We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family-friendly, cosy & tasty stop close to Stratton Mtn.”
Review of Red Fox Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Red Fox Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Bondville
Price range: US$8 - US$48
Cuisines: American, French, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A hidden gem in the Green Mountains of Vermont. Breath-taking views, known for our live music, homemade food, desserts and welcoming staff. Premiere entertainment from New Orleans to New York, California to Ireland... Come find what you've been looking for!
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Family-friendly, cosy & tasty stop close to Stratton Mtn.”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We were staying at the Stratton Mountain resort in off-season. A communication mix-up meant that we arrived at the hotel after 7pm to find out there were no restaurant facilities that evening, which was v frustrating with 2 young children. A member of staff recommended the Red Fox Inn (in fact, she was headed there with friends and colleagues now that she was off-duty) and we went off. The atmosphere and service was cosy and friendly, the food was good and the staff were great with our kids, keeping them happy and entertained. Quite happy to adapt dishes for kids too. All in all, a great little find just off the Mountain.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Murphy1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    18
    6
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, California
1 review
“Burgers OK, Service, YUK”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Stopped w friends who bragged about this place, well, Burgers were ok, tasted like aged beef,[spoiled maybe] the entertainment was great [owner @ the bar drinking maybe] the service staff, well inept, rude, inexperienced, maybe the owner daughter or ?
There are better places for food, but for the entertainment and shows performed by the locals, spot on, not!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludlow, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Try the chocolate cake!”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We came during ski season, so the place was busy and service was a little slow- but we had very good burgers for only $5 each, and the flour-less chocolate cake was to die for!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmora, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice place to eat”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Good food and good value near Straton Mountain and near by resorts. We had a nice dinner after a day of snow skiing.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarsdale, NY
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food - nasty service”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

I gave this restaurant an "average" rating since the good food balances out the lousy service My family has been dining upstairs at the Red Fox for over 30 years. The food is consistently good --fresh, inventive, varied, delicious. The atmosphere is pure Vermont--casual, cozy, warm by the fireplace... If only the service lived up to the food and atmosphere, i would have easily rated this "excellent". However server "A" barely broke a smile, refused to give our picky eater daughter French fries instead of mashed potatoes, and added a 20% tip on the AFTER TAX total. It was no wonder she didn't even try to be pleasing, knowing full well her tip was secure.

We have encountred the french fry problem before. The kids menu (which is spoken, not written) offers mashed potatoes on the side. French fries are a staple downstairs in the bar, which incidentally uses the same kitchen as the dining room. Some servers in the past don't balk at our request to substitute French fries for mashed potatoes, but "A" told us in no uncertain terms, that she has worked there for seven years and she has NEVER allowed fries to be substitued for mashed potatoes. We have had more friendly and accommodating servers in the past who have had no problem with this request.

The manager was at least slightly apologetic and explained that if we had French fries then everybody else would want the same. I had to ask, if everybody wants the same, WHY NOT OFFER IT TO BEGIN WITH? It makes no sense at all!

If you can tolerate rude, unfriendly service, then it is quite a good dining experience. Incidentally, the men who brought us the food, refilled our water glasses and bussed the tables were very nice. When you go, just request that y not be seated in server "A''s section.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Fox Inn also viewed

Stratton Mountain, VT
Manchester, Green Mountains
 
Stratton Mountain, VT
 

Been to Red Fox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing