We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque B&B”
Review of South Shire Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
South Shire Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Bennington B&B and Inns
Texas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Picturesque B&B”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

The South Shire Inn in Bennington, Vt. is a wonderful place to spend a night or three. It is conveniently located just 2 blocks from downtown Bennington and a short drive from many attractions. The rooms are spacious in this 100+ year old mansion. The day starts with a hearty breakfast and the owners will gladly provide information on what to do and where to go in the area. Vermont has always been one of our favorite places to take a vacation.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bicyclist_Al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    15
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
41
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

You are in for a wonderful experience if you pick this place!!!! What a gorgeous home!! The dining room is the MOST beautiful room I've ever seen anywhere! Pay attention to the plaster detail in the entire room! Lovely extra touches such as "napkin sleeves." Joyce manages to provide elegance, yet you don't feel uncomfortable as if you might use the wrong fork! Our room was huge and beautifully decorated. Nice large bathroom! Loved everything about this place!!! Food was delicious, nicely presented, yet filling. I would definitely recommend this inn to anyone! Thank you for a lovely visit Joyce!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank born2dans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

My wife and I stayed here for our anniversary in the "Gold Room". We found Joyce to be a very gracious host and an excellent cook. Also, the inn was very well kept and clean!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed his this past weekend and had a nice time. After reading some of the other reviews I was a little nervous but it was a good deal for a short getaway, not too far from home, so I decided to take my chances. I made sure we arrived after the 3:00 check in time so as not to bother anyone. Joyce was very pleasant and gave us a quick tour before showing us to our room, the Jim Dandy, in the Carriage House which is separate from the main house. I purposely chose this room because of the location and because it had it's own private patio. We were disappointed to find out though, that the patio furniture was not out yet, rendering the patio useless. The room was nice but actually a little large for our taste, the 10 ft. ceilings made it seem not-so cozy and a little bit scary at night but I'm sure other people would like the spaciousness of it. The bathroom was nice, clean and I liked the jacuzzi tub and separate shower. We particularly enjoyed the fireplace in the room and were given a Duraflame log for each night we were there (they are functional only in season). The small sitting area in the Carriage house was convenient because of the small fridge and ice maker as well as the Keurig coffee maker with an abundant supply of coffe, tea and hot chocolate. As another reviewer wrote, we also experienced some fighting taking place in the kitchen between Joyce and her husband (whom we never saw) while were in the the library looking at local menus. She didn't realize we were there and apologized after coming out and seeing us. She also compensated us by reducing the room rate for the second night. It more than made up for the slight uncomfortability. Unfortunately, we missed breakfast the second day upon having to rush off but breakfast the first morning was great, broccoli and cheddar quiche, sausage, fruit, a donut and coffee/juice. The South Shire is in a great location, walking distance to downtown but if you're looking for rolling hills and gardens, this is not the place for you as there is zero grassy area. It was our first time at a bed and breakfast so we didn't know what to expect but overall it was a very nice stay. I'd go back if I was in the area for skiing or leef peeping.

Room Tip: Rooms in main house do not have TV's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Very comfortable, tasteful victorian decor. Working fireplace in every room. Went for a Valentine's weekend special and there was champagne and chocolates (and roses) for us. complimentary sherry available in the library. Tea and cookies at 4:00. Engaging but non- intrusive hosts. Great value for the money.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank easyriderny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2011

My wife and I really enjoyed our accommodations very much. We had a very nice room with many fine features. We especially enjoyed the clean quiet surroundings in this small New England community. The place was suitably located to the downtown, which made walking a pleasant thing for both of us. The hostess was very knowledgeable about the town and the breakfast served was very good and presented with taste of decoration. Should we have an opportunity to come back again, we will definitely make this a repeat stop.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeggysFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We were a bit put off by the warning not to check in before 15.00 but when we arrived we were given a warm welcome and our room was vast and very comfortable. It's full of antiques which were a bit intimidating but there were tea and cookies on arrival and and sherry supplied before dinner where there are many local restaurants (menus supplied in sitting room) within walking distance. Breakfast was excellent and served with a smile. It's not cheap but we found it a very different place to stay which we enjoyed.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for - the better rooms cost more but it's easy to chose online
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DJS377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bennington hotels
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Bennington
Hampton Inn Bennington
#1 of 8 in Bennington
700 reviews
1.5 mi away
Knotty Pine Motel
Knotty Pine Motel
#5 of 8 in Bennington
179 reviews
1.0 mi away
Four Chimneys Inn
Four Chimneys Inn
#1 of 9 in Bennington
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Paradise Inn
Paradise Inn
#4 of 8 in Bennington
279 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Bennington
Best Western Bennington
#2 of 8 in Bennington
455 reviews
0.7 mi away
Safford Mills Inn and Cafe
Safford Mills Inn and Cafe
#2 of 9 in Bennington
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Shire Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Shire Inn

Property: South Shire Inn
Address: 124 Elm St, Bennington, VT 05201-2232
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Bennington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Bennington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Victorian manor and Carriage House within an easy walk of downtown shops and restaurants. Nine spacious rooms all with private bath, many with fireplaces. Full breakfast served in beautiful dining room with original ornate plaster work. Afternoon tea provided in the mahogany paneled library. Close local attractions including the Bennington Museum, Bennington Monument, Clark Art Institute (Williamstown, MA), Oldcastle Theatre, Mount Anthony golf course and weekly Farmer's Market. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing