We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, good service.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peppermills - CLOSED

Peppermills
Cuisines: Italian, American, Bar, Pub
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bennington, Vermont
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food, good service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Peppermills is a typical family-owned restaurant. The food is good and the service is fine. The Penne Gorganzola is a favorite. The burgers are very good with a wide variety of styles. On a nice evening, patio seating can't be beat.

Go on a Friday or Saturday to enjoy seating by Bubbles, the hostess. That's an experience in itself.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    13
    9
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Long wait for service, walked out”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Arrived on a Friday night around 8pm, was traveling through Bennington on my way to New Hampshire. Was immediately seated in an otherwise empty dining area between the bar and the main dining room. I was then ignored by three different wait staff and was never checked in on again. I waited about 12 minutes and walked out, unnoticed. The place looks like it has seen better days, but also looked like a spot that locals enjoyed. I'll never know as next time I'm driving through, I'll eat elsewhere.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrreils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaftsbury, Vermont
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A landmark location ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Great food and service here. Some bar noise if they're busy and there's a TV on ... usually stop for lunch ...glad it's here!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank gabcab71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Not mediocre, terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

We have had many wonderful meals in Bennington, but not tonight. We had the special, which was pasta with chicken and sausage, as well as pasta in lemon butter sauce. Hard to say which was worse. Dish number 1: Chicken not edible, sauce like ketchup. Dish number 2: Pasta in gelatinous lemon butter garlic gel. Could not eat it.

Waitress was lovely but food was horrible. Go to many of the other wonderful restaurants in Bennington.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nyc005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Expensive and mediocre”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We have had many meals over the years at this restaurant, but it really seems to be going down hill. Choices are more limited than they used to be, You don't get a salad with your meal any more unless you pay extra for it. The bill for the 3 of us came to $78. And all my son had was a sandwich. No bar bill; just one beer. No desserts. And it was snowing out and freezing cold in the dining room--- the baseboard heater was within reach of us and the heat wasn't even on. All the diners had their coats on. I finally asked the waiter to turn the heat on, and he obliged.
We have decided to cross this off our list of places to eat in Bennington.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank myersj125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Peppermills also viewed

 
Bennington, Green Mountains
 
Bennington, Green Mountains
Bennington, Green Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing