We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Four Chimneys Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Bennington(Bennington)(Great Value!)
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Inn(Bennington)(Great Value!)
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Road Motel(Bennington)
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Harwood Hill(Bennington)(Great Value!)
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Catamount(Bennington)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Knotty Pine Motel(Bennington)(Great Value!)
US$108
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Governor's Rock Motel(Shaftsbury)(Great Value!)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (229)
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveller rating
175
32
12
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
175
32
12
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgas fireplacefrench toastseveral choicesblueberry cream cheesebreakfast was deliciousbeautiful propertyjacuzzi tubfull barthe main housethird floornext morninglarge bathroomrobert frost is buriednew englandbeautiful roomcable tvliving room
Filter
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 229 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We can’t wait to return! We stayed in Room 1 and greatly enjoyed every aspect of our visit. The innkeeper greeted us with a very warm reception and check-in was very fast and easy. Our room was beautiful, spacious, and very clean. The bed and couch were extremely comfortable and the master bath was luxurious, well-designed and fitted with a large Jacuzzi bathtub that made our stay particularly relaxing. Our breakfast in the morning was exceptionally good and the dining room was delightful, full of natural light and charming decor. The inn was quiet, set back far enough from the road so as not to hear the traffic, and in an excellent location, very near to the city center and near to a charming antique shop, located just across the road. We look forward to staying here in the future and recommend it highly to others, particularly couples on romantic get-away.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeaAndCookies8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ILoveHospitality, Owner at Four Chimneys Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear TeaandCookies8: Romantic Getaways are right up our alley, and hearing it from you makes us very happy. Thanks for the review. ~Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

My wife and I stayed at Four Chimneys in February, and thoroughly enjoyed it. A beautiful spot and easy to get right into Bennington or any of the main roads to head in 4 directions. It's in the historic district, and fits in beautifully with the style. Our room was wonderful with quaint décor and an en-suite bath that had a whirlpool, which felt great after a long day. Service was great and we enjoyed breakfast for two mornings, with several choices available. We would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a nice B&B to use to explore the area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We just returned from a wonderful weekend in Bennington at the Four Chimneys Inn. Our room (#2) was a nice surprise upgrade, and will be our first choide next time. Breakfast was delicious, especially the french toast with orange scented blueberry cream cheese abd the best bacon I have ever tasted. Lynn was so kind and understanding when we needed a slightly extended checkout time, at the last minute. And the fireplace was the perfect toasty way to end each day.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank czechmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed at The Four Chimneys as a special Valentine's Weekend gift to each other, and our experience could not have been better! The innkeepers were pleasant and personable, with Lynn even ensuring that we had restaurant reservations for Valentine's Day (the inn's restaurant is closed for dinner at this time of year). The inn and grounds are absolutely beautiful -- the place was a winter wonderland -- and our stay in Room 1 was magical. The room is charming and comfy, the cool blue and green palate extremely soothing and the gas fireplace adds just the right touch. The jacuzzi tub is large and comfortable, and the separate shower has a large showerhead with plenty of pressure. Breakfast featured several choices; our selections were delicious and were delivered to our table promptly at the designated time. We don't often stay at B&B's -- preferring to spend a little less so we can travel a little more -- but on this occasion the experience was worth every penny, and more. Be sure to ask about the champagne and chocolates package -- for a wonderful Valentine's weekend or any time! It was very, very hard to leave. Now, our only dilemma is whether to book Room 1 again -- because it was so wonderful -- or to try one of the other, equally charming, rooms. We will return soon!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ILoveHospitality, Owner at Four Chimneys Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Dear Teri M: We are delighted to read your review and especially that Four Chimneys may have converted you to being a B&B fan! You made qreat choice with our Champagne and Chocolates Package for Valentine’s weekend. We’ll also be happy to find another equally charming room for your next romantic getaway. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. ~Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We dropped our daughter off at Middlebury College last week and were driving south to New York to catch our flight. It was getting late and Old Bennington seemed like a good place to stop for the night. We made a call to The Four Chimneys Inn and were greeted by the Owner, Lynn Green. She was friendly, professional and fortunately had a room available. After arrival we realized the restaurant on the property was closed so Lynn recommended an excellent restaurant in town for dinner.
Our room (#2) was warm, cozy, spotlessly clean, quiet and relaxing. Every amenity was provided. The next morning our breakfast was fresh and delicious...served exactly at the time we had requested. We really enjoyed the beautiful view from our comfortable table. We dropped the key in the basket on the bar in the living room and drove away feeling a bit like family.
Having worked in the hospitality industry in Hawaii, I understand the energy and effort it takes to create a great guest experience. The Four Chimneys Inn is a beautiful property and the Greens and their staff do a terrific job. We will return!
Susie and John Bustard
Honolulu, Hawaii

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Susie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ILoveHospitality, Owner at Four Chimneys Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Susie B: We are honored to have a fellow hospitality professional write such an appreciative review! You covered just about everything we work so hard at in order to make our guests’ stays enjoyable and memorable. We hope to see you the next time you are en route to Middlebury to visit your daughter! Thank you so much! ~Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews