We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun place, Fine Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Benn Diner

Blue Benn Diner
Ranked #2 of 75 Restaurants in Bennington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Corrales, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun place, Fine Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We were two couples, staying overnight in Bennington on our way to the Maine coast. We went to the diner for breakfast, found a very crowded Saturday morning spot, and found seats at the counter. They had an amazingly varied menu. We all had dishes we liked and we especially enjoyed the welcoming, gracious wait staff.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank notelyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    129
    40
    10
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
212 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great liver and onions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

The place was packed, a real diner brought to the area in 1948, We spent 45 minutes waiting (no names on list--just the honor system as to who was next in line) with folks from all over the country who say they drive miles just to eat here. The visit was like dropping back in time to the 1940's. One interesting fact, they had authentic waitresses, not just servers. What, can I say that? If we lived here this would be a frequent go-to- place. My liver and onions were cooked to order with fresh cut fries. My wife had the fried scallops, a generous portion, w/fries

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bullwinkle63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great little diner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stopped here based on the Tripadvisor review. It is a great little diner! The waitresses are typical diner waitresses. They try to act brusk but they are really very nice! The food was good. It is not gourmet but who would expect that anyway?

It was a fun experience and our waitress made it so! good comfort food!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fracdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
77 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Whatcha want, honey?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

The food was heaping, inventive, and borderline inedible. But the waitresses were wonderful; just what you want in an unimproved diner.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank keithofrpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennebunkport, Maine
Level Contributor
236 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Funky plus tasty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

After reading all the reviews for the Blue Benn Diner - we had to check it out. It's a funky little fun diner. We got there after 1:30 in the afternoon and still had a short wait. We obeyed the rules and stayed in the entryway til called! Our waitress was pleasant. the only confusing thing was that besides the menu there are pieces of paper posted all over the back wall with meal suggestions. I wish I had the time to read them and make, perhaps, a different choice. I was happy though with my herb omelette with sour cream, plus home fries and toast. My husband had a sandwich which was huge- not stacked high but with giant pieces of bread. He enjoyed it. Would have liked to try a dessert but we were stuffed. The meals were very reasonably priced.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kpter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Benn Diner also viewed

 
Bennington, Green Mountains
Bennington, Green Mountains
 

Been to Blue Benn Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing