We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food! Great view!”
Review of The Publyk House

The Publyk House
Ranked #5 of 75 Restaurants in Bennington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food! Great view!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My wife and I went to the Publyk House in Bennington last evening for dinner. We had a great meal including a very nice salad bar. The bread and maple butter are wonderful. Our waitress was friendly and very professional. Attentive but not annoying! We ate on the deck and enjoyed the sunset and view! We will certainly go again!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePublykHouse, Manager at The Publyk House, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you so much for the lovely review and we are so happy you had a great experience dining with us! Our extensive salad bar, beautiful view, delicious food and great service are some of the many reasons people come back over and over again! We hope you can join us again when you are back in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    112
    63
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fallbrook
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely views and food at the Publyk House.”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The Publyk House has a great salad bar (including a lot of veggies not usually included) and their location can't be beat. One looks out over the green hills and can also see the Bennington Monument in the distance. Friendly service.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem NH
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“very good”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

great atmosphere..wonderful waitstaff..wonderful iews..great salad bar..complete menu to satisfy everyone...

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Huge portions of tasty food”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We ate at The Publyk House yesterday based on reviews here and the recommendation of our hotel front desk staff. The salad bar was small but fresh, tasty, and well-prepared. Bread was served with a very nice maple butter. My daughter had the bacon-wrapped stuffed chicken, which she loved (two huge chicken breast portions). I had the fish and chips. It was a different preparation than the standard beer-batter, and was crispy and delicious. The two large filet portions were very large, one would have been more than filling. Service was friendly and accommodating. It may have been a little less fast-paced than in a busy city restaurant, but at least we didn't feel rushed! We had a relaxed meal, with time to take in the beautiful view. We will go again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Rhonda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Absolutely awful restaurant experience”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We were incredibly disappointed in this restaurant and had an awful time. The waitress was extremely absent and made us wait a long time for both the food to arrive and later for the cheque. We were traveling with a young toddler and waited for 20 minutes to receive the cheque. After asking another staff member to find the waitress, we gave the waitress our credit card, and she said that she would be back quickly. After that we had to wait another 30 minutes. As for the food itself, we were very disappointed. For the prices we paid, we would expect much better quality. We asked for bread to start off our meal, and it was incredibly stale. After that the main courses tasted like cheap, frozen meals. We have had vastly superior meals at fast food restaurants in terms of the quality of the food that they are serving. As for the decor and ambiance of the restaurant, that too was a disappointment. The decor was dated, and while many people go for the view, the number of tables with a scenic view is actually extremely limited. Overall, we were extremely disappointed in every single aspect of this restaurant (from the service to decor to food) and would strongly urge other travelers to this area to dine elsewhere.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Publyk House also viewed

 
Bennington, Green Mountains
Bennington, Green Mountains
 

Been to The Publyk House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing