We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Much needed relaxing break from work, but close...”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property
Sunny Front Yard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunny Front Yard
View of the Camp from the Lake View of the Sunset from the dock!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
27 reviews
Sunny Front Yard
View of the Camp from the Lake
View of the Sunset from the dock!
Resident pair of Loons NEW this year!
Kitchen & Dining Area with screened in views of the lake!
Living Room
Plenty of seating all with Water Views!
Vast water views from EVERY Room!
A good day of Trout Fishing on Sunset Lake!
Beautiful Fall Foliage on Sunset Lake
Fun in the Sun on the Movable Floating Swim Raft
Open Living Room Dining Room and Kitchen with plenty of seating.
Open Kitchen / Dining / Living Room Areas
Lake Views from the Cabin
Morning Views
Small Bunk House Sleeps 2 NO plumbing Facilities
View from the Bunk House
Large Deck with Seating, Two Large Picnic Tables & Gas Grill & Tiki Torches for evening fun.
View of Sunset Lake from the Large Deck!
Lake View from the Living Room
A Perfect Summer Day!
Lakeside View of Camp
Ahhh... The Fire-pit!
Row Boat & Kayaks
View of the cabin from the large deck and bunk house.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Benson, Vermont

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tony Conn...
North Clarendon, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Much needed relaxing break from work, but close to home!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a great stay at Sunset lake. unfortunately I wasn't able to catch any of those big Rainbow trout, but that was my fault. We unfortunately had to work a few days during our stay, and we liked that this was close enough to get to Rutland and still be able to do that.

The camp was great, very secluded, quiet and peaceful & Serene. The water is crystal clear.

Casey or little guy enjoyed himself so much also, and was well behaved. We were surprised how well he did!

Jamie has thought of just about everything. We brought more of our own stuff than we probably needed.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Lake Frontage
Liked least: Doing laundry morning of departure. Waiting for dryer.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jake M
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay Close to Home”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

What can we say, we had a great, clean, yet rustic cabin on one of the nicest lakes in the state (I have been to a lot of them). Everything you need is pretty well provided for you which really surprised us. Just add drinks, food, and fishing rods and you're in for a great time.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon C
Rutland, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm and Inviting”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay at Camp Costalotta was perfect. The weather, not so much. We had chilly mornings, warm afternoons and sometimes very wet and windy evenings. It was relaxing to listen to the rain hit the roof and the water, because you can't change the weather. The cabin is stocked with everything you need, and more. It is clean, warm and dry! The floating dock was a huge hit (we didn't do any swimming) to float out and get some sun. The kayaks were an excellent accommodation. We used them daily to explore the lake. The views, the water, the cabin....it's the whole package. Looking forward to next summer! Thank you Jamie!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaftsbury
Reviewed 4 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
4 of 5 bubbles Value 4 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 4 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Williston VT
Reviewed 26 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1 of 5 bubbles Value 1 of 5 bubbles Rooms
1 of 5 bubbles Location 1 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
3 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 1 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Sep 2013
Larry, I am very sorry your expectations were not met. This is a "RUSTIC" cabin. The cabin is fully compliant with fire codes. It is equipped with smoke & carbon monoxide detectors, fire extinguisher & egress windows. The cabin is cleaned after each guest departs. All the furnishings and carpeting was professionally cleaned in June of 2013. I only wish you had taken the opportunity to visit the cabin in advance of your stay (as is offered and recommended on the rental site) to insure it fit your needs. I am sure we could have resolved any concerns had you waited for me to arrive. Jamie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MA
Reviewed 27 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Aug 2013
Mike & Deb, I am happy that your stay was so enjoyable. It was a pleasure meeting you and your family. Sounds like everyone had a great time. I hope the crappie are biting better next year! ;-) Jamie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
upstate NY
Reviewed 21 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Aug 2013
I am happy your week was fun filled! Hope to see you again next year! Dates are opened up on line for 2014 bookings! Jamie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$985
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing