We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a regular motor lodge with best western amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Bennington
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Bennington
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Just a regular motor lodge with best western amenities”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

So as long as you are expecting a typical motel with best western amenities you'll love it. We had a king size bed which was nice, we wanted to use the couch but were told that the sheets will be extra so TIP: if you want to use the fold out couch bring your own sheets and comforter!

The only issues we had were that (1) we were told the hotel is all booked up when we tried to book the room so we paid a little more than we should have but in reality judging by the cars in front of each room it looked like it was 1/2 booked up at most - maybe that is how they can charge higher rates (2) some guy's car alarm kept going off at night every 10 minutes for about an hour at 2 am one night and (3) you have to go outside to get to the breakfast area which isn't very pleasant in the winter when it is 10F but nothing can be done about that since motor lodges don't have hallways connecting rooms. Not having hallways is also a good thing - no kids running up and down hallways.

The breakfast is great: waffles, sausages, bagels, eggs, etc. - TIP: sit in the conference room to avoid getting cramped in the small breakfast room. We did have neighbors judging by the cars but we didn't hear them.

The restaurants in the area are a little dated so you need to go closer to some ski resort to get good food - 30-45 minute drive so plan your day so you eat in some other town.

It is nice to have dunkin donuts, walmart and price chopper within easy walking distance for nightly food runs. There is also a bowling place across the street. Overall this is good value for what you get.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Denis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWVTMgmt, Front Office Manager at Best Western Bennington, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time for the review. I'm glad that overall your stay was pleasant during your stay here.

In reference to your comment regarding how full we were during your stay. The only rooms we had left were smoking rooms, you wished for a non smoking, that is why you did pay more as all that was left was the King mini suite. Our rates are lower than any other chain in the area and much lower than the resorts charge for this time of year.

I'm surprised you did not care for any of the restaurants in the area. We have had many good reviews for many of them. As to a chain, the only one's we have is the Chili's and Friendlys in this area

Again, thank you for your survey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    181
    74
    24
    10
See reviews for
146
163
23
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Beachwood, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Great breakfast variety and overall room quality for the price. I like the two queen size beds. Most of hotels I have stayed only had two full size beds. The quest room has a lot of space for my family of four. It appears that this hotel has just recently renovated and the room is pretty clean and new.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Eugene Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWVTMgmt, Front Office Manager at Best Western Bennington, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you for taking time for the review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. As to the rooms, the section you were in are great for larger parties because of that extra space. Hope the weather cooperated for skiing while you were here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
167 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

As expected, a modern, clean, convenient motel. Clean bath, comfortable bed, plenty of hot water, a/c and heat functioned well. Parking a bit limited: plenty available, but not necessarily right beside room. A bit pricey, but not unreasonable. Check-in was quick and reservation was in the system.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SEAsiaVeteran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWVTMgmt, Front Office Manager at Best Western Bennington, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
I'm glad your stay was comfortable and pleasant during your time here in Bennington, VT. Thank you for taking the time for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, RI, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Overall, when booked on line, lower rate prevails making this a good value. Any higher and it would not be worth it. Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was adequate and convenient being at the property. Internet was better than most.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Franklin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWVTMgmt, Front Office Manager at Best Western Bennington, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
We appreciate you taking the time for the review. I'm glad your stay was pleasant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Great Motel. Immaculate housekeeping, updated décor withy plenty of parking. The breakfast is far better than average. and the internet service is very good. Nice grounds and convenient to shopping and eating. Will definitely stay here again. We have stayed here before and it has gotten better over the years. No problems at check-in or out. One of the best value in the Bennington area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aljel1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWVTMgmt, Front Office Manager at Best Western Bennington, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time for your review. I'm glad that your stay was enjoyable and you are liking the changes that we are doing with our rooms. Its always a pleasure to see our repeat guest's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome City, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I've stayed at this property before, but this is the first review of it I've offered. This is a very good place to stay in the Bennington area. Check in was smooth and quick and I was in my room within minutes of arriving. The room had a fridge and microwave and also featured a "clean remote" which is always appreciated. It was clean, quiet and very comfortable. The exfoliating soap was a pleasant surprise and felt pretty good after a full day of driving. The motel is close to restaurants and is very easy to find. There were plenty of electrical outlets for my cell charger and computer and the wifi signal was strong and reliable all night. I left before breakfast started so I can't comment on that. My total bill came to just under $68, which was quite a bit less than rates I received when calling around to other motels in the area. This was a very good stay and I will certainly stay here again if business runs me back through the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWVTMgmt, Front Office Manager at Best Western Bennington, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time for the review. I'm glad your stay was enjoyable and clean as it should have been.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coltons Point, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Our room had everything we needed; a comfortable bed, clean room and bath, fresh linens every day, quiet- we could not hear traffic or other guests, great breakfast and convenient to downtown. We saved over $100 a night over the Hampton Inn price where we had stayed before. Only difference was Hampton has larger room and pool, which we did not need. Great value and great staff!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank SciDancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWVTMgmt, Front Office Manager at Best Western Bennington, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
I'm glad your stay was pleasant during your time here in Bennington, VT. Thank you for taking the time for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bennington hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Bennington
Hampton Inn Bennington
#1 of 8 in Bennington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
0.3 mi away
Knotty Pine Motel
Knotty Pine Motel
#3 of 8 in Bennington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
1.4 mi away
Paradise Inn
Paradise Inn
#5 of 8 in Bennington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Four Chimneys Inn
Four Chimneys Inn
#1 of 9 in Bennington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Harwood Hill
The Harwood Hill
#4 of 8 in Bennington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bennington Motor Inn
Bennington Motor Inn
#7 of 8 in Bennington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Bennington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Bennington

Property: Best Western Bennington
Address: 220 Northside Dr, Bennington, VT 05201-1723 (Formerly Best Western Plus New Englander Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Bennington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Bennington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Bennington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming Bennington, Vermont hotel provides convenient access to Bennington College and several local ski resorts. Discover the beauty and serenity of southern Vermont while staying at the Best Western Bennington. This Bennington hotel is ideal for both business and leisure travelers as it offers convenient access to a variety of corporate locations as well as local attractions including Bennington College, Southwest Vermont Medical Center and the Bennington Monument. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Bennington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus New Englander Motor Hotel Bennington
Bennington Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing