busy, there were plenty of them so it's a small but important thing to fix.

Helpful?
Thank stuart_cox_photo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePublykHouse, Owner at The Publyk House, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thanks for choosing The Publyk House while you were traveling. We appreciate the business and your comments. You are absolutely right. Our waitstaff does need to step it up. Tables should always be cleared in a timely manner whether we're busy or not. We will address this comment at our next staff meeting and hope that next time you're here that not only live up to your expectations, but exceed them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bennington, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Easter sunday”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed a delicious Easter Sunday dinner. Everything was wonderful...food, staff, decor. I will definitely be back!!!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank firecrkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePublykHouse, Owner at The Publyk House, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thanks for the kind words. We love holidays and work very heard to set up delectable buffets for special occasions such as Easter. Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, RI
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good food after a long day sightseeing”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We had a nice experience at the Publyk House. It's a pretty, converted barn with lovely views. We had a nice hostess and attentive server (Rachel). The salad bar is nice. I had the 'blue Ox' (I think that's the name). The steak was done to perfection. It's not creative dining, but it's tasty, well prepared food.

Helpful?
Thank itsjusttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Normandy, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Typical New England”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Located in a New England style barn-like atmosphere but completely remodeled and actively operating. Menu was well-done, as was the food. Service was appropriate as was the price list. A pleasant dining experience. I enjoyed it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Trankj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Publyk House also viewed

 
Bennington, Green Mountains
Bennington, Green Mountains
 

Been to The Publyk House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing