We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Four Chimneys Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Chimneys Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Bennington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2013

After reading many positive reviews, we were disappointed by the Four Chimneys. The Inn looks great from the outside, and the ground are beautiful, but that didn't translate inside, particularly in light of the price.

We stayed in room 5, which is quite large but had a worn feel. We walked in, turned on the fireplace, and it didnt work. The bathroom has an odd layout, including a slanting ceiling above the toilet that men over 5'7 wont enjoy.

The rest of the inn was very average, as was the breakfast. A good spruce up is overdue.

It is very centrally located to downtown Bennington, which is 2 minutes away

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElMasMacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
There are newer reviews for Four Chimneys Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed two nights and it was wonderful! Lovely room with the wood all laid out for a fire. Everything was immaculate. This was our favorite stay over a two week trip in New England. We ate dinner there both nights and it was excellent. Staff was welcoming and helpful. Nice patio and sitting area to just relax. Saw the best leaf colors in Bennington area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BJeanne75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

This inn is wonderful. The room was spacious, beautifully appointed, and had a great view. The bed was very comfortable, the bath was stunning with separate glass shower and a jacuzzi for two. The common areas were nice including a fireplace. There were three choices for breakfast. The food was surprisingly average.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atowndoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We recently stayed at the Four Chimneys when a relative passed away and we needed to attend the services. It was the best choice. I can not imagine staying anywhere in Bennington. It was our first stay and especially under thw circumstances could not have been more pleased. It was the perfect haven. We enjoyed a much needed cocktail upon arrival followed by a suptutious dinner. It was such a pleasure to not have to go out for dinner but be able to enjoy a lovely meal by a fire. The room was much larger than anticipated and the jetted tub was just what was needed after dinner.
The next morning we wnjoyed a lovely breakfast with relatives. They were so kind to allow us to enjoy our coffee and their dining room long after the breakfast service was finished.
I think it is fair to say there is nowhere else I would stay in Bennington but here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vtstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My wife and I are experienced international travelers who have both lived in and visited a fair amount of countries and stayed in a wide array of excellent lodgings. I only mention that to put into context for you just how satisfied we were with our stay at the Four Chimney’s Inn. We think back on the places we have stayed at, the sights we have seen, the service we have enjoyed…and our stays in the care of Lynn and the wonderful environment she has created are just of a different category. The atmosphere, the warmth, the peacefulness and overall warm energy we felt were just unparalleled. Yes, we expected to relax in a Vermont Bed and Breakfast. Yes, we expected to be treated well. Yes, we expected to leave our cares at the door, etc. Like I said in the title of this review, every expectation was exceeded. If you are looking for that quintessential B&B experience, you will find it here and then some. We cannot recommend the Four Chimney’s highly enough.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Braeson H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We just returned from a wonderful trip to New England and had the pleasure of staying at this Inn. We had a less than great sleeping experience at our last place so we asked to upgrade to a larger room and were very kindly given room 7(we were going to be in room 4).
Room 7 is a very nice two room area though a bit of a climb. Nice size bath.
Breakfast was very nice and the grounds beautiful. They were doing some repairs during our stay which took away some of the charm. The staff did make allowances in our rate for it.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Very happy we chose Four Chimneys...the staff was fabulous, owners wonderful, and rooms elegant. The inn is very convenient to downtown especially the church, museum and monument. My only regret is that we did now enjoy dinner there as the menu looked great.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bennington
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Bennington
Hampton Inn Bennington
#1 of 8 in Bennington
725 reviews
1.1 mi away
Knotty Pine Motel
Knotty Pine Motel
#4 of 8 in Bennington
186 reviews
20.9 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
640 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paradise Inn
Paradise Inn
#5 of 8 in Bennington
306 reviews
1.6 mi away
Safford Mills Inn and Cafe
Safford Mills Inn and Cafe
#2 of 9 in Bennington
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Chimneys Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Chimneys Inn

Address: 21 West Road, Bennington, VT 05201-2145
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Bennington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Bennington
Price Range: £135 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Four Chimneys Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our premier bed and breakfast in Vermont, offering year-round lodging, is located on 11 magnificent acres in historic Old Bennington VT. Our eleven uniquely appointed rooms blend modern amenities with old world charm. Each room features a private bath, high-speed wireless internet, TV, phone, and A/C. Wake up each morning to a hearty breakfast served in our beautiful dining room. Relax and enjoy a drink in our cocktail lounge open exclusively for our guests! Four Chimneys offers a warm and friendly atmosphere making it perfect for elopements, rehearsal dinners, anniversaries, or a romantic getaway in Vermont. Whether you're relaxing at our grand property, walking to nearby attractions, or grabbing a drink at our bar Four Chimneys is sure to become your new favorite bed and breakfast in Vermont! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Four Chimneys Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Chimneys Hotel Bennington
4 Chimneys Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing