We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast is important if you run B&B”
Review of Bromley View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bromley View Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Bondville B&B and Inns
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Breakfast is important if you run B&B”
Reviewed 10 March 2009

We have stayed at the Bromley View Inn for a few days in January 2009. It was bitterly cold outside and very toasty inside, perhaps a tad too toasty during the night, there was no way to turn the heat down, so we slept with an open window. The room was comfortable, a little small and clean, the host nice and accomodating. Also, I gather it is a good place to come with a dog. However my main problem with this B&B is that some people tend to forget that breakfast makes about 50% of B&B's reputation. Here the breakfast is not bad, a bit smallish and frugal, albeit tasty (a choice of pancakes or scramble), but would it kill them to put some butter, milk and jam on the tables? I can survive on their breakfast, but it just looks not very hospitable. I understand the times are hard, but this is business, and I for one, next time perhaps will choose some other place. Because the breakfast was on the disappointing side. Too bad, because the breakfast room has a killer view.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowball-15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    41
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
44
78
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, RI
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2009

My husband, 5-year-old daughter, and I stayed here for three nights in early January. It was the most relaxing, enjoyable experience!!

Our room was quite spacious, very pretty, and toasty warm with a gas burning fireplace. Breakfasts were so delicious and filling. Innkeepers Kami and Kevin are fabulous!! They bent over backwards to make sure that we were happy, comfortable, and well-fed! We were sad to leave and can't wait for our next visit!

  • Liked — Great gathering room - bar/pool table/reading area/TV and delicious breakfasts!
  • Disliked — No complaints!
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BLB100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bkmb1014
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2008

We recently had an ice storm in MA and were without power for 3 days. With no heat and boredom setting in we decided to escape for a little skiing (and some much needed electricity). From the moment we walked in Kami and Kevin were soooo nice and welcoming to us, we felt like with were staying at a relative’s home! The dogs made it even homier. We are huge doggie fans, so perhaps we are a little biased. We left our dogs at home with a neighbor who has a generator. We didn't realize the inn was dog friendly or we would have brought them with us. As to those reviewers who say the dogs had free range, they can’t possibly be talking about the same place we stayed in! We commented so many times about how well behaved the dogs were. When we were in the lounge they were completely unobtrusive but they more than welcomed the belly rubs. While at breakfast the dogs not once crossed the threshold to the room. They patiently sat outside the breakfast area quietly. Our dogs,,, well let’s just say they aren’t as well trained. We love them to pieces, but they would be sitting outside the room whimpering. If you’re looking for a quiet place to stay where you feel welcomed and at home, give this inn a try… we will definitely be coming back and with our doggies!

Thank you for making us feel so welcomed when we needed it the most!

  • Liked — Friendly, home-like atmosphere
  • Disliked — No hot-tub for after skiing- single person in room doesn't count. Would have stayed longer if available
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bkmb1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2008

We enjoyed our stay very much. We have traveled alot and we were very please with the cleanest of accomodations ever. Love animals so enjoyed their well behaved canines. I recommend this Inn to all. The innkeepers are very accomodating and professional. Very quiet place to enjoy your stay. Will go again and have told all our friends including the staff at the radio station at WBZA, the Buzz in Rochester, New York.

The Goranowskis
Williamson, New York

  • Liked — Very Clean and they have a Bar Lounge
  • Disliked — Can't think of a thing
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlpwilliamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2008

We stayed here for a quilting retreat. First off they over booked the retreat, so 2 of us had no space to work, while others took up a table and then some. Disappointed with the sewing accomodations we went to bed. A few minutes after we went to bed we were awoken by BED BUGS! Yikes! The Inn keepers, Kevin and Kami, moved us to another room. which was beautiful, but not too clean. Pubic hairs in the bathroom, dead flies on the floor. We really wanted to leave, but it was 2 AM.
The food was excellent, but the place needs updating. 3 large dogs have free range, another Yuck in my opinion. The housekeeper was insulted when we pointed out all the hair and bugs. She was nasty. We later found out that they had deluxe accomdations on the bottom floor, why they didn't give us one of those rooms to start with I'll never understand. I think the Inn keepers are nice, just not savvy on how to handle a bad situation. I also felt that we were not compensated enough for the 2 nights of lost sleep. We were still chanrged for the sewing class even though we couldn't sew, due to lack of space, and lack of sleep. Book else where if possible.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — Bed Bugs
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cthompson321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BromleyViewInn, Owner/Innkeeper at Bromley View Inn, responded to this review, 17 October 2008
We just wanted to set the record straight. This guest did stay with us in October 2007. Unfortunately, we did have a problem with bugs in our rooms. We are located in the mountains of Vermont and had recently purchased this building out of foreclosure. We have been working hard with Orkin Pest Control and have brought all of our pest issues under control. We have also taken larger steps and have replaced all carpets, mattresses, and furnishings in our guest rooms.

As for customer service, we refunded these three women their full weekend fee, including two nights lodging, two breakfasts, two lunches, and two dinners. Unfortunately, we could not refund the instructors fee for the quilting class, as we were not the instructor. The rest of the guests during this quilters weekend are returning in a few weeks for our 2nd Annual Quilters Weekend. So things couldn't have been that bad with the class layout.

As for the dogs having Free Reign, this is a fallacy. We do have three retired guide dogs living at the Inn. This is very apparent on our website. These dogs are well trained and are allowed in two areas of the Inn, the main hall and the guest lounge. They are NEVER in the dining room or any guest rooms.

We work very hard on making sure that everyone's experience is a great one. Unfortunately, we are human and sometimes things happen that is out of our control. We have done everything we can to make sure that we can provide a safe, clean, comfortable environment for our guests. Our other reviews show the response to the steps that we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe NY
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2008

My husband and I stayed at this charming Inn on June 7th while visiting friends in Bondville. Kevin and Kami are the owners. We only met Kevin as Kami was in Massachusetts helping with the birth of a new alpaca. There are four gelded male alpacas at the inn along with three very well behaved dogs. The alpacas are beautiful animals and we enjoyed watching Kevin feed & water them. We only stayed one night but the accommodations were very nice. We booked the Green Mountain Suite that had a very comfy bed, Jacuzzi tub with shower, table and two chairs. The best part of all was Kevin’s breakfast; a mixture of oatmeal, yogurt, dried fruit and of course Vt. maple syrup. That alone would have been plenty but then came the blueberry pancakes with bacon. We love to eat but couldn’t finish it all. The Inn is spotless. They have a very nice “common” room that is also a bar/lounge in the evening. We will definitely be back and look forward to meeting Kami on the next trip. This part of Vermont is very beautiful. From the deck of the inn you look at Bromley Mountain and just 10-15 minutes away is Stratton Mountain. I wish this couple success, good health and happiness in the future. They definitely deserve it.

  • Liked — Kevin's breakfast and the view
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMaurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights during the '07/'08 ski season because of it's proximity to Stratton. This place is a good compromise between location relative to skiing and price. There's very few in this price range in the area. But that's when the positives stop.

In order to not bore you, I will list the negatives instead of writing them in sentences.

1. Owner's were not very hospital, all business.
2. Condition of the inn is poor. It is badly in need of a renovation. All wall finishes that we saw were in terrible condition. The ceiling in our room had water spots all over and was sagging. It was not very comfortable.
3. Bad plumbing. Again, it needs a renovation.
4. BUGS, BUGS, BUGS. We must have killed over 2 dozen flies and at least 1 spider. I am not joking.
5. Housekeeping was clearly there just to do the bare minimum.
6. Breakfast was basic but it did its job.

In summary, this inn is only good for one purpose, relatively cheap accommodations near the ski resorts. If you only need a shower and a bed, this would work. Next time, we will pay a bit more and stay on mountain. We've learned our lesson.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Disliked — Accommodation
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tla719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bondville
5.2 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
620 reviews
5.0 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 16 in Manchester
235 reviews
7.1 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Lodge at Bromley
Lodge at Bromley
#1 of 2 in Peru
139 reviews
6.0 mi away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#7 of 16 in Manchester
324 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Upper Pass Lodge
The Upper Pass Lodge
#1 of 4 in Londonderry
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bromley View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bromley View Inn

Property: Bromley View Inn
Address: 522 Vt Route 30, Bondville, VT 05340-9719
Region: United States > Vermont > Bondville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bondville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bromley View Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Bromley View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bromley View Hotel Bondville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing