We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Chimneys Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Four Chimneys Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Bennington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

A true "home away from home". Friendly and efficient staff, comfortable rooms and delicious food. We have the pleasure of returning back to Vermont several times a year as our son attands Hoosac school nearby and always look forward to staying in "our room" at the Four Chimneys Inn.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Feneley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ILoveHospitality, Owner at Four Chimneys Inn, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Feneley. You've made our day with your heartwarming remarks! There is nothing we appreciate more than being considered your "Home Away from Home". We'll be sure to have "your room" ready for your next visit to see your son. Have a wonderful day! Sincerely ~Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    29
    11
    7
    2
See reviews for
27
121
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pownal Center, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

We invited four twentysomething kids (couples,singles, one grandchild), plus a few siblings (boomers like ourselves) for our wedding weekend. We all stayed at the inn, pretty much took over the place, and held our reception here as well. With the inn decorated for Christmas, Lynn and Peter made this a very special and comfortable weekend for our entire family. They are very experienced about this sort of affair, and made sure we had all of our arrangements in place (catering, dining room decor, wine and champagne, photographer) so that we didn't have any stress. It was wonderful to have a choice of breakfast selections each morning, which sets the Inn apart from some B&Bs.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jslam61_VT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ILoveHospitality, Owner at Four Chimneys Inn, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Jslam61,
Thank you so much. The pleasure was all ours. Your family was a delight to have celebrate such a wonderful occasion at our inn. We enjoyed seeing you get together and take over the inn almost as much as you all enjoyed your wedding and celebration. All the best until we see you next! Sincerely ~Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here for an overnight getaway. Everything was excellent at this inn! The room was wonderful, from the gas fireplace to the jacuzzi tub, the friendliness of the staff was fantastic, and the breakfast the next morning was amazing! I would definitely recommend staying here, whether it is for a quick getaway, or for a longer vacation.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colonienymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed 2 nights in Room 4 just after Christmas. Our room was comfy and cozy, warm and clean, and the house itself is beautiful and has a lot of character. We loved sitting by the fire in the living room and having a few drinks from the bar. Lynn and her staff were so nice and accommodating, especially the young lady they have working the bar. My only complaint is that I was hoping for more of a homemade Vermont "fresh and local" vibe with the breakfast, as it was pretty standard and uncreative. The pancakes were just OK and my gf's eggs looked like they were made from a mix, the sausages tasted recently defrosted, and the french toast was just yucky. Even the coffee was just store bought Keurig so nothing Vermont-y about any of it. So a bit disappointed on the food front, but otherwise a really lovely stay. It also would have been nice if the fire in the living room kept going a bit later past 9PM on weekend nights. Conveniently located to ski slopes and a lot cheaper than hotels in the Manchester area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in room 1. The room was decorated appropriately in a mix of colonial furnishings juxtaposed against a slightly modern palette of soothing blues. The bed was a king and very comfortable. We had a nice gas fireplace and sofa. The bathroom was nicely appointed with a large jacuzzi tub and seperate shower. The only thing I can fault is some minor details in maintenance. Faucets were a bit loose and needed to be tightened and around the border of the tub tile it is about time for a new caulk job. I am very picky and probably notice things others might not. Overall I would recommend this inn to anyone traveling to Bennington. It was our favorite stay. The scenery around the inn was breathtaking. The inn employees were all very friendly and accommodating. The price is a little high but compared to other similar inns in the area it's fair. The breakfast was also very good and is included in your price. Loved our stay!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DecoratorBre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loudonville, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

The grounds and building are beautiful and our room was spectacular. We were warmly greeted by a lovley innkeeper and had a great experience right on through to our departure. We visited at a busy time of year (October), so we only got to see a few of the rooms (besides our own). All were quite charming, clean and well cared for. In addition to a very good breakfast both days, we had a wonderful dinner where the lamb was cooked to perfection. We highly recommend and will return.

Room Tip: The inn's website pictures are good and can help you choose one that fits your taste as each is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bennington
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Bennington
Hampton Inn Bennington
#1 of 8 in Bennington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
1.1 mi away
Knotty Pine Motel
Knotty Pine Motel
#3 of 8 in Bennington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
20.9 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 15 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 15 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
1.6 mi away
Safford Mills Inn and Cafe
Safford Mills Inn and Cafe
#3 of 9 in Bennington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eddington House Inn
Eddington House Inn
#2 of 9 in Bennington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Chimneys Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Chimneys Inn

Property: Four Chimneys Inn
Address: 21 West Rd, Bennington, VT 05201-2145
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Bennington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Bennington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Four Chimneys Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of New Englandâs premier inns located on 11 magnificent acres in historic Old Bennington VT. Ten uniquely appointed rooms blend modern amenities with old world charm. Each w/ private bath, high speed wireless internet, TV, phone & A/C. Full breakfast. Year-round lodging. Cocktail lounge open to inn guests only. Warm & friendly atmosphere. The Four Chimneys is a pristine setting for weddings, rehearsal dinners, anniversaries and other very special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Four Chimneys Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Chimneys Hotel Bennington
4 Chimneys Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing