We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly great accommodations”
Review of Knotty Pine Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Knotty Pine Motel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Bennington
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
253 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Surprisingly great accommodations”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Judging from the street view, you might think it is just another dated, tired roadside motel with a capital M, but staying at the Knotty Pine was as a great experience. The rooms are big and clean, the location is a short drive to the center of Bennington and to other Vermont/Berkshire destinations, and the staff is friendly and attentive. I'd recommend it, especially if you're traveling with kids.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melvillean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
knottypine, Owner at Knotty Pine Motel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Melvillean,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It's true that motor inns do not always have the good reputations that they once did. As independent owners we are trying hard to keep this very important part of Americana alive and thriving. We're so glad that you had a good experience at the Knotty Pine and will look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Bennington!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    78
    23
    8
    4
See reviews for
49
78
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Very clean hotel. NO musty hotel room smell. Newly renovated bathrooms and new carpeting. New beds being delivered this week. It was a little early in the season to swim, but we did enjoy relaxing in the lounge chairs by the pool in the evening and morning. Great value. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisartrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
knottypine, Owner at Knotty Pine Motel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
We're glad you noticed our efforts to update and renovate our guest rooms. Yes, new beds are in place in ALL of our 20 units! Many rooms also have newly tiled bathrooms. We have been in business for 42 years this summer and believe that constant upkeep and pleasant surroundings is the key to our longevity! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, New York
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2014

room was very clean, property spotless, owners very friendly, THIS IS A GREAT PLACE TO STAY. Will be back in the near future, being sure to call ahead for reservations, so we don,t miss out. Much better than the big box hassle. Close to shopping & try Madisons downtown for dinner. Thanks again for holding the curling iron.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
knottypine, Owner at Knotty Pine Motel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Rick S.,
Thank you for your glowing review. Nothing makes us happier than knowing our guests have had a great experience while staying with us. We will look forward to your next stay at the Knotty Pine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Check in was great, owners very welcoming. The rooms are a little dated but very clean which is more important to us. Shower had plenty of hot water.
We had a king bed which was very comfortable. These are the places we enjoy, local family run. We would stay here again!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs_Meunier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
knottypine, Owner at Knotty Pine Motel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! While we do offer the modern conveniences of the big chain hotels like flat screen TVs and Wi-Fi, we are proud to cater to folks like yourself who appreciate the charm of a family owned, mom and pop motor inn. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Great location in town, incredibly friendly and accommodating owners--we booked the room because it had the earliest check-in in town and we'd driven through the night, but ended up cancelling our ski resort reservation and staying for 3 nights. Like the other reviewer mentioned, we arrived before check-in just to pick up the keys, and were overjoyed by the offer to check in early. An amazing value, all around.

Room Tip: Specific rooms cannot be reserved, but the best for a quiet night's sleep would be numbers 16 an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
knottypine, Owner at Knotty Pine Motel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you so much for your positve review of our motel. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we will look forward to having you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowdoinham, Maine
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The rooms have a 50's ambiance with something of a summer camp feel [maybe it's the knotty pine walls]. Good mattress, good quality bedding, towels, soaps, TV with good selection, wi-fi easy to access,ample table/desk for laptop, etc.

Beyond basics, if someone were planning to "headquarter" here, they'd find it remarkably well equipped for a longer stay: ironing board and iron, stove, fridge, sink, toaster, coffee pot, microwave, and cupboards full of all the kitchen equipment you might want, including wine glasses, all immaculately clean.

Very reasonably priced. As noted before, if designer decor is your priority, you would do well to go elsewhere, and most assuredly pay much more.

Room Tip: Room 7 is well back from the road and like all room, allows for parking at the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missyoumrwallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I booked this motel from the reviews I read. The people running the motel are very friendly. It is an older motel but family run and I like that. It was very clean and would recommend for price and convenience. The continental breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bennington hotels
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Bennington
Hampton Inn Bennington
#1 of 8 in Bennington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
1.2 mi away
Paradise Inn
Paradise Inn
#5 of 8 in Bennington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Bennington
Best Western Bennington
#2 of 8 in Bennington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Harwood Hill
The Harwood Hill
#4 of 8 in Bennington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
1.1 mi away
Four Chimneys Inn
Four Chimneys Inn
#1 of 9 in Bennington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bennington Motor Inn
Bennington Motor Inn
#7 of 8 in Bennington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knotty Pine Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knotty Pine Motel

Property: Knotty Pine Motel
Address: 130 Northside Dr, Bennington, VT 05201-1722
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Bennington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Bennington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Year Round Hospitality." Each charming, spotless room is first floor level entry with refrigerators, microwaves, A/C, wireless internet access, cable TV. Our family's reputation for courteous service and attention to detail spans 41 years! It is our goal to ensure that our guests have an enjoyable stay in Bennington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Knotty Pine Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knotty Pine Hotel Bennington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing