We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Thai food, maybe a bit too greasy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thai Bamboo

Thai Bamboo
Ranked #34 of 110 Restaurants in Brattleboro
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai food, maybe a bit too greasy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

The smell of the dining room made me salivate immediately. The pungent and pleasant aroma of curry was allover. I love it. The service is friendly, quick and very pleasant. And the food, authentic to the extent that it can be authentic in the USA, well prepared with fresh ingredients.
The only reservation is about the deep fried items: curry puff, scallion pancakes, chicken wings etc, in my opinion spend too much time in the fryer. Or maybe they should try to use a higher ratio of peanut oil in the frying mix (peanut oil is more expensive) to elevate the cooking temperature and prevent food from getting soggy. All together a very worthwhile experience at very reasonable prices.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fkolingen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    34
    10
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“DE-lish!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

My hubby and I enjoyed a delicious meal here, one of the very best over the course of a week of wining and dining. We enjoyed three dishes and what I remember the best was the explosion of flavor upon each and every bite. Distinctive seasonings distingished one dish from the other- pepper beef, yellow chicken curry, pineapple rice- and rendered the overall dining experience exemplary. Bon Appetit!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank GRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, New York
1 review
“Horrible Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Distracted and hurried waitress didn't make eye contact, lost our order and had to come back to ask what we had ordered. This was followed by a 30 min wait for soup, and 1 hr wait until our main dishes appeared. In the mean time tables were being seated without table cloths, the phone was ringing and ringing in the background, those being seated were being told it was and hour wait for food, while nothing was said to us.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank abupstate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brattleboro, Vermont
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Notch Down, But Still Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

My wife and I ate recently at Thai Bamboo. It was the first time we had eaten there since the change of ownership. While it was still good, the service was slow and the food was a notch below where it was previously - a bit less authentic, and the prices seemed a bit high for the portion sizes. The service was rather slow, perhaps owing to the restaurant being quite busy at the time. Still, I would say the staff was a bit short-handed. Overall, the food was still very good, and I would not hesitate to go back. The restaurant is very nicely decorated with a light and airy feel.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank connoisseur321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love the Thai tea and Pad see ew”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Downtown Brattleboro, Vermont nestled in amongst the artsy, eclectic, woodsy with a touch of granola shops and restaurants is the Thai Bamboo restaurant. Just off the main shopping drag, the Thai Bamboo dining room is an elegantly decorated and relatively spacious space. My daughter, a vegetarian can always find something to enjoy here. We're particularly fond of the Pad See ew...with Tofu. The Pad Thai is delicious too, fresh and light, not prepared greasy and heavy like some places I've been. My favorite, the warm Thai tea with it's unusual orange color and delicious taste is a definite draw for me. The wait staff seems proud of their establishment and the food they are serving. The wait staff is engaging and very accommodating and quick when a request is made. It's unexpected to find a little dining treasure like this in Brattleboro, Vermont...but it's there and always consistent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tlocm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Bamboo also viewed

 

Been to Thai Bamboo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing