We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value - No Ritz Carlton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stone's Lodge under Stratton Mtn.
Ranked #4 of 4 Bondville B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 January 2014

If you are pampered New Yorker and expect the Ritz Carlton you should not even think of staying here.
On the other hand, if you are looking for an inexpensive place to stay that is just a few minutes from Stratton mountain, it’s a very cute option.
There are 20 rooms and each one is different. Beds and linens are very comfortable – Towels are on par with Holiday inn (at best) and won’t make around your waist if you are more than 34 inches. Rooms are cheaply but adequately furnished. Bathrooms are outdated but functional.
Yana the European hostess is charming and all the staff are warm and friendly.
Walls are thin and if you have some newlyweds staying next to you, you might get a little free entertainment. We had no trouble sleeping and found the place was pretty quiet by 10pm
Breakfast at the connecting Fat Spy restaurant was included. They have a great selection of local beers and dinners and appetizers were very good.
Bottom line – it’s not glamorous but its clean, friendly and convenient and probably 1/3 the price of other places

Room Tip: Video of each room available on hotel web site
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 96 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
12
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for three nights with girlfriends. While we weren't expecting much, it was pretty awful. The property itself isn't bad, but the management is terrible.

Pros:
-room was somewhat clean - except the comforter has no duvet cover and smelled a bit; and the sheet had a cigarette burn on it.
- decor was ok, but a bit weird
- about 10 min drive to Stratton
- Yana's little white dog is cute

Cons:
- shower is tortuous; either scalding or freezing.
- no one cleans the room even with the "please clean" sign on door
- after promising a rolling cot, we were provided with an air mattress with manual pump that had holes in it; they gave us electrical tape to try and fix it but we couldn't find all the holes. So, my friend slept on the floor on a slowly deflating mattress for one night. Yana did refund us $20 for our inconvenience (by check) upon checkout and provided a cot for last two nights.
- the breakfast was in an unheated restaurant that started after the ski slope opened, which is very inconvenient if you plan to ski. Also, we (along with several other guests) had to wake them up to try get it. We gave up. If you miss breakfast - Bob's diner is excellent!
- unplowed parking lot and driveway
- vending machines all broken
- loud drunken neighbors

All in all, we were not very happy even though we didn't expect much.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

My husband and I visited this hotel in November as part of a weekend getaway to the mountains (for hiking, etc.). We only stayed here one night (and were very glad for that)! The front desk staff was nice, and the location is very convenient, but the positives (if you're expecting a B&B or hotel-like atmosphere, stop there). The hotel had no heat while we were there (though there was snow on the ground). The walls are *paper thin* so we could hear every cough, sniffle, hiccup, and SNORE from the room next door (not a pleasant evening). And the decor is fairly outdated and/or in disrepair (e.g., stains in the carpet, 1960s bathrooms, towels with frayed ends, etc.). Breakfast was very simple but adequate. We got a special for our 1-night stay so the room rate was something like ~$50. For that price, my general advice on this place is to re-frame your expectations to "hostel" like accommodations (which is about right for $50) vs. hotel-like, and you'll probably feel like this place about holds up. If you pay anything more than that and/or expect anything more than that, you're going to be disappointed!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claw202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

If you like New England style Inn, this is the right place to stay. My friend and I were surprised with a room with fire place near the bed. You can't get more cozy and romantic than sleeping watching the fire at the fireplace. The Mattress was nice and comfortable.

Hotel also has a grand piano and a steak house. With homemade breakfast before check out leaves a nice sweetness for our trip.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This hotel is falling apart around itself. The outside siding and roof are dirty and falling apart. The rooms are old and dusty mostly unfinished very tacky finishing.and half painted as are the hallways. They painted around the things they didn’t feel like moving or painting beside like the toilet and the towel bars, and the ceiling was half painted over. outdated showers and tubs and unfinished carpets at the doorways and in the halls. We were there for three days and housekeeping didn’t come in once! Anyone who says this is a wonderful stay has obviously never stayed at a half decent hotel and doesn't know what clean is! This hotel needs to be bulldozed and rebuilt, it is A BATTLE THAT CAN’T BE WON. Other peoples reviews on this site make me doubt the validity of trip advisor, not sure I can trust it any more.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I surprised my husband with an overnight in Vermont at Stone's Lodge. I was a bit nervous after reading the reviews (after I had booked the room) but our experience was INCREDIBLE! We stayed in the "Pearl" room. The room was clean and cozy. It came with an HDTV, full sized bed with down comforter and amazing, king sized down pillows, private bath and a fireplace! We had a lovely fire that night, and enjoyed every second we spent at the inn. The staff was very hospitable and sweet. The room was warm and inviting. The area was wonderful. We spent some time exploring the building before bed, and it was a lovely little labyrinth of staircases, and jewel themed room names. The porch is expansive and lit along the rail, we even had the opportunity to dine at the restaurant. We got a "secret code" to receive 10% off since we were guests at the inn, and my husband enjoyed a microbew available at the restaurants bar to go with his late lunch. In the morning, breakfast is served. We had pancakes (mine with seasonal fruit -apples, and my husband's with chocolate chips) there were other breakfast options as well, basic, but perfect. We left EXTREMELY satisfied, and actually have a friend surprising HER significant other with a trip out to Stone's Lodge this coming weekend after she heard what a marvelous time we had! (I hope she gets a room with a fireplace--that's what really sold her;))

Room Tip: Ask for a fireplace room, there are several available per their website! If you do stay in the &quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

It certainly was a good hotel for us as a family, there are not many comfortable hotels suitable for a family with two older children at a reasonable price.
The reception was warm and pleasant, and gave a friendly feeling, and informal.
The room was nice and clean.
The breakfast was good, and adds a lot.
Certainly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caylus2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Stone's Lodge under Stratton Mtn.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone's Lodge under Stratton Mtn.

Address: 1 River Road, Bondville, VT 05340
Region: United States > Vermont > Bondville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bondville
Price Range: £54 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stone's Lodge under Stratton Mtn. 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
(Currently closed for renovations.) Property Amenities: Stone's Lodge under Mt. Stratton features multilingual staff, individually designed rooms & the restaurant. For a surcharge, an airport shuttle is available to guests. This Bondville lodge also offers express check-in and a pool table. Business services and wedding services can be provided. Onsite parking is complimentary. Stone's Lodge under Mt. Stratton is a smoke-free property. * Business services * Billiards or pool table * Airport transportation (surcharge) * Pool table * Number of rooms: 20 * Number of floors: 2 * Parking (surcharge) * Banquet facilities * Express check- in * Multilingual staff * Parking (free) * Year Built 1974 * Smoke-free property * Number of buildings/towers 1 * Wedding services. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stone`s Lodge Under Stratton Mtn. Hotel Bondville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing