We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, charming and comfortable, with a beautiful garden”
Review of Lilac Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lilac Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Brandon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Our stay at the Lilac Inn was the highlight of our 5 day bike tour of Vermont. We stayed 2 nights and our hosts, Doug and Shelley, were charming and most accomodating. Dinner one evening at the Lilac was a memorable culinary experience. We enjoyed having cocktails in the mature country garden. Breakfast was hearty and generous. Eveyone in our group of 18 was delighted.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilacinn, Owner at Lilac Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Thanks so much for selecting us for your bike club's Vermont tour. It was our pleasure to have you with us for two nights and we are so glad you had a chance to enjoy our garden's and cuisine. We hope to see all of you on a future bike adventure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
There are newer reviews for Lilac Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed in the Spring Room 3 for one night while en route from Burlington to the White Mountains in New Hampshire. We arrived somewhat late and Shelly met us in the parking lot as we were retrieving bags from the car trunk. She gave us a brief but thorough tour of the property and pointed out all of the amenities that we were sincerely encouraged to enjoy. The room was beautiful and comfortable. As there was only one other couple in the house at the time of our visit, the house was still and quit, promoting a very restful night after a long travel day.

In the morning, the breakfast was exceptional. Doug spent time with us over breakfast and provided a fascinating history of the property, pointing out the Chicago connections of the architect and original owner, which was of interest to us.

We advised Doug of our intended route from Brandon to Bretton Woods in New Hampshire and he politely suggested some scenic alternatives. We expressed a keen interest in his suggestions and he offered to prepare a map with some notes while we took a walk through town. When we returned he had the map ready and gave a great description of some sights to enjoy during the day's travel. We took his advice and were glad we did. Had a wonderful travel day owing in large part to his recommendations.

We would love to visit this property again in the fall.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JohnC97435805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilacinn, Manager at Lilac Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Thanks so much for your "terrific" words. It is not often we have guests with a Chicago connection who are also travelling to my home state of New Hampshire. I was glad to offer some thoughts and suggestions based on the road not taken philosophy of life. We are fortunate in New England to have six states all in close proximity and all with their own special charm and beauty. However, I must confess that I am no longer surprised that my favorite poet, Robert Frost, although he loved New Hampshire, preferred Vermont!

We hope you can join us this fall and enjoy the unique beauty of autumn in Vermont.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed three different nights at the Lilac Inn. Doug and Shelly are so accommodating. The breakfast was super generous and delicious with both fruit and juice. Good coffee. Great scones from Shelly or delicious croissants followed by an omelet, too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilacinn, Owner at Lilac Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

We love having other Vermonter's stay with us, although I think you have established the record for the most stays in the shortest period. It makes it so easy on us when we know exactly what our guests like and expect. Hope you get a few cooler days to enjoy top down motoring .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Lilac Inn with a group of friends for a weekend of bicycling. What a luxurious treat after a day of bicycling! The owners, Doug and Shelly, were gracious and accommodating. The Inn is just beautiful, the food was delicious, and they even offered us a late check out on Sunday so that we could shower before heading home. Considering that there were 7 of us staying in 3 separate rooms it was a generous offer and gratefully appreciated. I highly recommend The Lilac Inn to everyone!

Room Tip: The website has a virtual tour that offers views of each room. The Inn is as beautiful and immacula...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilacinn, Owner at Lilac Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Thanks so much for staying with us for your weekend bike adventure with your friends. We are so glad you had a great time and got to see some of the beautiful Champlain Valley and our hills! We know how good a hot shower feels and we were pleased that we could give everyone a late checkout. Hope to see all of you back next summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We had a wonderful 2 nights with Doug and Shelly, able stewards and proprietors of the Lilac Inn. We stayed as part of a 2 1/2 day bike trip around the Brandon/Proctor/Middlebury area. Centrally located, beautiful property. Lots of common rooms. Wireless internet! The staff was very attentive to eating healthy and readily modified orders. A cozy bar was also a good meeting place. A/C in each room. Would definitely return again. Great central spot in particular for biking, hiking etc. - we turned out of the driveway and did 35-40 miles on scenic back roads with no traffic. A welcome respite from biking outside of New York City or Boston.

Room Tip: Room 9 is very private, it's own bath - a suite in a hidden corridor.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kbelton1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilacinn, Owner at Lilac Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Thanks so much for staying with us for your biking weekend. You were a great group and we loved having you with us. Our area of Vermont has lots of varied places for biking and as we all know Vermont 'is not flat"! We hope to see you for a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Arrived earlier than check-in and were welcomed by owners Doug and Shelly. After a tour of rooms( we booked 4), we settled in and roamed the grounds. Each room was spotless and each had it's own unique decor! The bar and eating areas were gorgeous (as was the rest of the house).The food was plentiful and delicious, with a choice of two main dinner entries and a custom breakfast. We did an Inn to Inn hiking tour and Shelly had a lunch to go for each of us.
The town was few blocks away and there were some really cool shops. Would definitely go back and recommend highly.

Room Tip: All rooms were private and quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rochelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilacinn, Owner at Lilac Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Rochelle, we loved having you and your family with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay while on your hiking vacation in Vermont. We are fortunate to be so close to the Moosalamoo National Recreation Area with over 70 miles of hiking trails. Also, we love it when guests get to walk to our village of Brandon and enjoy the charm of an historic, but vibrant town. Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you on a future visit to Vermont.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

My husband, daughter and I stayed here one night and truly wished we could have stayed here longer. We did not want to go home. The Inn it's self is beautiful from its historic charm to breathtaking gardens. We loved it all. We were made so welcome and comfortable. As well, our breakfast the next day was delicious. We will be coming back the next time we are in Vermont. Thank you!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ToriConner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilacinn, Owner at Lilac Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Tori, thanks so much for staying with us while you were in Vermont. It was great to meet all of you, especially your daughter - she made Shelly's day! We love talking about the history of The Lilac Inn and feel lucky that we found it twelve years ago. Thanks for taking the time to leave us an evaluation and we look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brandon
14.6 mi away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
228 reviews
15.5 mi away
Middlebury Inn
Middlebury Inn
#1 of 3 in Middlebury
601 reviews
17.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Ticonderoga Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brandon Inn
Brandon Inn
#2 of 10 in Brandon
126 reviews
15.8 mi away
Swift House Inn
Swift House Inn
#1 of 11 in Middlebury
279 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cozy Cottages & Otter Valley Winery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilac Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilac Inn

Address: 53 Park St, Brandon, VT 05733-1121
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Brandon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Brandon
Price Range: £109 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lilac Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lilac Inn a leading luxury romantic Vermont Country Inn Boutique Bed and Breakfast known for romantic Vermont getaways, custom Vermont destination wedding packages, New England wedding receptions, and special family celebrations - in any season. Featured in Yankee, Country Living and Vermont magazines, the feel throughout is that of a "small luxury hotel with personal service to match". Stay four nights, and only pay for three nights in any of our nine individually decorated rooms, including five rooms with king size beds. Each morning begins at your individual table with a cooked to order three course gourmet Vermont breakfast. The Inn is located on Park Street, the prettiest street in Vermont in the quaint but welcoming village of Brandon. Located midway between Middlebury and Rutland, Brandon is an unspoiled village in the authentic Currier & Ives tradition that has been tastefully updated to suit the needs of today's visitor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Lilac Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lilac Hotel Brandon
Lilac Inn Brandon, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing