We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”
Review of Allegro Ristorante

Allegro Ristorante
Ranked #6 of 75 Restaurants in Bennington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I was a member of a party of 8 at dinner at Allegre. We all had a good time Everyone enjoyed their dishes and the service was attentive, albeit strectched a bit thin because the place could have used an additional server to handle the crowded dining room. I took a risk in a mountain town and ordered a seafood dish - clams and mussels in white wine and garlic. I was very pleasantly surprised; the clams and mussels were fresh and nicely prepared. Also, the pasta was perfectly prepared. All in all, our party had a very pleasant evening at Allegre.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    50
    14
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious dinner”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We just spent a long weekend in Bennington, VT. A great town and area. At the advice of the owner of the B&B where we stayed we walked to this delightful restaurant and had one of the best dinners we've had in a long time! Our waitress was friendly but not too chatty and knowledgeable about the wine and menu. My husband has Celiac and the menu offered many good options. There isn't blaring music so we were able to easily chat with each other. My Arctic Char was superb. We split the dessert (homemade ice cream with salted chocolate sauce) and it was delicious. This place is not pricey. Very reasonable and top quality. We will definitely return for another good meal. (I was unable to respond to the categories below because I don't know the answers.)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Schooner3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bennington, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"THE BEST"”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Great food and a great atmosphere, the best combo for a successful restaurant. Great Italian Restaurant! I wish the restaurant could come up with happy hour specials (including drinks and food) and dinner drink specials. That would be AMAZING!!

Helpful?
Thank FoodEnthusiast23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metamora, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Italian food”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Monday night's crowd was very small so are server was not over worked. All of the entries looked great and my Spicy Chicken Paste dish was delicious and like no other. Small but very good beer selection included a local craft brew, Stone IPA and some other main stream yellow stuff. Reservations are highly recommended for prime evenings like Thursday thru Sunday.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Art48455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“good with a few buts”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We had a lovely dinner at Allegro last night. The wine was great, the food tasty, servers attentive and it had a pleasant ambiance. We would have given Allegro a 5th star had we not had a table that had a view behind the bar area. The bar area was a mess - overflowing trash can and general disorder. I would have felt that much better about the restaurant had I not seen this, or even better if it was maintained a bit better. Our food was delicious even though the pasta in both dishes was a bit watery and soft. The food was tasty and the kitchen very accomodating to our requests.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon4206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Allegro Ristorante also viewed

 
Bennington, Green Mountains
Bennington, Green Mountains
 

Been to Allegro Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing