We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“countryside comfort”
Review of The Gazebo Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brandon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Gazebo Inn
Ranked #3 of 10 Brandon B&B and Inns
NY. NY
1 review
“countryside comfort”
Reviewed 19 October 2008

After spending a long indian summer weekend admiring the foliage the western VT hill country, retiring to the comfort of the Gazebo inn was a luxurious ending to each days adventure!
The Inn and grounds are such a pleasure to stay in, and the proprietress treated us to local history and geography, fabulous home-baked treats and evening conversation over hot apple cider!

It's convenient location off route 7 allowed both rural exploration and shopping and sightseeing in town, keeping everyone happy. With Donna to help arrange and strategize local day trips, it made choosing between luxuriating in the snuggly linens (or claw foot bath tub!) or enjoying the local artisans, restaurants and incredble nature the hardest decision I had all weekend. Poor me.

If you get the opportunity to stay here, its the perfect accomodation for the Vermont experience!

  • Liked — the breakfast is AMAZING!
  • Disliked — The only trivial pursuit board was the "totally 80's" variety, I am no good at that one!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bandbme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
36
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
new york
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2008

My wife and our two children (ages 5 and 1) stayed at the Gazebo Inn this summer. We had a very nice time. The Inn keeper, Donna, was warm and accomadating. The plus for me was how kid friendly the place was. Not all B&B's are this way. I recommend anyone who has children and want to experience the beauty of Vermont, to go to the Gazebo Inn

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank codeblueNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
1 review
Reviewed 8 September 2008

I am lucky enough to have had two getaways to the Gazebo Inn, one cozy winter weekend, and a return trip the following summer.
I enjoyed chatting around the fire in February and relaxing in the garden in July.
The Inn and grounds are lovely, and located easy walking distance to everything in charming Brandon center. Venturing further, in winter we had a great visit to nearby Killington, and in summer, a day trip to swimming holes and a neighboring town's firemen's barbeque.
Both capped off by an amazing night's sleep in those wonderful beds I still covet!

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank ilikelongweekends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livonia MI
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2007

What a pleasant surprise this bed and breakfast was. Donna Taylor was a great hostess and cook. Comfortable beds and comfortable surroundings are just two of many great attributes this bed and breakfast has. Located in a great part of Vermont, it is conviently located right near the center of town.

Everything about this B&B is unique, it well decorated with period appropriate pieces typical of a house of its era, the innkeeper Donna is a great cook, wonderful coversationalist, and just an all around pleasant person. She is very thoughtful (with her day bags full of fresh baked muffins, fruit and trailmix), helpful and has a very guest oriented attitude.

This location is perfect for day excusions into Mass, Conn, NY or anywhere in South or North VT. It is quite literally the perfect inn in the perfect location, it relationship to state parks, local sites, major roads and landmarks makes this B&B, from a geographical sense, the tourist's best option for maximizing an extended weekend in Central Vermont.

A tourist will not be disapponted in staying here. You won't be sorry.

  • Liked — Food, customer service, location and price
  • Disliked — no TV in rooms, proximatly to road, not enough site lighting
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thegreenboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2007

I stayed at the Gazebo Inn during the weekend of Sept. 1 for a destination wedding. I didn't know what to expect, but I was immediately happy that I chose to stay at the Gazebo- Donna (the Inn owner & operator) greeted me and showed me to my room. She was extremely kind and made me feel like part of her family.
She also had iced tea and cookies in the common room for her guests to enjoy.

I stayed in the Rose Velvet room, which was the smallest room in the inn (it was more than enough space for me though- it had two beds & could sleep 3 comfortably). The bathroom was completely renovated & had great water pressure & an awesome shower head. There were lotions, shower gels, and anything else I could possibly need at my disposal. I slept better during my stay at the Gazebo than I have in years. The rooms are all air-conditioned and frequently renovated.

Donna cooked a wonderful traditional Vermont breakfast in the morning- complete with pineapple french toast & Vermont maple syrup, delicious fruit, pumpkin bread, cottage cheese, bacon, coffee, tea, granola, and the list goes on... She wakes up at 4:45 am to start preparing breakfast for her guests!!

As for location, the Gazebo is within a short walk (only about a half a mile) to town, and their are sidewalks thoughout Brandon, making it a very pleasant place for a stroll.

I usually don't write reviews, but I wanted to share this amazing little B&B...I can't say enough good things about it!

P.S. If you make the trip to Brandon, try Cafe Provence- the food is wonderful!!

  • Liked — accomodations, breakfast, location, relaxation
  • Disliked — nothing- it was wonderful!
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HeatherPSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brandon
14.2 mi away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
223 reviews
15.1 mi away
Middlebury Inn
Middlebury Inn
#1 of 3 in Middlebury
583 reviews
13.9 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lilac Inn
Lilac Inn
#1 of 10 in Brandon
185 reviews
15.4 mi away
Swift House Inn
Swift House Inn
#1 of 11 in Middlebury
275 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Inn at Neshobe River
The Inn at Neshobe River
#6 of 10 in Brandon
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gazebo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gazebo Inn

Property: The Gazebo Inn
Address: 25 Grove St, Route 7, Brandon, VT 05733-1001
Region: United States > Vermont > Brandon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Brandon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy elegance is experienced at this National Historic Register 1860s home. Located just north of town our B&B provides relaxation on a private property displaying a variety of perennial gardens. Architecture is that of the classic New England Federal style. Decor is that of distinctively combined Victorian furnishings with contemporarily-crafted pieces reflecting refinement yet comfortableness. All guest rooms boast private bath, AC, fine linens, featherbeds, down comforters, hairdryers, and robes. Breakfasts are known as having sumptuous -- but healthy -- offerings.Summer guests enjoy reading on the screened porch, the gazebo, or on one of the several patios. Winter guests can snowshoe or XC ski down our back hill, enjoy a roaring fire in the library, or relax in the reading alcove. In the fall you'll be leaf peeping, but our porch is for 3 seasons so put your feet up and enjoy our array of refreshments while viewing our multi-colored trees.Brandon's downtown -- with its eateries, art galleries, unique shops, and old-fashioned ice cream parlor -- are but a stroll away. WiFi and HD TV with DVD player and Nexflix connection are provided. We are perfectly located for a vacation stay; i.e., The Stephen A. Douglas Museum and town Tourist Center is but a few doors down; hiking/XC skiing are a ride up the mountain; swimming on beautiful Lake Dunmore is even a shorter jaunt; bike rentals can be delivered to enjoy a variety of cycling routes, including to Brandon's nearby covered bridge or a bit longer trip to Lake Champlain.Discounts available for learning vacations in the traditional arts and for the Cafe Provence Cooking School, full-house rentals, and summer multi-day stays. Children and families welcomed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Gazebo Inn Brandon, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing