We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attention to detail”
Review of Lilac Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lilac Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Brandon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 August 2011

was everywhere. our room was beautifully decorated and comfortable. The innkeepers were friendly and made us feel like we were home. The breakfast was Delicious and the server was very pleasant. We especially enjoyed all the beautiful garden spaces especially the pond and the beautiful front porch. We had dinner at the cafe down the street which was also a good find. The Lilac Inn would be my choice for a perfect wedding (maybe someday :) ) Highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aceswild143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2011

If you are looking for an excellent and intimate setting and particularly love the Victorian aspect, this is the place for you!

Room Tip: be sure to state your preferences clearly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary-Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

My husband and I fell in love with the Lilac Inn the moment we saw the place! We decided to have our wedding there the summer of 2011. The venue could not have been more perfect and Shelly and Doug were accommodating to our every need. The beauty of the Lilac Inn speaks for itself, but the warmth of Shelly and Doug leave us speechless. Our family and friends loved the venue, the delicious food and the hospitality. We will absolutely be returning to the Lilac Inn for our anniversaries and would recommend it to everyone who wants to have a great time. The Inn felt like home and a piece of me wants to call Shelly family!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kiley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We flew up from Virginia to have our wedding at the Lilac Inn. Doug and Shelly are incredible, gracious and attentive. The Inn is beautiful, the food was out of this world, and we were pampered in every way. In the stressful time of planning and having a wedding, Shelly made this easy. All we had to do was decide on a menu, and write a check. Even our girls said they wanted to come back to stay there the next time we're in Vermont. Everyone who attended commented how beautiful the Inn and the wedding were. They even had a great kids menu, for those potentially picky eaters! Everyone was accommodated!

Room Tip: The room that we got was spacious, impeccably decorated, and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ted H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Three of us took part in an Inn to Inn "hiking tour" of the Green Mountains of Vermont last week. For five days we were treated to a sampling of five Inns. Without pause I would say the most beautiful was the Lilac Inn in Brandon.

For one evening we were treated to their best rooms and a delicious dinner prepared by the hosts. We enjoyed wandering the streets of Brandon, a lovely town, and the Lilac Inn gardens, which are exceptional. The next morning we were again feasting on a first class breakfast served in one their charming dining areas.

The Lilac Inn is very much like a small exquisite boutique hotel, 9 rooms, all with private bath, with substantial but cozy public areas. The decor is an eclectic mix of art and artifacts beautifully put together.

We were really sorry we had to move along to our next Inn. Host Doug and Shelly were gracious hosts, but not intrusive. Moose, their black lab, was dear.

If we return to Vermont, Lilac Inn will be our choice of accommodation.

M.Edward
Peterborough
Canada

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Molly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We felt totally welcomed from the moment we opened the door. Wonderful hosts, creative cuisine, and the most phenomenal B&B I have ever seen. Incredible antiques, gorgeous furnishings, and stupendous gardens. A most perfect experience.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

My wife and I were absolutley thrilled with our stay at the Lilac Inn. Everything about our stay exceeded expectations.
Our hosts, Doug and Shelly could not have been more accomodating. The Inn itself is a marvellous piece of early American history, truly unspoiled. Indeed the town of Brandon is like taking a wonderful step back in time to a more traditional time as reflected in the architecture.
The fact that the Lilac Inn is pet friendly really sealed the deal for us. Our whippet Gracie had lovely morning visits with " Moose" ( Doug and Shellys pet)
As for the dinner package at "La Provence" all we can say is WOW. It ranks as one of the most memorable dining experiences we have ever had. We started with an order of fried Calimari that was perfectly seasoned and cooked to perfection. It was unlike the overfried "rubber bands" that some places tend to pass off. The seafood stew was delectable as were the other main courses we enjoyed during our three day visit.
Vermont is stunning. We plan to return at the earliest opportunity to the Lilac Inn.

Norm Borg and Sheri Styles.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
3  Thank OttawaNorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brandon
17.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Ticonderoga Inn & Suites
15.5 mi away
Middlebury Inn
Middlebury Inn
#1 of 3 in Middlebury
629 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brandon Inn
Brandon Inn
#2 of 10 in Brandon
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Autumn Mountain Winery & Cabins
7.3 mi away
Blueberry Hill Inn
Blueberry Hill Inn
#1 of 1 in Goshen
109 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilac Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilac Inn

Address: 53 Park St, Brandon, VT 05733-1121
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Brandon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Brandon
Price Range: £112 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lilac Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lilac Inn a leading luxury romantic Vermont Country Inn Boutique Bed and Breakfast known for romantic Vermont getaways, custom Vermont destination wedding packages, New England wedding receptions, and special family celebrations - in any season. Featured in Yankee, Country Living and Vermont magazines, the feel throughout is that of a "small luxury hotel with personal service to match". Stay four nights, and only pay for three nights in any of our nine individually decorated rooms, including five rooms with king size beds. Each morning begins at your individual table with a cooked to order three course gourmet Vermont breakfast. The Inn is located on Park Street, the prettiest street in Vermont in the quaint but welcoming village of Brandon. Located midway between Middlebury and Rutland, Brandon is an unspoiled village in the authentic Currier & Ives tradition that has been tastefully updated to suit the needs of today's visitor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Lilac Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lilac Hotel Brandon
Lilac Inn Brandon, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing