We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cramped and uncomfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bennington Motor Inn
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Bennington
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Although our room was very clean, the use of multiple floral patterns on the walls, bed, and windows gave the impression of an old and unkempt room. Room was very tiny. Being along the main street, it was very noisy, especially when the gas delivery truck backed into the gas station across the street. Noise doesn't usually bother us, but this was annoying. Breakfast consisted of prepackaged sweet rolls (yuck), or a few donuts left on a tray with no protection from previous guests coughing or sneezing on them (another yuck). Orange juice was from a jug that had been sitting out for who knows how long, and had a buildup of thick juice at the spout.

This hotel was way overpriced for what you get. We could have tolerated all of this for $30 less, but not for the top dollar we were paying. Lesson learned.

We have stayed in mom and pop places many times before, and know what to expect, but this was way below the usual standard.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013

Nice , laidback, the rooms are clean, its very comfortable, it was built in the 40's or 50's , but it in
wonderfull shape, and this location is great, if your a car buff, its across the street, if your into American History, look to your left! The price is right,the staff were very friendly. Now its down to the Blue Diner!! Tomorrow up to Manchester, Factory Outlets!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tenthousandshort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed here recently for the antique car and truck show. Loved that it was right across the street from Hemmings and close to where the show was held. Overall the place was quiet, clean, and comfortable! Coffee, refrigerator and micro in room was very convenient. The owners are very sweet. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: 1st floor, room 5 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We chose Bennington Motor Inn because they accepted dogs. I had read the reviews online and was a little worried. It turned out ok. The location is great. I loved that we could walk to downtown Bennington restaurants etc. The breakfast is bare bones. If you are into carbs you'd be happy - packaged cinnamon buns and danishes. A piece of fruit. Cereal. Nothing big but they stated on the website that this was all there is. It was enough for my kids for 3 days. More about the location. There is a lot within a very short driving distance. We visited three covered bridges all very close. The inn itself has no common areas, just your room. The room reminded me of staying at my grandmothers house as a kid. Wicker furniture. Big colorful bedspreads. kind of tacky wallpaper. Almost going back in time and I don't necessarily say that in a good way. But, it was fine for me. It was clean and comfortable. If you are looking for a fancy place with service, not the place. It really is just a place to sleep. The innkeepers were ok, not super friendly. I think for the price it was a good value. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Nothing fancy, small, but very clean and comfortable. Bath was tiny by modern standards, but functional and very clean. It is a nice location very close to downtown, and if you are a classic car fan, right across the street from Hemmings. Loved it and are planning a return trip in September for the Bennington Car Show.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrclean111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Myself and 2 sons were on a little road trip. Staff were polite and friendly. Bathrooms are a bit tight. Rooms are small as well. All in all it was nice and clean. The breakfast was more of a snack on the run. As was mentioned in another review, ask for ground level room. much easier than carrying bags upstairs.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Perfect, comfy little motel. If you are looking for something posh, this isnt the place for you. It's outdated, but who cares - the man at the front desk was very polite and the room was comfortable and SUPER clean. Great location and lowest price we found for a hotel in town. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yankeegirl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bennington hotels
1.2 mi away
Knotty Pine Motel
Knotty Pine Motel
#5 of 8 in Bennington
191 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Bennington
Hampton Inn Bennington
#1 of 8 in Bennington
754 reviews
0.7 mi away
Catamount
Catamount
#6 of 8 in Bennington
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Paradise Inn
Paradise Inn
#4 of 8 in Bennington
318 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Bennington
Best Western Bennington
#2 of 8 in Bennington
510 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Harwood Hill
The Harwood Hill
#3 of 8 in Bennington
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bennington Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bennington Motor Inn

Address: 143 Main St, Vt Rte 9, Bennington, VT 05201-2936
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Bennington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Bennington
Price Range: £46 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bennington Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bennington Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bennington Motor Hotel Bennington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing