We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”
Review of South Shire Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
South Shire Inn
Ranked #5 of 9 Bennington B&B and Inns
None, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

After driving some distance, we were about to do the easy thing and check into a Hampton Inn. However, this was a couple of miles out of town and so, luckily, decided to stay in accommodation right in town. This is a Victorian house, decorated and furnished in the same style, with attention to detail, run by a charming woman and her husband, in a quiet street. It was absolutely spotlessly clean and breakfast was delicious. Home-made quiche, with well browned, crunchy toast (at last!) The rate was very good value for money. The owner was knowledgeable about the town and surrounding area and offerred some good sight seeing advise. If I ever returned to this area I wouldn't stay anywhere else. I read some of the "bad" reviews and if the owners are picky about who stay here, then - good - it keeps the standards up!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie10187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    15
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
41
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
South Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Otto room which was exceptionally large. It had a comfortable canopy bed and fireplace, with a very warm ambiance. The bathroom was also very large with an old style bathtub and separate shower. The bathroom was very modern compared to the look and feel of the room. It was a perfect combination of period furnishing and decoration, and modern comfort. The Inn itself was beautiful. The library included a fireplace and shelves full of board games. The hostess was very helpful.

Room Tip: The walls are thin and we heard practically everything going on in the adjacent room until about 1am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank finefolle13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyside, New York
Level Contributor
155 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This is one of the nicest b and b's right in town. Rooms are large and pretty well appointed - a refreshing absence of kitsch. They put out sherry in the late afternoon, a nice touch. Breakfasts are hearty; they do their own baking - do it well. Wifi in rooms is strong.

To move up another notch, they should stock down pillows ("some people are allergic to them" is a copout)

Don't know how they come by their price points - seem to be charging unjustifiably near the top of the market. But not much to complain about. Don't expect the hosts to exude warmth, though.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulesVerne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojai, California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We stayed at the South Shire Inn from September 18 through the 23, 2012.
Our room was huge, and we had a canopy bed. The bathroom was also enormous, and I enjoyed a bath every night in the old fashioned tub. The owners were very nice, and have a dry sense of humor. They work hard to make a nice experience for their guests. George cooks the delicious breakfasts every day, and the food is ample and readies you for a day of exploring New England. Sylvester the cat rules the roost but is not allowed in guests rooms, per Joyce's edict that he may affect guests with allergies.
Joyce checks you in, and gives tips for dining locally. There is a big livingroom area downstairs with comfy couches. Parking is on the property. The Inn is so close to the borders of several states, that made it easy to get around. Bennington has an excellent museum. The only reason I marked it Very Good instead of Excellent is that the pillows are just awfully uncomfortable. We would have slept better if the pillows were nice and soft.

Room Tip: We saw several rooms and they are all lovely. My favorite was the Rose Room, with the light green dr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elesem57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Comfy B&B, our room (the Rose room) was a great size and was very comfy. We enjoyed knitting on the porch and in the living room (though it was a little dark inside for knitting).

The breakfast portion of the B&B was okay -- nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trishfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

The inn is lovely but not worth the uncomfortable encounters with the inn keepers. I generaly love inns and relish the pride and passion most inn keepers have, the interactions i had with the inn keepers at Southshire Ruined my stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kimpaul22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Before I start keep in mind that this Inn has a couple of policies that they strictly enforce. The first has to do with cancellations. Once you've made a reservation the charge to cancel it is forty dollars. Even if you call back within fifteen minutes of the booking. Next, there is no early check-in, none. You arrive at ten minutes to three you will end up sitting on the front porch waiting for someone to come to the desk and greet you. That being said, the room that we had was very nice - for some reason it's called Jim Dandy - it has a private patio, the room was immaculate and tastefully furnished. The room comes with a full breakfast. We had juice/coffee (refills available for both), warm blueberry muffins, and pancakes with bacon. My wife and I would definitely come back to the South Shire, we'd just be sure of the reservation and time our arrival to meet the check-in standard.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelFr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bennington hotels
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Bennington
Hampton Inn Bennington
#1 of 8 in Bennington
700 reviews
1.5 mi away
Knotty Pine Motel
Knotty Pine Motel
#5 of 8 in Bennington
179 reviews
1.0 mi away
Four Chimneys Inn
Four Chimneys Inn
#1 of 9 in Bennington
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Paradise Inn
Paradise Inn
#4 of 8 in Bennington
279 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Bennington
Best Western Bennington
#2 of 8 in Bennington
455 reviews
0.7 mi away
Safford Mills Inn and Cafe
Safford Mills Inn and Cafe
#2 of 9 in Bennington
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Shire Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Shire Inn

Property: South Shire Inn
Address: 124 Elm St, Bennington, VT 05201-2232
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Bennington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Bennington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Victorian manor and Carriage House within an easy walk of downtown shops and restaurants. Nine spacious rooms all with private bath, many with fireplaces. Full breakfast served in beautiful dining room with original ornate plaster work. Afternoon tea provided in the mahogany paneled library. Close local attractions including the Bennington Museum, Bennington Monument, Clark Art Institute (Williamstown, MA), Oldcastle Theatre, Mount Anthony golf course and weekly Farmer's Market. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing