We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The real deal--a true working pottery with wonderful designs”
Review of Bennington Potters

Bennington Potters
Ranked #1 of 12 Shopping in Bennington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Bennington Potters has been making stoneware pottery right here in Bennington, Vermont since 1948. Visit our destination home style store and pottery works. Free Factory Tours - Come See it Made! Talk to the potters and see pressing, casting, jiggering, finishing, glazing and firing in action. Buses and group tours welcome! Call for more information. Shop at Potters Yard in our historic Grist Mill and Old School House buildings. We sell our dinnerware, bakeware, and classic trigger mugs, as well as our own accessories and complementary glassware, tableware, linens, furniture and more - a unique shopping experience. Shop, factory and gardens on 3-plus acres. In downtown Bennington, less than a block off Vt. Rte. 7. Open every day.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The real deal--a true working pottery with wonderful designs”
Reviewed 15 June 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and tour-- and the very helpful and knowledgeable staff. Won't let my coffee mug out of my grasp--and found a beautiful pitcher with a stunning glaze. Put it on your list if you'r anywhere near Bennington.

Visited August 2010
Helpful?
Thank nancysta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    83
    26
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best handmade pottery and the best shopping you will find anywhere!”
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Plan on spending all day and finding the perfect gift for everyone on your list - not to mention plenty for yourself - at this one of a kind shopping destination!
Bennington Potters has it all - from their signature handmade stoneware pottery line, available in an amazing range of glazes and designs, to a store - occupying what once was an old Grist Mill - filled with an artfully arranged and expertly selected array of gift and household items.
Don't miss a tour of the factory, where helpful potters gladly shared secrets of their trade with inquiring visitors - a delightful way to pass an afternoon.
Garden chairs scattered amidst a yard abloom with unusual plantings was the perfect picnic/resting spot to relax and rejuvenate for a second round of shopping!
Even the men in our party enjoyed themselves - especially the tour of the factory.
No need for a trip to the outlet stores - this was a one stop shopping trip!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank marym53051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bennington, Vermont
1 review
“Surprisingly filled with goodies!”
Reviewed 10 June 2011

I have seen the sign for years and never took the time to venture in. Wow, was I surprised at what filled the spaces. There is so much to see, one could get drowned with great ideas! I loved the selection of merchandise and the folks are just down right nice. I will visit again!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank candir74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Unexpected Very Genuine”
Reviewed 9 June 2011

When travelling, I am always intigued by "factory tours" and have to stop..and we are almost always disappointed....
We stopped anyways and found the store full, interesting and charming..lots of pottery from all over the world, lots of country decor and unique table displays. We were chit chatting with a salesperson who recommended that we take a peek out into the factory out back. There it was. The factory. Virtually unchanged since about the early 1970's. Not especially pretty but so authentic and so accessible! A handful of potters were in there, busy as can be, forming ware in a hands on semi -mechanized fashion--we were spellbound! We were interested. We engaged conversation. The potters were animated, friendly, knowlegeable and totally dedicated. We wanted to take 'em home..meet the family! We ended up being a Bennington customer for life. Totally unexpected. Go see for yourself!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank 02360ravcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth a stop- much more than just pottery”
Reviewed 23 August 2009

This shop is in 2 buildings and is worth looking for with its pottery and many other items creatively displayed.

Helpful?
Thank davebvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bennington Potters also viewed

 
Bennington, Green Mountains
Bennington, Green Mountains
 

Been to Bennington Potters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing