We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a Sit-Down Eatery so Plan a Picnic”

The Vermont Country Deli
Ranked #6 of 110 Restaurants in Brattleboro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Parking Available, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
TX
Level Contributor
116 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Not a Sit-Down Eatery so Plan a Picnic”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We ordered turkey sandwiches with cranberry - - - yes, cranberry is an offered sandwich spread! We chose a multi-grain bread which was absolutely fresh baked and watched while the sandwich was built according to our specific "wants" from a multitude of choices of spreads and toppings. Quantities were generous unless we requested less of any particular item. It was a delicious and filling sandwich. There were salads, breads, cakes, pies, cookies, and many other goodies to temp the palate for sale. Be aware there is not an area to sit and eat but there is a beautiful park just west of the deli. The deli is very close to busy Hwy 9 so getting out of the (limited) parking space was a major challenge and could be a risky proposition if someone in the line of traffic isn't willing to help you out.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GFCTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    46
    10
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

We stopped on our way north based on the reviews. Glad we did! The sandwiches are fabulous, especially the travelling turkey.

Helpful?
Thank Joanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun!”
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

We spent so much time in this little deli! It was do fun to look around and pick out food for lunch-such a great selection. We had to get a little bit of everything. My small children loved the chicken noodle soup!! I think they licked the bowl. As someone else stated the only criticism would be the parking lot. A little scary but where there is a will there is a way!

Helpful?
Thank JMinNashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
153 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“You've got to go there! Yummmmmm..”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This is a deli,not a restaurant. Go there! It's got the best sandwiches! I recommend the Rt. 9. Roast beef (delicious), cheese, fresh bread, what ever you want on it. My friend liked the horseradish mayo. I don't like horseradish, so I had regular mayo. I know it sounds simple, but I've never had such a delicious deli sandwich! They had homemade pasteries, pies, deserts. I did get a pasta salad, which was out of this world! I wish we had this one in my town!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seasnowcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best take out in Southern Vermont”
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

This place is a top notch deli combined with a country store. The food is just fantastic. We had pesto chicken salad with avacado and lettuce. Homemade cole slaw. Some Asian dish (forgot name) but it was top notch. Coffee was outstanding as well. Home made cookies made great desert. Great for picking up food when you first arrive or when heading home or provisions for a picnic. Enjoy !!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jomled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Vermont Country Deli also viewed

 

Been to The Vermont Country Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing