We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”
Review of The Gazebo Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brandon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Gazebo Inn
Ranked #3 of 10 Brandon B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great B&B”
Reviewed 8 August 2010

We recently returned from a week long visit to Vermont and had a chance to stay at the Gazebo Inn in Brandon, VT. The inn was very nice and it is obviously lovingly and meticulously maintained by the innkeeper, Donna Taylor. She greeted us when we arrived with some snacks she had just made and two big glasses of lemonade, which were welcomed after several hours of strenuous hiking. Our room was very charming and spacious with clear attention to detail. I was impressed with the bathroom which had been recently renovated. But the whole place overall was in great shape and was charming and comfortable.

We had dinner in Brandon which was only a short walk down the road from the inn. When we got back we had a long chat with Donna about the history of the inn and about the town. In the morning, Donna made a delicious breakfast for us and packed a terrific lunch full of sandwiches, snacks, and fruit. After getting some directions and advice (we went to hike Blueberry Hill which was beautiful) we were off. Gazebo Inn was a great place to visit and we really enjoyed our time there.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt_Wong_CANADA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
36
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NH
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2009

Nestled in the middle of Vermont is the town of Brandon. There are wonderful restaurants, a great art gallery and many interesting sites. But the greatest of all is the Gazebo Inn, hosted by Donna and Lindsay Taylor. Having spent five summers at the Gazebo Inn, I have had the opportunity to get to occupy all the rooms. Donna goes out of her way to treat all her guests in the same friendly manner. Her breakfasts are many-coursed and I remember them all winter long. She tries (and succeeds) to anticipate what all her guests need or would like. There is nothing better than working all day on an art project and returning "home" to be greeted by a wonderfulyl baked treat and some cool lemonade. The Gazebo Inn, a step above. GaryinNH

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yraginnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maine
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2009

Looking for a quiet relaxing atmosphere, then this is the place. The hostess is friendly and very accomendating. The morning breakfast that she serves will sure to be a hit!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deedeetandenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2009

Donna was great, and so was the food and the room. This was the first non-awkward breakfast we've ever had at a bed-and-breakfast. Our timetable was a little tight because we were attending a wedding in the area and driving down from the Burlington airport, and she was extremely accommodating. She was also very complimentary of our rental car, which made us feel good about ourselves. Thanks, Donna!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bmore17201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2009

We stayed at the Gazebo Inn in 2007 with our 1yr old son and had a great time. When we were looking to go back to VT we decided to stay in the sleepy little town of Brandon with the Gazebo Inn again in 2009. Donna was very attentive to our needs with a 3 yr old son and came up with some great games for him. The rooms and house are clean and cozy and the breakfast was wonderful everyday. We will return to VT for vacation in the futrure and will definitly look-up Donna at the Gazebo Inn for accomadations.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RDHIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2009

For a number of years we have stayed at The Gazebo Inn every summer for a weekend or two. We so look forward to the huge and delicious breakfast, the incredibly comfortable beds and a chance to visit again with Donna. She is such a delight.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2009

Our family of (4) spent a wonderful ski-weekend this past winter at Donna Taylor’s Gazebo Inn in Brandon. After traveling in snowy conditions we arrived very late. But there was Donna, settling us in and offering hot tea and warm beds. When we awoke in the morning (the mattresses were exquisite --- we hadn’t slept that well for years) we were greeted by the aroma of homemade pancakes, bread and delicious oatmeal – a perfect way to start our day of skiing.

Although only 15 minutes from Killington and Pico, we were light years from the bustle and noise of those resorts. The town of Branford, despite its many lively shops, maintains its small town charm. Donna (a native New Yorker) told us the story of how she’d fallen in love with the town as a little girl and vowed to return one day and open a B&B. She has given each room in the Gazebo Inn its own unique personality. All of the décor is cleverly chosen, and every artwork table and accessory has its own story. Donna is a fabulous and adventurous cook and has a way of making guests feel welcome at her inn. She won my children’s adoration by playing them old movies on the VCR (Old Yeller) and serving fresh popcorn from the stove.

We look forward to returning to the Gazebo Inn – perhaps in the fall - so we can explore more of the surrounding region.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scadenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brandon
14.2 mi away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
223 reviews
15.1 mi away
Middlebury Inn
Middlebury Inn
#1 of 3 in Middlebury
584 reviews
13.9 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lilac Inn
Lilac Inn
#1 of 10 in Brandon
186 reviews
15.4 mi away
Swift House Inn
Swift House Inn
#1 of 11 in Middlebury
275 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Inn at Neshobe River
The Inn at Neshobe River
#6 of 10 in Brandon
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gazebo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gazebo Inn

Property: The Gazebo Inn
Address: 25 Grove St, Route 7, Brandon, VT 05733-1001
Region: United States > Vermont > Brandon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Brandon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy elegance is experienced at this National Historic Register 1860s home. Located just north of town our B&B provides relaxation on a private property displaying a variety of perennial gardens. Architecture is that of the classic New England Federal style. Decor is that of distinctively combined Victorian furnishings with contemporarily-crafted pieces reflecting refinement yet comfortableness. All guest rooms boast private bath, AC, fine linens, featherbeds, down comforters, hairdryers, and robes. Breakfasts are known as having sumptuous -- but healthy -- offerings.Summer guests enjoy reading on the screened porch, the gazebo, or on one of the several patios. Winter guests can snowshoe or XC ski down our back hill, enjoy a roaring fire in the library, or relax in the reading alcove. In the fall you'll be leaf peeping, but our porch is for 3 seasons so put your feet up and enjoy our array of refreshments while viewing our multi-colored trees.Brandon's downtown -- with its eateries, art galleries, unique shops, and old-fashioned ice cream parlor -- are but a stroll away. WiFi and HD TV with DVD player and Nexflix connection are provided. We are perfectly located for a vacation stay; i.e., The Stephen A. Douglas Museum and town Tourist Center is but a few doors down; hiking/XC skiing are a ride up the mountain; swimming on beautiful Lake Dunmore is even a shorter jaunt; bike rentals can be delivered to enjoy a variety of cycling routes, including to Brandon's nearby covered bridge or a bit longer trip to Lake Champlain.Discounts available for learning vacations in the traditional arts and for the Cafe Provence Cooking School, full-house rentals, and summer multi-day stays. Children and families welcomed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Gazebo Inn Brandon, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing