We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feels Like Home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alpenrose Inn

Alpenrose Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bondville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alpenrose Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Bondville B&B and Inns
Ridgefield, Connecticut
1 review
“Feels Like Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

We've been bringing our boys to the Alpenrose for 6 years now. We don't stay anywhere else. Dave and Annie are people we consider friends first, innkeepers second. They are simply some of the best human beings you will run across in this life. And the Inn is great for everyone, lots of common space. You meet new friends every time you come. People are made to feel welcome by the other guests, especially those of us that make this our Vermont home. I almost hate to recommend it so highly because I always want there to be a room for us. I guess we'll have to book early!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
16
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

Alpenrose Inn is a pleasant and hospitable place to stay. Annie and David are warm hosts. She serves a breakfast completely made to order, including local eggs and smokehouse bacon. The inn has many common area amenities, including many interesting books, a video viewing room and a generous, new parlor to relax in. Password-free WiFi was available in the room. (Just be sure you understand your room rate, since the web site doesn’t publicize them.)

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank henrynhct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Me and my Fiancée had plans to go to Vermont for the weekend. We had made reservations for a different B&B and were very excited to get up there and enjoy ourselves. We got up there a little before the check in time so we went and saw The Lincoln Family house in nearby Manchester. What a great way to spend the afternoon! So we get to our scheduled B&B and were unfortunately told that there had been an accident in our room and another room. At that point we were wondering if we weren't going to have anywhere to stay. The innkeeper told us they had set us up at a very nearby B&B and how sorry they were for the inconvenience. We headed back out to find where they had sent us. What a great surprise! Alpenrose was a fantastic substitute. We were so grateful to Annie and David for taking us in! She greeted us the minute we arrived in the driveway. We got in and had a great tour of the house. And got to meet Niles the cat. Such a sweet and cuddly cat! He also accompanied us on our tour. It was very clean and inviting and smelled fantastic. Our room was a very nice size and had a lovely fireplace that made the room extra cozy on a cold and windy night. She gave us excellent recommendations for dinner and left us with a pitcher of cold water.

In the morning we were greeted with an amazing breakfast! Homemade pumpkin spiced bread and delicious sweet butter and coffee to start. We were than given many options as to what we wanted for breakfast. We decided on French toast and bacon. The bacon was local and very crispy and full of flavor. The French toast was very moist and delicious and served with local Vermont maple syrup. Over breakfast we had a great chat with Annie and David about the inn and also recipes and food. They even made us a copy for a brownie recipe.

What could of turned into an awful weekend, quickly turned into a fantastic weekend. So many thanks to Annie and David taking us in and being so wonderful. Would recommend this place to anyone and we will totally be coming back again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guilderland, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

My two cousins and I were looking for a place to stay in Vermont to initiate our first reunion together since our teenage years. We were looking for a quiet home like environment to share some old memories and begin to make new ones. We also planned on enjoying the beauty and history of Vermont during the fall season. From Manchester to Weston Vt, Alpenrose was within easy reach of our desired locations. Stratton mountain is just around the corner for great skiing in the winter along with plenty of other areas to hike or ride a bike. Upon our arrival the first evening we noticed the outside air was so crisp and clean with a clear view of The Milky Way. Anne and David made us feel right at home. They were always readily available to meet our needs and we never felt like out privacy was intruded upon. The rooms were nicely decorated with a country feel along with the more modern necessities of flat screen TV, and internet connections. All rooms have a private bathroom which was a very important need for the ladies. Most rooms are on the second floor so know that there are some stairs involved. There is a large guest room on the main floor ( Ethan Allen room) that is great for those with any degree of handicaps. i.e., bad knees, hips, or recent leg break from skiing : ) Anne is a great cook and provided a hearty country styled breakfast as part of our stay. We even talked her into a share of her special Vermont oatmeal to take home with us. Eggs are fresh off the farm and everything was so delicious. She was very flexible with whatever time you desired to get up. Always plenty of serve yourself tea, coffee, and coco available in the dining area any time of the day. There was no pressure from them to stick to any tight time schedule. The abundant amount of common area allowed for plenty of opportunities to hang out comfortably and relax. Wether it be the beauty of the sunroom with the great view of the outside along with the deck to the warm and cozy room at the other end with a warm fire being tended to in the fire place. There is a game room but we never got around to use it but sure it would have added to the fun. Will save that for our next visit! All in all our experience at Alpenrose was very special to us and will never be forgotten. Thank you Anne and David for making this one of our MTE ( mountain top experience) moments. You have found a forever place in our hearts!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MagQT732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

My fiancée and I were looking for a place to stay on a recent road trip we decided to take. The Alpenrose Inn caught our eye on Tripadvisor as you rarely see a place with so many positive reviews, absent negative ones; the Alpenrose lives up to the great reviews.

The Inn itself is very roomy yet maintains a home away from home feel. It is kept very clean and amply decorated with skies, snowshoes and fishing rods, all sports that can be accomplished in proximity of the inn. The inn has a number of games to play, a game room, a TV room, a wood stove, books accessible for the guests etc.

David and Annie are excellent hosts. They are extremely friendly and are a pleasure to converse with. My fiancée has some dietary restrictions which Annie gladly and expertly catered to, thus allowing us to have an incredibly enjoyable expeience. Considering my fiancées dietary restrictions, the pleasent company provided by the innkeepers David & Annie, and Annie's great cooking, it was an easy choice to supper with them every night.

We travelled with our extremely well behaved dog. Annie and David were able to accomodate us in a pet friendly room. Alice, our dog, was welcomed with open arms by all at the Inn. She got to play in the yard and run around in the woods connected to the Inn's backyard (Woodford state park). She even got to meet a new friend, the cuddly inn cat, Niles.

We met a number of returning guests while at the inn (in fact, we were the only first timers; a testament to the enjoyable experience).

All in all, we highly recommend staying here, even I just passing through. We hope to return again soon!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaidan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

Innkeepers Anne and David have created the perfect place for guests to stay who are vacationing in VT, no matter what season. Anne and David are absolutely wonderful people and do everything possible to accommodate their guests and any requests. Anne's meals are delicious, plentiful and she glady accommodates special dietary needs. Ski boot dryers are available to get you ready for the next day on the slopes, the common areas and rec areas are relaxing and inviting. The rooms are clean and comfortable. It truly is "home away from home". You can't go wrong staying at the Alpenrose!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mamabarb51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

Innkeepers Anne and David have created a "jewel" for a getaway vacation. Regardless, if we're there for fabulous skiing on Stratton Mtn or picturesque endless hiking in the woods during the summer, these hosts personally attend to your every needs. As others have noted, one gets a feeling of what "home" should be: 1. unbelievable cuisine - for the complimentary breakfast or the reasonably priced, epicurean delights that are served for dinners; 2. comfortable beds and well appointed rooms; 3. personal attention and help with one's activities itinery and needs; and 4. best of all, great common areas to relax, sip wine and meet new "friends"!
We've been here at least 10 times already throughout the past three years - we join the many "regulars" we meet each time we stay. Thanks for creating this unequaled "home away from home".

Room Tip: Each room has it's own unique characteristic - the hosts will help you choose the best room for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WhoopeeLG523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bondville
3.6 mi away
Black Bear Lodge
Black Bear Lodge
#2 of 3 in Stratton Mountain
3.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
7.3 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 15 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
7.2 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#3 of 15 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Bromley View Inn
Bromley View Inn
#1 of 4 in Bondville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
3.7 mi away
Long Trail House
Long Trail House
#1 of 4 in Stratton Mountain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
3.6 mi away
No photo provided
Vantage Point Condominiums
#4 of 4 in Stratton Mountain
3.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenrose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenrose Inn

Property: Alpenrose Inn
Address: Winhall Hollow Road, Bondville, VT 05340
Region: United States > Vermont > Bondville
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bondville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing