We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“X-mas vacation Dec 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Inn Bolton Valley & Ski Area
Level Contributor
81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“X-mas vacation Dec 2013”
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

The place is old and in need of loads of money it is stuck in its original state late 70's maybe early 80's. They advertise kids activities at the sports centre in a falling a part old tennis and pool facilite that hasn't operated a tennis court in years. When asked could we play tennis they replied they need 48 hours notice! On weekends a DJ and bouncy house is to operate but that wasn't the case on Saturday and on Sunday the ski slopes were closed as they were closed Saturday night and yet the bounce house and DJ to entertain the kids wasn't available. At night there is nothing to do if no skiing and the sports centre closes @6pm on weeknights and 8pm on weekends. Truly disappointing worst tired run down facility we have used and stayed at in 20 yrs my kids are board and having to shower in a washroom out of the "Bates Motel" with little to no water pressure so you don't get a nice shower or get the soap off your body. The place needs some major money and should be sold or partner with someone that can invest in its property. Driving up the mountain and down is very dangerous and is leaving my new winter tires burnt from each trip the roads are in poor condition and could use new ashfault years ago. Would check other facilities to stay and visit to ski and use there trails. Looking for other accommodation elsewhere as we speak kids are board and this is a family vacation after all. Not much to do at least if there were activities and facilities to use the tired rooms wouldn't matter so much but that's all we have. Not sure we can spend too many more nights here as intended!!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Miles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria R, Manager at The Inn Bolton Valley & Ski Area, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
This past holiday week we had unusual weather for this time of year. We were hoping for lots of snow. During the first part of your stay we had a pretty bad ice storm that put not only our mountain without power but many other residential areas with out power. Sunday we lost power and once the power went on the trails were still unsafe due to the weather concerns. Our business is very weather dependent . Once our mountain was operating on Monday the conditions were spring like conditions. Later in the week we had a few snow storms that put a nice coat back on the trails open.

Our website has all the updated information for activities down in our Nordic Center. The bouncy houses and other activities you mentioned were due to open December 26th which was also advertised on our website.

Our hotel may be outdated however we assure all our guests have a clean comfortable room to stay in. If you have any other further concerns please feel free to call or e-mail. Thank you!

Sincerely,

Victoria Rapoza
Lodging Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    28
    13
    9
    18
See reviews for
46
17
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This hotel is gross and outdated. The employees are nice but there is nothing to do after the lifts close. The mountain is awesome and underrated but the lifts are insanely slow. I would love to see Bolton get a couple hight speeds and a new hotel like what jay has been doing. I usually hate chains but jay is saving Burke, I wish they could do the same here. I really loved the mountain, but they need faster lifts, more to do at night and a new hotel because there is no saving this outdated hotel. It's seems like they're stuck in the 70s with smugglers notch. With Stowe next door, I would stay there and visit Bolton for a day. PLEASE GET A NEW HOTEL AND HIGH SPEED!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dondambra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria R, Manager at The Inn Bolton Valley & Ski Area, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
As our hotel is outdated I can assure you that it is clean and comfortable. After the lifts close our Tavern remains open for dinner until about 9 pm. During the season we have live music later in the week and every other Sunday starting in January we have trivia night. Which is always a fun time. The Nordic Center that holds our pool and hot tub closes around 6 pm during non-night skiing days and during night skiing days its open until 8 pm.

The lifts maybe slow however its still the same place every one knows and loves. There are no waits in line and the trails are always a blast. Our building is a rustic old feeling.

If you have other suggestions for things to do after skiing hours we are always open to hear your thoughts. Please give us a call if you would like to discuss a suggestion. Thank you for skiing with us and hope to see you out on the slopes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bolton Valley hotels

Bolton, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
161 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

My family has stayed at this hotel for a number of years now. They have always enjoyed their time and their accommodations. The Backcountry skiing is amazing and the lift service is great as well, shot lines, top to bottom night skiing, friendly staff and safe for the whole family. The swimming holes and hiking in the summer are great as well. The Hotel is right on the Catamount and the long trail. If you love the outdoors and laid back friendly staff Bolton is a great place to spend some time.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ethan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria R, Manager at The Inn Bolton Valley & Ski Area, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Your experience at Bolton Valley is what we are all about. Thank you for your continued business and we hope to see your family out on the slopes this coming season. Our staff is always excited when it comes to skiing and riding. Its what we love about our mountain. The back country is a beautiful place to go for a nice walk either by yourself or with family. Thank you again for thinking of us. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed here for a wedding in the area. We had stayed here 20 years ago in the summer with our young family and enjoyed it. Time has not been kind to Bolton valley. The entire complex has aged in place and not aged well. Although they were charging "fall foliage" rates the facilities were
clearly in the off season. No restaurants were open; for our continental breakfast we went to the small store where we had plastic wrapped muffins and bad coffee in a small cramped unkempt space. No recreational facilities were open; no pool, shops, hot tub, etc.
What made the experience even worse was the housekeeping or better said- the lack of it. Our room was not made up the first day and when I complained at the front desk I got a snippy response back and only after threatening to leave immediately was I given half -off the rate for the night. However, nothing changed. Our room was not made up the second day and we just gave up. It wasn't worth arguing with some 20 something clerk who passed herself off as a manager.
Poor facilities, poor service and poor attitude- the ingredients for a most unpleasant stay. Do not go there. Avoid at all costs. A complete and total rip-off and fraud as basically a bad Motel 6 masquerading as a Vermont Inn.

Room Tip: Don't choose any rooms- don't stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank booster1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria R, Manager at The Inn Bolton Valley & Ski Area, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Good afternoon,

We strive ourselves in customer service and insure that you receive the best service possible. We had a discussion about your issue. When you and I spoke, it was my understanding that we came to an agreement that a discount would be provided to compensate for the misunderstanding associated with the requested cleaning service during the first day of your stay. You seemed satisfied after we discussed the issue. On the second day housekeeping service was declined when they arrived to clean your room. If there was a contuined problem I would have been more than happy to discuss the issue further.

I would like the opportunity to speak with you further about this issue. Please feel free to call. Your business is important to us. Thank you and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
utah
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed here for a friend's wedding. It was fun because the whole wedding was able to stay in one place, and it was the slow season, so we were the only people there! The Inn is a large complex right at the base of Bolton Valley - one side of the building faces the ski lifts and trails, the other looks down valley. It has the old New England ski lodge feel, but that adds to the experience. The beds were very comfortable, and staff was friendly and helpful. Bathrooms could use some updating but everything worked so it was fine. There is a great little country store with Green Mountain Coffee, breakfast sandwiches, and a deli right next to the Inn which was perfect so we didn't have to run to town for every meal!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the ski resort on level 4 and higher have balconies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abbibarss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria R, Manager at The Inn Bolton Valley & Ski Area, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
hank you for your feedback.The awesome thing about staying here for a wedding in the summer time is you do basically have the hotel to yourself. We are very quiet in the summer time however if that is what you are looking for then we are the place. The views are amazing. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our mountain and the wedding . We are an older building and are working on some small updates. All the weddings that we have had so far this summer the weather has been beautiful. We hope to see you in the ski season if you enjoy the winter months. Thank you and hope to see again soon.

Sincerely,

Victoria Rapoza
Lodging Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I have been skiing at Bolton Valley every year for the past 15 years. It is the most family friendly resort I have ever been to. I see the same friendly faces every year. The snow on the mountain is groomed to perfection, the food at the James Moore Tavern, delicious. The sports center is lots of fun for the children, mine are grown now, but always come back to Bolton Valley. They will bring their children there, and their children will bring will bring their children. It's like a time machine, there are many families that have been skiing here, one generation after another. Don't overlook the back country, the Vermont Land Trust, has protected over 1100 acres of land. It is beautiful, try the snow shoeing, so peaceful. It is clean, but well aged. Can't wait for this season, may the weather be with us.

Room Tip: The hotel has great ski in ski out rooms and condos. I believe the odd number rooms in the west win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbiesalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria R, Manager at The Inn Bolton Valley & Ski Area, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that you have been visiting our mountain for quite some time. We pride ourselves in customer service and like to hear that is part of your wonderful experience. The back country is breath taking along with our views from the top of the mountain. We look forward to another great season. Thank you and hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Victoria Rapoza
Lodging Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This hotel , is horrid . Me & the family went up for a week in the summer & ... The pool wasnt open ? Or the hot tub , or the shops ?
We get into the rooms & half our appliances were either broken or missing , our beds were poorly made , not to mention there was a few spots on the sheets with a white substance ..? Hmm . Don't think they washed them ! Also , the hill to get up to the resort , killed * the family mini van ! There's no pets aloud , no shops on campus , & we had to pay 1.00$ for each time we wanted ice ! The walls were all cracked , the wood around the tubs were molded & I almost forgot , three o'clock In the morning , I went to the bathroom & to my surprise , there was a gaint *** spider in the corner , I went to smush it & its babies broke lose , it was a nursing wolf spider , meaning it carries its thousands of babies on its back !!! the drive to the hospital was extremely far away , & that sucked for me , because I went into labor !!! Seriously , the only thing good that came out of it was my newborn son<3 don't waste your time !!! Or money !!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyshaamariee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria R, Manager at The Inn Bolton Valley & Ski Area, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for the feedback.about your stay. We strive to provide a clean and comfortable room for all of our guests. To achieve this we thoroughly clean each room prior to arrival and have an inspection process to provide an additional assurance. That being said, if your room was not what you expected and if there might have been something missed we have staff ready and available to address issues as they arise. We are available during posted hours and could have accommodated you and your family if notified of an issue.

We provide information to all out guests on what is open or not during the year on our website and through RCI for timeshares. The pool is not open in the summer months (our off season) however we do provide information for local swimming holes as they are very popular in the summer. Part of the allure of our area is experiencing the natural landscape that surrounds Bolton Valley.

Congratulations on the addition to your family! I would like to extend best wishes on behalf of the entire team at Bolton Valley.

Sincerely,

Victoria Rapoza
Lodging Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolton Valley
7.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe
6.0 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
1,247 reviews
7.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Waterbury Stowe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
13.0 mi away
TownePlace Suites Burlington Williston
8.3 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn Bolton Valley & Ski Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn Bolton Valley & Ski Area

Property: The Inn Bolton Valley & Ski Area
Address: 4302 Bolton Access Road, Bolton Valley, VT 05477
Region: United States > Vermont > Bolton Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bolton Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn Bolton Valley & Ski Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vermont Skiing and Riding at its best!Bolton Valley Vermont is a unique, high mountain alpine ski village surrounded by over 5,000 pristine acres. At Bolton Valley the recreational opportunities are as numerous as the views are spectacular. In the winter, whether your're interested in skiing or snowboarding, telemark or Nordic, backcountry or night skiing, Bolton Valley has it all in abundance. After your legs have had enough, relax in the Sports Center's jacuzzi, heated pool or warm up in the sauna. Need more activities? Join a basketball game, play tennis, or work out in the exercise center. There is no limit on ways to stay active at Bolton Valley. Great food? We have that too. Want to stay in slope side lodging? Look no further. All lodging, whether it be the Inn accommodations, suites, or condominiums, are all slopeside or within a short walking distance. No cars needed at Bolton Valley, it's all right here. We are family friendly, affordable, and offer loads of fun. Bolton Valley is the place to get away and enjoy the best Vermont has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Inn Bolton Valley & Ski Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bolton Valley Hotel Bolton Valley
The Inn Bolton Valley & Ski Area Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing