We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stone's Lodge under Stratton Mtn.
Ranked #4 of 4 Bondville B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 September 2013

When you get to this sunny, serene and magical mountain B&B, you will meet Vince, and Yana, two very young, extremely hardworking individuals with big hearts and wits to match. Having spent time talking and getting to know these two wonderful people, I can honestly say I have never encountered better customer service. They embody the quiet mountain spirit, and make it their mission to put you at ease. Afterall, nobody comes to Stratton Mountain for business!

Whether you're here for a cold winter day or a hot summer night, you are bound to find warm people, good conversation and a lively atmosphere in the restaurant/bar.
The rooms are well-tended and full of character, and best of all, you will find yourself within walking distance of nearby shops, rivers, mountains and lakes.
I'm looking forward to passing through again soon, and kudos to the staff for being so accommodating!

The rooms are

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colvcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed only one night in the great place u pinto the mountains. Very friendly staff. Specially in the bar/restaurant. He gave us some good suggestions for out next day. We Had a good night in great beds and enjoyed a good breakfast. Definitely a place to come back to.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edwin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We went up here for a funeral and stayed in 2 rooms. We stayed 8/2013. The hotel is a converted barn/stable. It does have some charm and we were happy to find a place that was pet friendly as we were travelling with our 10 week old puppy.

The Turquoise room was not as pictured. The windows had no shades but had curtains pulled back so we made do. There were cobwebs all along room as well as stained carpets. The white comforters were also stained and the "so-called" 1500 ct thread sheets were wrinkled. I venture to guess they were only 500 thread ct. The bathroom towels were more like rags than towels. The shower head was so low I had to duck under it to shower (but it did have good pressure). The ceiling above one of the beds had nailed in sheetrock that didn't even match the rest of the ceiling and there didn't even seem to be an attempt to patch it and make it look nice. Molding was also missing from this area around the ceiling.

The Cat Room was the other room we stayed in. It was filthy with cobwebs. My sister said she didn't get any sleep because it was so dirty.

The free wifi - a joke. It didn't work in the Torquoise room. Signal didn't get far enough. In addition, we brought a back up plan and tried an AT&T mifi device. We were unable to get a signal. Verizon and AT&T do not work well at this location.

Breakfast made to order the next morning was a joke. One of the choices - 2 eggs and bacon ... note that's all you get...no toast. I asked for toast and got 1 piece. I asked for a second piece and then also had to ask for butter for the toast and then a knife. Orange juice was on the menu but when we asked for it, we were told there is cranberry juice on the other table we can have. We ended up leaving there and going acrossed the street for a little better service.

Very poor service, very low quality establishment, very overpriced for the shape it is in. I see potential with this place but our experience was horrible and this place needs an overhaul and real cleaning done.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cheri9724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My pregnant fiance and I made the mistake of booking this dump online. We arrived to find there is NO A/C!! The lobby was sweltering and the room was even hotter! The place looks nothing like the pictures and smells of mold. There was no possible way that I would sleep in a place like this, nevermind my fiance. When I told the mgr we were leaving and would like a refund, I was given the run around and told to call back. Yana returned the deposit but kept the room fee because "I threatened her" with a bad review! In short, this is "THE WORST" place we have ever stayed. BEWARE!!

Room Tip: Book a different place!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marc W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My Fiancee and I planned an impromptu motorcycle trip to Vermont this past weekend. On Friday night I was looking at the map and trying to decide where to stay. Stone's Lodge came up, was about the right distance for our first day of riding, and had a very nice website, so we went for it. Initially I was going to do the reservation online, but in the end I decided to call instead. The booking process was easy, and professionally handled. We arrived Saturday afternoon & checked in. We got the "secret code word" for food discount at the "Fat Spy" restaurant attached to the hotel, and were shown our room. I have to point out that I had not read any reviews until after I booked....

We were pleasantly surprised the negative reviews were over-blown, and in the case of our room, completely wrong. Our room was clean, bed was comfortable, and nice big TV with satellite.

After cleaning up we went to the Fat Spy for dinner. The restaurant was clean, the staff friendly and the food was quite good. It is very nice when traveling by motorcycle to have food close at hand so we really enjoyed this aspect of the hotel. That evening the hotel was quite quiet, and we slept well. Breakfast of pancakes & coffee in the morning was nothing fancy, but it was good.

Overall I would have no problem recommending the Stone's Lodge to my friends, and would stay there again when traveling though Vermont.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Their website is lovely. The images must have been taken several years ago because it wasn't anything like it looked.
The room was disgusting. Filthy carpet, the smell of mildew, bathroom that hadn't been touched in 50 years, and we had no heat. I asked about it and was brought a space heater. The sheets were clean so we
stayed.
My 13 year old son and I were the only ones there. For breakfast we had a choice of pancakes or bacon and eggs. My huge plate arrived with one egg, scrambled, and one piece of bacon. The bacon was good and the pancakes my son had we're ok. The coffee was cold, and the table in the dining room was adorned with dead flowers and an empty candle tin that was clearly left over from someone's wedding the previous year. It's a cool looking place but it needs a Lot of attention. And a LOT of cleaning supplies.


  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zones10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoneslodge, Owner at Stone's Lodge under Stratton Mtn., responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Hello:
You stayed around June 15th with us. Since it was summer, I would of never guessed that you might be cold, but when you asked for heat I did bring you the heater and then you told me that you warmed up, so imagine my surprise reading your feedback.
Sorry about coffee, I could of make a new pot of it if I new that that one cooled down.
Also, I ever rent filthy rooms, it is clean, but yes, the carpet in the rooms that have it instead of wooden floors is old.
I am being very transparent, actually, with the condition of every room, that's why there are videos for every room posted in the web-sites description that were taken just one month ago.
Sorry that you had such impression!
Yana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We booked this hotel for the convenience of the location along with some of the better reviews and photos on their site, completely excited about the weekend in VT with our best friends wedding happening during our time up there ... until arriving for check-in. All I can say is "Oh My GOD". (As another previous guest wrote on their review - who is writing these great reviews? It clearly has to be the owners!)

Upon arrival to what seemed like an abandoned Inn, we were checked-in by a nice young man who despite not understanding (or speaking) English tried his extreme best to accomodate us (after charging us the full amount of the room, not deducting the deposit we'd already paid them in advance, which is a whole different story!) and showed us to our room. The room was disgusting. Not only was it in desperate need of a MAJOR renovation, it didn't feel clean at all, but we thought 'ok, it's JUST one night'. But, after discovering the room door wouldn't lock, we definitely went back to the desk to ask for a different room and could not find the young man. Anywhere. It was as if he disappeared, never to return, no where in sight (and believe me, my better half searched the halls, office, shut-down pub/bar, etc) for over ten minutes until the young man suddenly resurfaced while we waited on the front porch. He gave us another room after verifying the issue.

The second room was right off the lobby, with all windows facing the front porch. None of the curtains closed completely, so you felt as though you were "on display" to whoever walked on the porch. None of the windows had screens and there was no A/C ... needless to say, there were many bugs and moths flying in when we opened the windows to get air in the room. The bathroom toilet had not been cleaned nor had the sink even been rinsed of old toothpaste! Blech! There was no way in heck we were going barefoot in this room, and it had nothing to do with the broken bathroom floor tile that we kept tripping on either. (we kept piecing it back in place)

Granted, there is never any place like your own bed, but this was the absolute first time in over 40 years of traveling where we completely unable to sleep. The bed was big, yes, but was damp and smelled damp!

The best part of the staying here was being able to share our experience with our friends who own an Inn just a mere 3 miles down the road, letting them know they have NO competition with this place at all. (we were unable to stay at their beautiful Inn due to the fact they were actually getting married there and had all their family staying in their guest rooms ... hence the reason for our visit up north)

It's a shame that the owners are not reading and taking to heart all of these reviews because they could potentially be running a beautiful place, but instead they keep copying/pasting their same comment on to each review. Actions speak louder than words ;)

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
7  Thank debs6266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bondville
8.6 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
661 reviews
2.4 mi away
Black Bear Lodge
Black Bear Lodge
#2 of 3 in Stratton Mountain
162 reviews
9.9 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
3.9 mi away
Bromley View Inn
Bromley View Inn
#1 of 4 in Bondville
169 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cold Moon Farm Bed & Breakfast LLC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone's Lodge under Stratton Mtn.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone's Lodge under Stratton Mtn.

Address: 1 River Road, Bondville, VT 05340
Region: United States > Vermont > Bondville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bondville
Price Range: £57 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stone's Lodge under Stratton Mtn. 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
(Currently closed for renovations.) Property Amenities: Stone's Lodge under Mt. Stratton features multilingual staff, individually designed rooms & the restaurant. For a surcharge, an airport shuttle is available to guests. This Bondville lodge also offers express check-in and a pool table. Business services and wedding services can be provided. Onsite parking is complimentary. Stone's Lodge under Mt. Stratton is a smoke-free property. * Business services * Billiards or pool table * Airport transportation (surcharge) * Pool table * Number of rooms: 20 * Number of floors: 2 * Parking (surcharge) * Banquet facilities * Express check- in * Multilingual staff * Parking (free) * Year Built 1974 * Smoke-free property * Number of buildings/towers 1 * Wedding services. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stone`s Lodge Under Stratton Mtn. Hotel Bondville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing