We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Comfortable and Quiet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of South Shire Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bennington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
South Shire Inn
Ranked #5 of 9 Bennington B&B and Inns
Sunnyside, New York
Level Contributor
143 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

This is one of the nicest b and b's right in town. Rooms are large and pretty well appointed - a refreshing absence of kitsch. They put out sherry in the late afternoon, a nice touch. Breakfasts are hearty; they do their own baking - do it well. Wifi in rooms is strong.

To move up another notch, they should stock down pillows ("some people are allergic to them" is a copout)

Don't know how they come by their price points - seem to be charging unjustifiably near the top of the market. But not much to complain about. Don't expect the hosts to exude warmth, though.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulesVerne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    15
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
3
38
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Ojai, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

We stayed at the South Shire Inn from September 18 through the 23, 2012.
Our room was huge, and we had a canopy bed. The bathroom was also enormous, and I enjoyed a bath every night in the old fashioned tub. The owners were very nice, and have a dry sense of humor. They work hard to make a nice experience for their guests. George cooks the delicious breakfasts every day, and the food is ample and readies you for a day of exploring New England. Sylvester the cat rules the roost but is not allowed in guests rooms, per Joyce's edict that he may affect guests with allergies.
Joyce checks you in, and gives tips for dining locally. There is a big livingroom area downstairs with comfy couches. Parking is on the property. The Inn is so close to the borders of several states, that made it easy to get around. Bennington has an excellent museum. The only reason I marked it Very Good instead of Excellent is that the pillows are just awfully uncomfortable. We would have slept better if the pillows were nice and soft.

Room Tip: We saw several rooms and they are all lovely. My favorite was the Rose Room, with the light green dr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elesem57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Comfy B&B, our room (the Rose room) was a great size and was very comfy. We enjoyed knitting on the porch and in the living room (though it was a little dark inside for knitting).

The breakfast portion of the B&B was okay -- nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trishfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

The inn is lovely but not worth the uncomfortable encounters with the inn keepers. I generaly love inns and relish the pride and passion most inn keepers have, the interactions i had with the inn keepers at Southshire Ruined my stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kimpaul22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

Before I start keep in mind that this Inn has a couple of policies that they strictly enforce. The first has to do with cancellations. Once you've made a reservation the charge to cancel it is forty dollars. Even if you call back within fifteen minutes of the booking. Next, there is no early check-in, none. You arrive at ten minutes to three you will end up sitting on the front porch waiting for someone to come to the desk and greet you. That being said, the room that we had was very nice - for some reason it's called Jim Dandy - it has a private patio, the room was immaculate and tastefully furnished. The room comes with a full breakfast. We had juice/coffee (refills available for both), warm blueberry muffins, and pancakes with bacon. My wife and I would definitely come back to the South Shire, we'd just be sure of the reservation and time our arrival to meet the check-in standard.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelFr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

The South Shire Inn in Bennington, Vt. is a wonderful place to spend a night or three. It is conveniently located just 2 blocks from downtown Bennington and a short drive from many attractions. The rooms are spacious in this 100+ year old mansion. The day starts with a hearty breakfast and the owners will gladly provide information on what to do and where to go in the area. Vermont has always been one of our favorite places to take a vacation.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bicyclist_Al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

You are in for a wonderful experience if you pick this place!!!! What a gorgeous home!! The dining room is the MOST beautiful room I've ever seen anywhere! Pay attention to the plaster detail in the entire room! Lovely extra touches such as "napkin sleeves." Joyce manages to provide elegance, yet you don't feel uncomfortable as if you might use the wrong fork! Our room was huge and beautifully decorated. Nice large bathroom! Loved everything about this place!!! Food was delicious, nicely presented, yet filling. I would definitely recommend this inn to anyone! Thank you for a lovely visit Joyce!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank born2dans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bennington hotels
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Bennington
Hampton Inn Bennington
#1 of 8 in Bennington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
1.5 mi away
Knotty Pine Motel
Knotty Pine Motel
#3 of 8 in Bennington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.4 mi away
Catamount
Catamount
#6 of 8 in Bennington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Safford Mills Inn and Cafe
Safford Mills Inn and Cafe
#3 of 9 in Bennington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
1.0 mi away
Four Chimneys Inn
Four Chimneys Inn
#1 of 9 in Bennington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.4 mi away
Paradise Inn
Paradise Inn
#5 of 8 in Bennington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Shire Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Shire Inn

Property: South Shire Inn
Address: 124 Elm St, Bennington, VT 05201-2232
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Bennington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Bennington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Victorian manor and Carriage House within an easy walk of downtown shops and restaurants. Nine spacious rooms all with private bath, many with fireplaces. Full breakfast served in beautiful dining room with original ornate plaster work. Afternoon tea provided in the mahogany paneled library. Close local attractions including the Bennington Museum, Bennington Monument, Clark Art Institute (Williamstown, MA), Oldcastle Theatre, Mount Anthony golf course and weekly Farmer's Market. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing