We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast in town”
Review of The Gazebo Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brandon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Gazebo Inn
Ranked #3 of 10 Brandon B&B and Inns
Westford, VT
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in town”
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I loved the beautiful old Vermont Victorian house with its lovely antiques and theme rooms . Very clean, good AC if needed, and quaint decorating. Best of all, however, is the fantastic breakfast that the Hostess, Donna, prepares each morning. Even a small snack ready at tea time for those interested. Great conversations and hospitality.and enjoyed the artsy town of Brandon.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank decoratorWestford_VT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
36
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Williamstown, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Donna, the owner, greeted me as soon as I pulled in. She opened the door, and said, "Are you Beth?" She welcomed me right in with my bags, had me sign the guest book and led me to the Lilac Room. It was neat and clean and decorated in true Victorian New England style. She made reservations for my colleague and me at a local restaurant, and when I returned to my room, I was touched to find the shades drawn and the bed turned down.

Breakfast was amazing! She greeted me right away with coffee, which I sipped while strolling around her beautiful gardens-in-progress. She then served blueberry pancakes with real Vermont maple syrup, gorgeous, ripe, fruit salad, yogurt, granola, bacon, and orange juice.

The Gazebo Inn is the perfect, quintessential New England B&B, and Donna is a world-class hostess and an amazing cook with wonderful stories to tell. Thank you, Donna, for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuts4pacas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenside, PA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2011

When we arrrived at the inn on a very hot Saturday afternoon, we were met by Donna, the owner, who gave us a welcome smile and a dish of freshly sliced watermelon. We were then shown to our lovely rooms.

Our six night stay at the inn could not have been more pleasant. The food was well prepared and served in an attractive setting. We enjoyed Donna's company so much that at times we remained long after our breakfasts for wonderful conversations that almost made us late for our classes in town!

Donna took notice of our individual needs and went out of her way to see that we wanted for nothing.

We look forward to returning to the Gazebo for another week next year!

Room Tip: One room is on the first floor which would be handy for someone who has difficulty climbing staird.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jedunham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saugerties, New York
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2011

Over the Christmas holiday my husband and I decided to have a short
getaway to Vermont from our home in New York. The TripAdvisor reviews
indicated there would be a warm, inviting place to stay at The Gazebo
Inn in quaint Brandon. The review was right on the mark. We were just
charmed by the lovely home with wide-wood pumpkin pine floors, fine antiques
and original art. We spent most of our down time in the library by the
woodstove fire.

Our room was so cozy. The Sheer Lilac Room has its own staircase,
separate bedroom,dressing room, and marble-floored bathroom. Again the coziness was felt as we were enclosed in a down featherbed, comforter, and pillows. The evening turn-down service was such a treat after a long day of cross-country skiing.

Food offerings consisted of being served coffee and pumpkin bread outside
our door at 7a.m., a fabulous breakfast to begin our winter day, and an
assortment of afternoon tea offerings. I especially enjoyed the maple scones. We had dinner in town at Cafe Provence- yummy!

We're returning in a few weeks for another winter getaway, this time
trying the other queen room called the Cinnamon Silk Suite.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYtraveler1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Saybrook, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2011

Innkeeper, Donna Taylor, has created a unique and inviting nest in a lovely quintessentially Vermont town. We were there in early November and enjoyed her hospitality and good advice for making the most of our weekend.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheilamcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2010

I'm surprised this B&B is #1 in Brandon...we stayed there based on ratings and I was a bit disappointed. The outside appearance is run down...the house needs a new paint job and the garden needed some TLC. The inside rooms felt like they needed to be refreshed...I know it is supposed to have the quaint antique feel, but it didn't quite have that charm...it felt like it needed an uplift. The innkeeper Donna was very hospitable...quite chatty...and a great cook...she tried her best to make our stay there nice. I think for the price I would stay elsewhere...if she lowered her room rates, it may be worth it...not the best B&B I've stayed at and not the worst....

One gem in Brandon is the Cafe Provence - a MUST if you are passing through this small town.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrvlBoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2010

We didn't know what to expect, as we had never stayed in a small Historic Inn. But the Gazebo Inn surpassed all our expectations. We stayed in the Rose Velvet room, which of course had a rose theme, including rose towels, rose hand lotion, and just about everything else decorated with roses. So lovely, so cozy. The quilts on the bed were super comfortable and though it's an old property, there seem to be strong walls, as we didn't hear any other guests while we were in our room. Everything was clean and ready upon our arrival. Another great feature is the friendliness and hospitality of the Owner, Donna. She welcomed us as we arrived and provided a scrumptious, homemade and nutritious breakfast, served at a super elegant table. We would definitely return to this property if we are in the Middlebury/Brandon area.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RRK41003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brandon
14.2 mi away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
224 reviews
15.1 mi away
Middlebury Inn
Middlebury Inn
#1 of 3 in Middlebury
584 reviews
13.9 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lilac Inn
Lilac Inn
#1 of 10 in Brandon
186 reviews
15.4 mi away
Swift House Inn
Swift House Inn
#1 of 11 in Middlebury
275 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Inn at Neshobe River
The Inn at Neshobe River
#6 of 10 in Brandon
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gazebo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gazebo Inn

Property: The Gazebo Inn
Address: 25 Grove St, Route 7, Brandon, VT 05733-1001
Region: United States > Vermont > Brandon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Brandon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy elegance is experienced at this National Historic Register 1860s home. Located just north of town our B&B provides relaxation on a private property displaying a variety of perennial gardens. Architecture is that of the classic New England Federal style. Decor is that of distinctively combined Victorian furnishings with contemporarily-crafted pieces reflecting refinement yet comfortableness. All guest rooms boast private bath, AC, fine linens, featherbeds, down comforters, hairdryers, and robes. Breakfasts are known as having sumptuous -- but healthy -- offerings.Summer guests enjoy reading on the screened porch, the gazebo, or on one of the several patios. Winter guests can snowshoe or XC ski down our back hill, enjoy a roaring fire in the library, or relax in the reading alcove. In the fall you'll be leaf peeping, but our porch is for 3 seasons so put your feet up and enjoy our array of refreshments while viewing our multi-colored trees.Brandon's downtown -- with its eateries, art galleries, unique shops, and old-fashioned ice cream parlor -- are but a stroll away. WiFi and HD TV with DVD player and Nexflix connection are provided. We are perfectly located for a vacation stay; i.e., The Stephen A. Douglas Museum and town Tourist Center is but a few doors down; hiking/XC skiing are a ride up the mountain; swimming on beautiful Lake Dunmore is even a shorter jaunt; bike rentals can be delivered to enjoy a variety of cycling routes, including to Brandon's nearby covered bridge or a bit longer trip to Lake Champlain.Discounts available for learning vacations in the traditional arts and for the Cafe Provence Cooking School, full-house rentals, and summer multi-day stays. Children and families welcomed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Gazebo Inn Brandon, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing