We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Party House”
Review of Lilac Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lilac Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Brandon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wallkill
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“The Party House”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We are a couple who enjoy going to B&B Inns. Every time I thought I had found one that could not be topped there comes something better. It hit me when I walked in the door of the Lilac that this was not just another Inn, it is a destination. From the history it was built as a house to throw parties. The smaller rooms are of a good size and nicely appointed. The larger the room the more luxury you see. To my mind the public areas are plush and inviting as well as the front porch with ceiling fans offers a pleasant retreat to watch the world go by. Should you care for a bit more privacy there is a large terrace with outdoor seating that overlooks a beautifully manicured garden with a most interesting collection of plants that bloom all season. A gazebo, stone walls and a two level pond add to the beauty of the property. Doug and Shelly are magnificent hosts and the staff is there to assure your stay is pleasant. Should I be in the market for a place to hold an affair large or small this would be a place on the short list. There is not enough space to truly describe The Lilac Inn, we suggest that you go and see for yourself.

Room Tip: There are many things to do in the area in the warmer weather, hiking, biking and other outdoor acti...
See more room tips
Green Features: They are concerned and actively support the enviornment
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harold66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilacinn, Owner at Lilac Inn, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Thanks for your wonderful words. Frankly it is hard to know where to begin in response, but you certainly hit the nail squarely on the head, this is a party house. It is the reason we fell in love with it 13 years ago and bought it. It is such a magnificent building that we feel more like custodians than owners. We are just saying good bye to the couple that got married here this weekend and their families. As Shelly says, if these walls could talk, this home would be very happy that another wedding has occurred under its roof. And, we will be very happy when you can return for another visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    10
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
29
118
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
New York Area
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

A lovely surprise overnight as we took our son to Middlebury this fall. The Inn Keepers are beyond lovely, very helpful in orienting us to the area, great restaurant recommendation for dinner and tours locally. We slept well in room 6, great bed and quiet. Breakfast was also terrific. We hope to return soon!

Green Features: Very environmentally friendly with room, laundry and power.
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveler12345abc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilacinn, Owner at Lilac Inn, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you for trying us and staying in Brandon. We loved having you as guests and hope to see you again for a future visit. We are getting more and more Middlebury College parents who love enjoying the quaint village of Brandon and our local shops, especially the Café Provence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Our stay at the Lilac Inn was the highlight of our 5 day bike tour of Vermont. We stayed 2 nights and our hosts, Doug and Shelley, were charming and most accomodating. Dinner one evening at the Lilac was a memorable culinary experience. We enjoyed having cocktails in the mature country garden. Breakfast was hearty and generous. Eveyone in our group of 18 was delighted.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilacinn, Owner at Lilac Inn, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thanks so much for selecting us for your bike club's Vermont tour. It was our pleasure to have you with us for two nights and we are so glad you had a chance to enjoy our garden's and cuisine. We hope to see all of you on a future bike adventure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed in the Spring Room 3 for one night while en route from Burlington to the White Mountains in New Hampshire. We arrived somewhat late and Shelly met us in the parking lot as we were retrieving bags from the car trunk. She gave us a brief but thorough tour of the property and pointed out all of the amenities that we were sincerely encouraged to enjoy. The room was beautiful and comfortable. As there was only one other couple in the house at the time of our visit, the house was still and quit, promoting a very restful night after a long travel day.

In the morning, the breakfast was exceptional. Doug spent time with us over breakfast and provided a fascinating history of the property, pointing out the Chicago connections of the architect and original owner, which was of interest to us.

We advised Doug of our intended route from Brandon to Bretton Woods in New Hampshire and he politely suggested some scenic alternatives. We expressed a keen interest in his suggestions and he offered to prepare a map with some notes while we took a walk through town. When we returned he had the map ready and gave a great description of some sights to enjoy during the day's travel. We took his advice and were glad we did. Had a wonderful travel day owing in large part to his recommendations.

We would love to visit this property again in the fall.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JohnC97435805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilacinn, Manager at Lilac Inn, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thanks so much for your "terrific" words. It is not often we have guests with a Chicago connection who are also travelling to my home state of New Hampshire. I was glad to offer some thoughts and suggestions based on the road not taken philosophy of life. We are fortunate in New England to have six states all in close proximity and all with their own special charm and beauty. However, I must confess that I am no longer surprised that my favorite poet, Robert Frost, although he loved New Hampshire, preferred Vermont!

We hope you can join us this fall and enjoy the unique beauty of autumn in Vermont.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinesburg, Vermont
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed three different nights at the Lilac Inn. Doug and Shelly are so accommodating. The breakfast was super generous and delicious with both fruit and juice. Good coffee. Great scones from Shelly or delicious croissants followed by an omelet, too.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilacinn, Owner at Lilac Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
We love having other Vermonter's stay with us, although I think you have established the record for the most stays in the shortest period. It makes it so easy on us when we know exactly what our guests like and expect. Hope you get a few cooler days to enjoy top down motoring .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasantville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Lilac Inn with a group of friends for a weekend of bicycling. What a luxurious treat after a day of bicycling! The owners, Doug and Shelly, were gracious and accommodating. The Inn is just beautiful, the food was delicious, and they even offered us a late check out on Sunday so that we could shower before heading home. Considering that there were 7 of us staying in 3 separate rooms it was a generous offer and gratefully appreciated. I highly recommend The Lilac Inn to everyone!

Room Tip: The website has a virtual tour that offers views of each room. The Inn is as beautiful and immacula...
See more room tips
Green Features: You have a choice of fresh towels daily or reusing to save the environment. They provide organic soap, shampoo, and body lotion that come in completely recycled packaging.
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilacinn, Owner at Lilac Inn, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Thanks so much for staying with us for your weekend bike adventure with your friends. We are so glad you had a great time and got to see some of the beautiful Champlain Valley and our hills! We know how good a hot shower feels and we were pleased that we could give everyone a late checkout. Hope to see all of you back next summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We had a wonderful 2 nights with Doug and Shelly, able stewards and proprietors of the Lilac Inn. We stayed as part of a 2 1/2 day bike trip around the Brandon/Proctor/Middlebury area. Centrally located, beautiful property. Lots of common rooms. Wireless internet! The staff was very attentive to eating healthy and readily modified orders. A cozy bar was also a good meeting place. A/C in each room. Would definitely return again. Great central spot in particular for biking, hiking etc. - we turned out of the driveway and did 35-40 miles on scenic back roads with no traffic. A welcome respite from biking outside of New York City or Boston.

Room Tip: Room 9 is very private, it's own bath - a suite in a hidden corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kbelton1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilacinn, Owner at Lilac Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thanks so much for staying with us for your biking weekend. You were a great group and we loved having you with us. Our area of Vermont has lots of varied places for biking and as we all know Vermont 'is not flat"! We hope to see you for a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brandon
14.6 mi away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
223 reviews
15.5 mi away
Middlebury Inn
Middlebury Inn
#1 of 3 in Middlebury
583 reviews
17.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Ticonderoga Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Swift House Inn
Swift House Inn
#1 of 11 in Middlebury
275 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cozy Cottages & Otter Valley Winery
0.9 mi away
The Inn at Neshobe River
The Inn at Neshobe River
#6 of 10 in Brandon
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilac Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilac Inn

Property: Lilac Inn
Address: 53 Park St, Brandon, VT 05733-1121
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Brandon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Brandon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lilac Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lilac Inn a leading luxury romantic Vermont Country Inn Boutique Bed and Breakfast known for romantic Vermont getaways, custom Vermont destination wedding packages, New England wedding receptions, and special family celebrations - in any season. Featured in Yankee, Country Living and Vermont magazines, the feel throughout is that of a "small luxury hotel with personal service to match". Stay four nights, and only pay for three nights in any of our nine individually decorated rooms, including five rooms with king size beds. Each morning begins at your individual table with a cooked to order three course gourmet Vermont breakfast. The Inn is located on Park Street, the prettiest street in Vermont in the quaint but welcoming village of Brandon. Located midway between Middlebury and Rutland, Brandon is an unspoiled village in the authentic Currier & Ives tradition that has been tastefully updated to suit the needs of today's visitor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lilac Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lilac Hotel Brandon
Lilac Inn Brandon, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing