We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Vermont Ski resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Inn Bolton Valley & Ski Area
Wenham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Small Vermont Ski resort”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Wonderful place. Stayed at nice comfy hotel at base lodge area. Reasonably priced. Great place to go for a weekend ski trip. Staff was very professional and friendly. Perfect ski resort for a family getaway.

Room Tip: 3rd Floor suites are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poncho2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    28
    13
    8
    18
See reviews for
45
17
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

As locals who regularly ski at Bolton (and who have always found the ski operations friendly, well-run, and a great value), we were excited for our first family stay at the property. As Vermonters, we weren't expecting world-class (or even Stowe or Jay Peak-quality) accommodations. But at $400/night for a condo,, we were shocked at how stunningly unprofessional the Bolton Valley hotel is run.

I've had better, more caring service at youth hostels and YMCA's. A few examples: after a heavy snowfall, we had to shovel our own walkway and stairs to safely exit our building. (When an employee started re-shoveling the clean path later that morning, and was informed not to worry since we had already shoveled it, we were given a blank stare rather than an apology or explanation.) No maid service was ever offered - I literally had to ask at the front desk whether it was provided. "No one called you to ask if you needed cleaning?" asked one attendant. I shook my head, and her fellow worker smacked his head and said "My bad!" With a grin. No apologies, and I was made to feel that it was an imposition to ask, so I wound up vacuuming and cleaning the unit myself. When I asked whether someone could bring towels and garbage bags, they suggested I bring them myself. Not unfriendly, just rather ungracious. We were also given zero written information on the hotel, both at the front desk and in the condo itself, which was odd. Please don't make your paying guests have to troll your website or call just to get basic information on facilities, open hours, or resort amenities.

The condo itself, while clean and comfortable, was worn and rather dated. There were missing blinds in one bedroom, and a strong smell of mold (amidst cracked and aging tiles) in a bathroom. It was clear that little emphasis is put on maintaining these properties, or indeed the main hotel itself. There are other oddities - like the cable TV which offered very basic local channels, a good lineup of kids channels, and then a staggering array of useless shopping and religious channels. When your hotel is too cheap to provide the likes of CNN and Bravo, you know you're in trouble.

In sum: while you can't beat Bolton Valley for proximity to the ski slopes, this is terrible value for the price. We'll be back to ski, but I doubt we'll ever stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YogaPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bolton Valley hotels

MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We just returned from four nights at Bolton Valley. We stayed on the fifth floor in a two queen bed room. First, let me start with the good - everyone at Bolton is extremely friendly, helpful, and focused on providing great customer service. Travis, who helped out in the restaurant one night, exemplified the level of service prevalent at Bolton. Natalia and the other employees in the deli were also excellent, and all the lift operators were friendly and seemed genuinely happy to be working there. The above mentioned deli had a standard continental breakfast that was included in the room rate, and had decent sandwiches and soups. The James Moore tavern was also good - the entire family found something delicious every night. We didn't try the pizza place. Most of the lifts opened between 8:30AM-9:30AM except for the mid mountain lift, which opened at 10AM. Unfortunately, that was the lift we utilized mostly because the kids have only been skiing a handful of times. The mountain was great for us, and there was never even a hint of a line because there were at least four lifts running all the time, all accessible from the same area, and all taking skiers to different areas. The lodge was basic, but acceptable and had free wifi.
Now for the only negative aspect of Bolton - the rooms. This may not be the case across the entire resort, but was our experience in the main building on the fifth floor. The rooms themselves are very basic and pretty dated with no refrigerator and tube tv's. I know what you're thinking - "it's a ski vacation, why do you care about the rooms?". Well, if your children are 12 and under you spend time in the rooms because they go to sleep earlier, and when you take a break from skiing to have lunch, or watch olympic hockey.
The worst part of the rooms, however, was the noise. We could easily hear conversations in nearby rooms and the room doors and the doors at the end of the hallway would bang shut every time they closed like a teenager had just been sent to their room. This made it extremely hard to sleep at night - and I'm a very sound sleeper.
Even with the room situation we'd definitely return to Bolton Valley - we'd have to really think about where in the hotel the noise would be minimized, though. If they do some updating/insulating and remove the doors at each end of the hallways, that would make the Bolton experience top notch, but it's still excellent right now.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dhealey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We looked around for many places in Vermont and had zero regrets about booking at Bolton. It was the first time on the slopes for my 6 and 8 year old, as well as my wife. We booked the ski and stay package in the lodge, but immediately upgraded to a 1-bedroom condo next door upon arrival since we decided we wanted a bit more space and a fireplace. The rooms were clean and very well kept and the skiing was amazing and instructors were very patient with my wife and kids who loved the skiing and all of the time in the restaurant and bar at the lodge. We will definitely be going back. It was affordable and the right pace for new skiiers who probably would have been overwhelmed at a bigger resort. The continental breakfast was pretty simple and it would have been nice to have some better options in the morning (we will probably bring our own breakfast stuff next time) but the rest of the food was great and the kids loved playing darts in James Moore Tavern. It is definitely not fancy, but that's not what we were there for. Laid back vibe and proximity to the mountain were all we really needed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria R, Manager at The Inn Bolton Valley & Ski Area, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for your stay. Bolton was the first mountain I ever skied on as well and the trails are great for beginners. It's great to hear that you and your family not only enjoyed the mountain but that the staff made your experience more enjoyable. We hope to see you soon. Thank you!

Sincerely,

Victoria Rapoza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This resort was the most economical choice in the area. It cost $2000 less than a similar stay at Smuggler's Notch would have been. For $1050, we got three nights in the slope-side hotel in a room with 2 queen beds and three days of lift tickets for the three of us, during the peak Christmas vacation week. Plus three continental breakfasts.

There were a number of minor problems, but not so much that I regret staying there. Considering that I saved $2000, it was worth it to put up with some inconveniences. But you do get what you paid for.

After verbally confirming an early 3 pm check-in, we were surprised to arrive at 4 pm and find out that our room was not ready. I was surprised that they left a brand-new front desk clerk by herself on xmas day. She was having trouble staffing both the phone and helping the customers at the desk.

The place is family-friendly. The tavern has a children's menu. They played up the special vacation-week activities on their website, but they fell short of my expectations. They promised a "bonfire" but it was just a fire in a small fire pit. The "arcade" features six outdated video games. The pool and hot tub were nice, but I wished it was open later than 8 pm.

The website boasts that the ski area features 70 trails, but during this peak xmas vacation week, only 8 were open! 3 green circle beginner trails and five blue square intermediate trails, but no black diamond trails. But the lift lines were fairly short.

I was surprised that we didn't get any maid service one day. I happened to be in the room when they came by at 4:30 pm so they asked what i needed and I said more coffee pods for the in-room coffee maker, so that's all the maid service we got for the day.

Every employee I encountered was friendly and helpful.

The rooms were a little outdated, but how much time do you spend in it anyways if you're out skiing all day? The continental breakfast was fine--coffee, juice, bagels, muffins and cereal.

So yes there were problems, but not $2,000 worth of problems. If you're expecting a 4-star resort, this place is not for you. If you want a ski vacation for your family at a very affordable price, it's great. There's no way we could have afforded slope-side accommodations except at Bolton Valley.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank booknerd71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria R, Manager at The Inn Bolton Valley & Ski Area, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
We want to thank you for thinking of our resort as a place to ski. During the time that you visited we had unusual weather for that time of year and were unable to open all trails. We do have snowmaking capabilities on the mountain but we have had inconsistent temperatures this winter which does slow the process.

We had a new staff member on your day of arrival. At that time she'd been with us for over a month and showed that she could handle the front desk. Being by yourself at a new job can be overwhelming at times and the amount of business on Christmas day is hard to predict. We have maid service everyday and it is our policy to come earlier in the day. I do apologize for the late service.

We do take requests for early arrivals however we never guarantee that it will be ready prior to the check in time of 5pm. Depending on the volume of arrivals for each day, we always do the best we can to accommodate these requests.

I am glad to hear that you did enjoy your stay and we do hope to see you come back. Thank you.


Sincerely,

Victoria Rapoza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

The place is old and in need of loads of money it is stuck in its original state late 70's maybe early 80's. They advertise kids activities at the sports centre in a falling a part old tennis and pool facilite that hasn't operated a tennis court in years. When asked could we play tennis they replied they need 48 hours notice! On weekends a DJ and bouncy house is to operate but that wasn't the case on Saturday and on Sunday the ski slopes were closed as they were closed Saturday night and yet the bounce house and DJ to entertain the kids wasn't available. At night there is nothing to do if no skiing and the sports centre closes @6pm on weeknights and 8pm on weekends. Truly disappointing worst tired run down facility we have used and stayed at in 20 yrs my kids are board and having to shower in a washroom out of the "Bates Motel" with little to no water pressure so you don't get a nice shower or get the soap off your body. The place needs some major money and should be sold or partner with someone that can invest in its property. Driving up the mountain and down is very dangerous and is leaving my new winter tires burnt from each trip the roads are in poor condition and could use new ashfault years ago. Would check other facilities to stay and visit to ski and use there trails. Looking for other accommodation elsewhere as we speak kids are board and this is a family vacation after all. Not much to do at least if there were activities and facilities to use the tired rooms wouldn't matter so much but that's all we have. Not sure we can spend too many more nights here as intended!!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Miles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria R, Manager at The Inn Bolton Valley & Ski Area, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
This past holiday week we had unusual weather for this time of year. We were hoping for lots of snow. During the first part of your stay we had a pretty bad ice storm that put not only our mountain without power but many other residential areas with out power. Sunday we lost power and once the power went on the trails were still unsafe due to the weather concerns. Our business is very weather dependent . Once our mountain was operating on Monday the conditions were spring like conditions. Later in the week we had a few snow storms that put a nice coat back on the trails open.

Our website has all the updated information for activities down in our Nordic Center. The bouncy houses and other activities you mentioned were due to open December 26th which was also advertised on our website.

Our hotel may be outdated however we assure all our guests have a clean comfortable room to stay in. If you have any other further concerns please feel free to call or e-mail. Thank you!

Sincerely,

Victoria Rapoza
Lodging Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This hotel is gross and outdated. The employees are nice but there is nothing to do after the lifts close. The mountain is awesome and underrated but the lifts are insanely slow. I would love to see Bolton get a couple hight speeds and a new hotel like what jay has been doing. I usually hate chains but jay is saving Burke, I wish they could do the same here. I really loved the mountain, but they need faster lifts, more to do at night and a new hotel because there is no saving this outdated hotel. It's seems like they're stuck in the 70s with smugglers notch. With Stowe next door, I would stay there and visit Bolton for a day. PLEASE GET A NEW HOTEL AND HIGH SPEED!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dondambra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria R, Manager at The Inn Bolton Valley & Ski Area, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
As our hotel is outdated I can assure you that it is clean and comfortable. After the lifts close our Tavern remains open for dinner until about 9 pm. During the season we have live music later in the week and every other Sunday starting in January we have trivia night. Which is always a fun time. The Nordic Center that holds our pool and hot tub closes around 6 pm during non-night skiing days and during night skiing days its open until 8 pm.

The lifts maybe slow however its still the same place every one knows and loves. There are no waits in line and the trails are always a blast. Our building is a rustic old feeling.

If you have other suggestions for things to do after skiing hours we are always open to hear your thoughts. Please give us a call if you would like to discuss a suggestion. Thank you for skiing with us and hope to see you out on the slopes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolton Valley
6.0 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
7.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe
8.3 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Waterbury Stowe
7.8 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
0.3 mi away
Lotus Mountain Retreat
Lotus Mountain Retreat
#2 of 2 in Bolton Valley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn Bolton Valley & Ski Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn Bolton Valley & Ski Area

Property: The Inn Bolton Valley & Ski Area
Address: 4302 Bolton Access Road, Bolton Valley, VT 05477
Region: United States > Vermont > Bolton Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bolton Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn Bolton Valley & Ski Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vermont Skiing and Riding at its best!Bolton Valley Vermont is a unique, high mountain alpine ski village surrounded by over 5,000 pristine acres. At Bolton Valley the recreational opportunities are as numerous as the views are spectacular. In the winter, whether your're interested in skiing or snowboarding, telemark or Nordic, backcountry or night skiing, Bolton Valley has it all in abundance. After your legs have had enough, relax in the Sports Center's jacuzzi, heated pool or warm up in the sauna. Need more activities? Join a basketball game, play tennis, or work out in the exercise center. There is no limit on ways to stay active at Bolton Valley. Great food? We have that too. Want to stay in slope side lodging? Look no further. All lodging, whether it be the Inn accommodations, suites, or condominiums, are all slopeside or within a short walking distance. No cars needed at Bolton Valley, it's all right here. We are family friendly, affordable, and offer loads of fun. Bolton Valley is the place to get away and enjoy the best Vermont has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Inn Bolton Valley & Ski Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bolton Valley Hotel Bolton Valley
The Inn Bolton Valley & Ski Area Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing