We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok for basic motel”
Review of The Autumn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Autumn Inn
Ranked #9 of 9 Bennington B&B and Inns
Erie, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“ok for basic motel”
Reviewed 24 September 2010

This was really better than we expected. Very low priced compared to everything else around, and we expected to get what we paid for. The staff/owners/management were VERY friendly and helpful, had no problems when we asked for extra towels etc. The rooms are furnished with older furniture but in good working order. We got a microwave and a fridge just by asking for it. The daily cleaning could have been a little better, but we knew that it was "our dirt" so we were okay with it. If we're ever back in the area, we would probably stay again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueb0601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    9
    6
    5
    28
See reviews for
15
13
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston
1 review
Reviewed 20 January 2010

Stayed here to go skiing for the weekend up at Mount Snow. Rooms were clean, front desk was very friendly, and price was resonable. One of the front desk personel even brought down a space heater to our room so our kids could warm up their feet after a long day of skiing. We have a season lift pass to Mount Snow and we will be staying here again!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mross543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2009

I would not stay at this Motel at any price. The room was not clean by any standards. Did not use the bathtub because it was stained and the rubber mat was disgusting. Noise and banging off and on all night long. The breakfast offered was open boxes of cereal on a table in the office. We were charged an extra $10.00 per room at check in) for first floor rooms.
It was too late in the day to look for other rooms.
This business needs a complete renovation.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarthaPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bennington hotels

VT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2009

I found this place online-didn't think it could be too bad as it was $89 for one night. Boy, was I ever wrong. I've traveled the country-never in a million years would I think the worst place I'd ever stay in would be in VT. This place is a nightmare-do NOT stay here! It's dirty, smells of second hand smoke, loud from the music blasting next door at the Moose Club, and things are falling apart-there was a ring of filth around the toilet, the shower door fell in on me while I was trying to take a shower and not touch anything because it was so disgusting. This is a rent by the hour kind of place. I was horrified and should've known when I saw the "no refunds upon check in" sign on the door when I opened the door to my room. I can't say enough negative things about this place-it shouldn't even be in business!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VTTravelers16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2009

This is the worse motel that I have ever stayed in. Dirty room, filthy bathroom, poor heat, dangerous water temperature variations. It's advertising suggests a quaint New England Inn -- what a bait and switch!! The front building (pictured in the ads) hides an ugly dirty motel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarleyCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2009

This hotel was dirty from the lobby to the room. The carpet had not been clearned. The toilet had instructions on how to use a rubber band to make it flush. The wall air conditioning unit was held up with blocks. The lobby had an old table with open boxes of cereal. This is hte worst hotel I have stayed in - never again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithtCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2009

This "Inn" is a real dump. It is so depressing and uninviting that my daughter and I
turned around and left immediately and forteited our room. The photos describing it
are all false. It's not an Inn. It's a dirty, dark, dingy, smelly place. There is no value for the money here as I'd rather lose my money than stay at this dump. There is no Hi-Fi as represented. Complementary breakfast was out in the small sign in room at six o'clock at night when we signed in. In fact, it probably had been out fot the whole month. It included stale cereal in old plastic containers and coffee. My daughter on entering the room and assessing the scene told me "I'm not eating breakfast here." It's an insutl to consumers to offer this accommodation on any respectful site. When we stopped in town, we were told that this was a place prostitutes took their clients. No one should even think of staying here overnight, especially families visiting Benningtown College.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrfellmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bennington hotels
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Bennington
Hampton Inn Bennington
#1 of 8 in Bennington
714 reviews
1.9 mi away
Knotty Pine Motel
Knotty Pine Motel
#5 of 8 in Bennington
183 reviews
1.0 mi away
Catamount
Catamount
#6 of 8 in Bennington
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Paradise Inn
Paradise Inn
#3 of 8 in Bennington
286 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bennington Motor Inn
Bennington Motor Inn
#7 of 8 in Bennington
111 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Harwood Hill
The Harwood Hill
#4 of 8 in Bennington
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Autumn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Autumn Inn

Property: The Autumn Inn
Address: 924 Main St, Bennington, VT 05201-2639
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Bennington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Bennington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Autumn Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We at the Autumn Inn are a family owned and operated motel. With our recently renovated climate controlled rooms our goal is to provide a clean and comfortable stay in the historic Bennington area. Whether a family vacation or romantic getaway we will make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Autumn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing