We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A truly serendipitous find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Green River Bridge House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Green River Bridge House
Ranked #3 of 5 Brattleboro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A truly serendipitous find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Our daughter found Green River Bridge House for us through Trip Advisor, and as she is a very discriminating traveler we just went with it, and it turned out to be the very best find we've ever had in a Bed and Breakfast place. Every good thing said in these reviews by other guests at the house is absolutely true and no exaggeration. The house is just lovely and bright with wonderful views in a remarkably beautiful setting. The rooms are immaculate with, (yes) freshly ironed sheets and pillow cases. The room was so quiet you wouldn't know anyone else was there until you meet them in the morning for breakfast, which is another part of the pleasure because everyone we met while there was a delight to talk to. We stayed five days and four nights and hated to leave. We had a beautiful and varied breakfast every morning. And the best part of all is we have a wonderful new friend in Vermont, our hostess Joan, who we have called since we got home and will keep in touch with until hopefully, we get to go back for our second trip there in the Spring. Kay and Jack, North Wales, PA

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larkPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    2
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
63
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Our stay at Green River Bridge House was one of the highlights of our 12 day trip to Boston and Vermont. The B&B was wonderful, location magical and our hostess Joan very welcoming. Our fellow guests were lovely people and we left with very fond memories of a truly memorable stay.

Room Tip: All rooms have wonderful views but our room Sunshine had view, sunrise and a jacuzzi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaggiemayCamberleyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Spent time here over Columbus Day weekend; property is first class and Joan is equal to the task as hostess. Its situated off the main trail, so there are no traffic issues (other than the birds and squirrels) and the setting is absolutely magical! If there was only one more star, we'd rate it that high at 6!

Barry & Lesley

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

Nestled in the woods, this Inn took our breath away. Beautiful, relaxing atmosphere with a very gracious hostess. Our room was clean and quiet. Breakfast was excellent and the views are spectacular. The covered bridge and the history of the home makes this a must stop when visiting Vermont.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

I could repeat much of what has already been written about Joan's B&B, however instead, I refer the reader to the numerous glowing reviews, with particular mention of so many positives: the location in southern Vt, views from all windows, surrounding natural beauty, exemplary and personal service, ambiance and decor throughout the home, large and lovely bedroom with an oh-so-comfy bed (and pressed cotton sheets!), delicious breakfasts served in a beautifully decorated dining room, a den designed to provide cozy seating to a guest desiring to read and relax...and on it goes. This B&B was absolutely perfect for us, a couple needing a break from life's foibles- far from the maddening crowd, yet close enough to embrace our inner shopper/gourmand/hiker/"Sunday driver" spirit.

Room Tip: The 3 rooms are adjacent to one another and all have beautiful views. Please note that at no time di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Given the previous reviews this place has a lot to live up to and does not disappoint. It's hard to appreciate the wonderful location until you see it. The house is beautifully restored and furnished. We walked through the woods, sat on the porch, listened to the river and watched the wildlife. Joan is an ideal hostess.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steventon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

This is a really special place in the woods outside of Brattleboro, by a river in an idyllic location, especially in the Fall. The house is beautiful and our bedroom lovely and comfortable, with its own well-appointed bathroom. The views from the bedrooms and the elegant dining room are stunning. Wandering around outside taking photos, or just soaking up the sounds of the river and woods lifts the spirit. Joan, our host, was welcoming and really makes you feel like you are an old friend, even on a short visit. Her history of how she remodelled this 1830s house (but still left it with its authentic look) was fascinating to hear. The breakfast was excellent and varied. We would have loved to stay longer - and would go back if we're ever over this way again!

Room Tip: There are only three rooms. All have good views. The Bridge Room (the one we were in) is the only on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek and Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brattleboro
7.6 mi away
Latchis Hotel
Latchis Hotel
#2 of 10 in Brattleboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
9.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel...
#2 of 2 in West Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
11.1 mi away
Chesterfield Inn
Chesterfield Inn
#1 of 2 in West Chesterfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 10 in Brattleboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
8.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
9.0 mi away
Colonial Motel & Spa
Colonial Motel & Spa
#5 of 10 in Brattleboro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green River Bridge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green River Bridge House

Property: Green River Bridge House
Address: 2435 Stage Rd, Guilford, Brattleboro, VT 05301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Brattleboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Brattleboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Green River Bridge House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the picturesque village of Green River on a winding country road, the Green River Bridge House is nestled against the meandering Green River a few steps away from the historic Green River Covered Bridge. Across the road, perched on a small hill, is the former Methodist Episcopal Church, a classic white, steepled structure.Next to the covered bridge, water thunders over a rare, restored circa 1790 timber crib dam.The house, built in 1830, once housed the Green River Post Office. In earlier days the barn was the site of the local blacksmith shop. Lovingly and skillfully transformed, the Green River Bridge House is luxurious in comfort and sensuous in visual appeal. Every room is a warm embrace of soft colors, fine antiques and other unique furnishings.Though small enough to be homey, it is large enough and appropriately equipped to be the perfect setting for an intimate wedding or anniversary celebration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Green River Bridge House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing