We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved this place!”
Review of Alpenrose Inn

Alpenrose Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bondville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alpenrose Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Bondville B&B and Inns
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“We loved this place!”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We stayed a week end at the alpenrose because we wanted to ski in Stratton, we plan to arrive around 2 am and Annie and David were amazing with checking with us and making sure that it will be very easy for us to settle down even so late. The homemade breakfast was awesome and also all the bake goods that they were offering were fantastic. We did use the pool and ping pong table which were a great and unexpected addition to their wonderful home. They also took care of our lift tickets which were very easy to get at the resort. We loved this place and Annie and David are two lovely hosts. I will go back without hesitation!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
16
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Grove, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We have been coming to the Alpenrose Inn for seven years and have always felt like we were family! The atmosphere and hospitality are beyond compare! One short stay and you'll be a regular! It's the BEST!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethel, New York
1 review
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We have found our Vermont home away from home!

We first visited the Alpen Rose Inn October 2010 when we ventured to Vermont to hike a portion of the Appalachian Trail. Our initial inquiry for lodging was full, and in true Vermont style, they referred us to Annie and Dave's! We are forever grateful.

We have been back four times and look forward to continuing our visits for years to come. Even trying to get the family to join us! Whether we arrive from the road, the trail or the ski slopes we are greeted by a warm fire, incredible hospitality and a coziness that really can only be compared to home. In fact, the last two visits, by accident - but really quite naturally, we walked through the doors withour gear and announced, "We're home."

We so enjoy fireside chats with Annie, Dave and even sometimes their son Kiernan accompanied by a nice red wine and snacks. We make ourselves comfortable with a book, a game, or writing our Christmas cards. Breakfast is home made - often locally sourced and accompanied by great coffee and lively morning conversations.

Thank you Annie and Dave for all that you do to make our time in Vermont so special!

Bill and Denise
Bethel, NY

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Alpenrose was truly a fortuitous discovery. Several years ago Stratton Mountain Resort had no rooms available for a holiday weekend, and on a whim, I asked the Stratton booking representative if she could recommend anywhere to stay in the nearby area. She recommended Alpenrose, and I've never looked back. It's now been three or four years and I will never stay anywhere other than Alpenrose while skiing in the nearby area, including at Stratton's resort.

The delightful proprietors, Anne and David, welcome their guests to their inn with hospitality that resembles a homecoming, and their wish that their guests be comfortable and enjoy their stay is evident. There's always a warm fire burning during the winter months, David will insist on helping you carry your bags in from the car, and nothing can compare to Anne's home-cooked meals. In the mornings, Anne's hot breakfast ensures a great start to a day on the slopes, David has shoveled out and dusted guests' cars free of the snow, and it's a delight to slip on ski boots freshly warmed and dried overnight in the entrance way dryers. In the evenings, Anne's kitchen produces all kinds of delicious dishes that somehow manage to qualify as both healthy AND comfort food. Don't make the mistake of going out for dinner instead of indulging in Anne's cooking; I only made that mistake once (at the Red Fox Inn for a noisy, crowded, and hour-long wait to eat dinner).

Quite honestly, Alpenrose is the nearest thing to home you can imagine while traveling. Even though I come to the area to ski, staying at Alpenrose has become a huge part of the enjoyment of my ski trips to Vermont. After a day of skiing, it's highlight of every trip to settle in front of the fireplace in my slippers (just like you would at home!) to chat with other guests, read a book, and indulge in pre-dinner hors d'oeuvres. Now, after several years of staying at Alpenrose, David and Anne greet us with heartfelt hugs upon arrival. In years past, David has shared his family's ski helmets with us, Anne has set up a special dinner table for me in a quiet location when I've suffered from migraines, and on our most recent visit, when the inn was already completely booked for a holiday, at no small sacrifice to their own personal comfort, David and Anne found room for us to stay at Alpenrose.

If you're looking for marble floors and room service, then book a room at a Ritz-Carlton. If you're looking for home-like comfort and hospitality for a great value, then book at Alpenrose Inn. The inn is clean and comfortable with separate space for both parents and kids to relax beyond the confines of a hotel room. And the inn is only a mile or so from the access road to Stratton.

So absolutely look no further than Alpenrose when considering a place to stay near Bondville, VT -- unless it's a winter holiday weekend, in which case I need to be sure there's a room for me!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCEscapist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We just finished our second stay with Annie and David, in their cozy inn. We plan to visit their inn every year! It is odd to find a "kid friendly" bed and breakfast, but the Alpenrose is just that. My children are so comfortable with Annie and David that they often wake up before us and head downstairs to chat with Anne while she is at work in the kitchen. Just this evening, my 4 1/2 year old son was on the phone with my mother and he said, "you should come skiing with us so that you can meet Annie. She is the nicest lady in the whole world and she'll make you whatever you want for breakfast." This past weekend we played our first game of family scrabble, sitting in front of the warm wood stove in one of the sitting rooms. It was heavenly.
The inn is clean, warm, and so very comfortable. You go to bed smelling the bread that will be on the table the next morning, and wake up to the smell of bacon and coffee. Anne is an exceptional cook. I have described the inn as kid-friendly, and it is, but at the same time it is totally quiet and peaceful. It is a sweet retreat. I would recommend this inn to anyone!.... ranging from a family with small children, to a family with teenage skiers, or to a couple seeking relaxation and excellent company. It's a gem.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Lyme, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Last minute Christmas search for snow and found a room here at this special spot! Anne and David, Inn keepers. made every aspect of the stay exceptional. From a warm welcome and their insistence on carrying our bags up to our room, to warm fires, kids play/game room, several rooms to relax in, we found a comfortable and relaxing surprise of a get-away! Anne is an exceptional chef and cooks a wonderful meal, started with cocktails and appetizers, then wonderful wines with dinner, fun conversation and just a quality evening hard to find elsewhere!
A very quiet room was wonderful for being close to the stairs and the kitchen action, very soundproof and private. We will certainly return to this beautifully decorated Inn, with every attention to detail give by Anne and David. A must visit!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

This is a lovely Inn with approximatly 10 rooms. The Inn keepers Anne and David will make sure you get a relaxing rest. Anne, who used to own a restaurant in Connecticut, cooks delicious meals on a cold winter evening, and a hearty breakfast to prepare you for a day on the slopes.
A former barn with new additions, the Inn allows for cozy retreats into one of the 4 sitting areas, one of them with fireplace. Large dining tables invite families to share meals and conversation. For children there is a separate TV area and a game room. Children feel welcomed and independent in this setting.

The Inn is located on a less frequented but well maintained road. It is conveniently located between several skiing areas, and not far from various restaurants and the shopping town of Manchester. Walking trails and cross country skiing is accessible from the house.

In short: we had a great time.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rori_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bondville
3.6 mi away
Black Bear Lodge
Black Bear Lodge
#2 of 3 in Stratton Mountain
3.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
7.3 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
7.2 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Bromley View Inn
Bromley View Inn
#1 of 4 in Bondville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
3.7 mi away
Long Trail House
Long Trail House
#1 of 4 in Stratton Mountain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
5.0 mi away
Cold Moon Farm Bed & Breakfast LLC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenrose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenrose Inn

Property: Alpenrose Inn
Address: Winhall Hollow Road, Bondville, VT 05340
Region: United States > Vermont > Bondville
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bondville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing