We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the worst fold out bed on earth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Brattleboro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I'm just reading the recent review on the side of this page and I concur. This folk out couch is just awful. I can feel every spring. I'm the adult here and agreed to take the bed away from the television. Big mistake.
And, there were not sheets on the horrible fold out couch. It took a long time for them to bring them up. I've got some blankets from the bed under the sheets to cushion the coils of the mattress but it's not enough.
Then I found the trash on the floor of the bathroom. And the chunks of dust in the corners of the bathroom.
How is it possible that this room is so warm when the heat is off? Where is it coming from?

Did I mention the pillow case on the puny pillow for the fold out couch was dirty????

Room Tip: Don't get the family suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NancyW856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeam123, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Guest,
I do understand how uncomfortable a pull out sofa can be especially one that is in need of replacement. I can let you know that we are in the process of ordering new sofa sleepers that we should have in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

In order for our grandchildren to stay with us, we paid extra for the family suite advertised as sleeping 6 and equipped with 2 queen beds and a sleeping couch. However the fold-out couch was unusable, felt like sleeping directly on the coiled springs. Queen beds were fine but children had to sleep together. So we wasted our money on the family suite since it really only sleeps 4.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeam123, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Guest,
I am sorry to hear that your stay was not 100% satisfactory. I do agree with you, most pullout sofa's are very uncomfortable. Had we known we would have provided you with an alternative such as a rollaway bed or possibly another room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Great prices, friendly staff, pool, hot tub, comfortable beds. I wish some of the CFLs were a warmer color, but that didn't bother me as much as it has at other places. Decent breakfast choices; a few gluten-free cereals would be a great addition.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Melamed45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeam123, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Melamed45,

Thank you for guest review for your recent stay here at the Brattleboro Holiday Inn Express. I do understand your concern with gluten free breakfast items needed. IHG has new items that will be added in 2014 to the breakfast. I'm sure you will be pleasantly surprised the next time you visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

As I travel around New England, especially Massachusetts, Vermont, New Hampshire, and Maine, I’m always grateful for a hotel near the interstate, close to food options (a grocery store is right there!), and along my preferred path. This property met all my expectations! The staff was welcoming and helpful (even letting me know I had left my dome light on in my vehicle) and my room was a nice, king room. Everything was clean and well maintained. I chose to stay until checkout and found the room to be comfortable for getting some work done.

Room Tip: I would recommend staying on the top floor because this property does seem to get a fair amount of b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EnjoyTravelAlways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

We appreciate your kind words as our guests feed back is always important to us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Hotel No 7 on our 24 day road trip to Florida via New England. Booked this hotel at last minute because we were not sure where we would be on our last night in New England. Got totally lost trying to find hotel, directions on website not quite adequate. However, nice room, clean and tidy, pleasant reception staff and good breakfast. Plenty of parking and very convenient position on highway for driving to Deerfield. Free wi fi. Nice restaurant at the Marina down the road Would stay here again and can recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HershalBK, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear java,

Thank you for your kind words in regards to your stay here at the Holiday Inn Express, Brattleboro. I'm glad we could cover all your needs. I hope you had a chance to truly discover New England at its best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

It happened before: Holiday Inn does not have same standards in all hotels. I stayed in Amherst with family on a Friday Nov 1 and we got a room with comfortable queen size beds. The next night in Brattleboro VT the queen beds were down to double-size. I was really irritated. I noticed this lack of consistency in a number of other locations. Yet their website advertises the rooms as having queen size bed. To me this is bordering on fraud.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fkolingen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HershalBK, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Guest,
You are not the first guest to suggest that our beds are not "queen size", However sometimes the size of the room can make the beds appear smaller. I assure they are queen size. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay and had a chance to wander around beautiful Brattleboro. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The best thing about a Holiday Inn is their breakfast - love the cinnamon buns. Breakfast has a selection of foods that beats some other chain hotels. The room was suitable but just not really clean. Chairs in the dining area showed lack of attention to detail when cleaning, there is no excuse for rungs on chairs being noticeably dirty. Even though it was October 18-19, 2013 and high tourist season for "leaf peepers" the price at this hotel was very high. Stayed in one other chain hotel and one "Mom & Pop" hotel on a week long trip plus this Holiday Inn and this was our least favorite hotel - not as clean and higher price.

There is a good New York Pizza restaurant a short drive from the hotel in the parking lot of the grocery store strip mall near this hotel. Enjoyed a pizza one evening since there is no restaurant at this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wildlime92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HershalBK, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Guest,
I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations in cleanliness here at the Holiday Inn Express, Brattleboro. This is something we take great pride in and try to keep up with. We are currently going through many upgrades and hope that you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brattleboro
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#2 of 10 in Brattleboro
612 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Brattleboro
0.3 mi away
Colonial Motel & Spa
Colonial Motel & Spa
#4 of 10 in Brattleboro
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 10 in Brattleboro
419 reviews
1.9 mi away
Latchis Hotel
Latchis Hotel
#3 of 10 in Brattleboro
358 reviews
14.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Keene Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Address: 100 Chickering Dr, Brattleboro, VT 05301-9475
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Brattleboro
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Brattleboro
Price Range: £94 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brattleboro is ' All of Vermont and close to home.' We are conveniently located near five major ski areas such as Mount Snow, canoeing, kayaking and antique shops and the new Grafton Cheese Factory. At the end of the day come back and relax in one of our up to date rooms. We offer rooms with two queen beds or one king bed. Maybe a room with a private Jacuzzi is what your looking for or maybe a family suite is for you. Sit back watch a movie on our new flat screen TVs. All rooms offer refrigerators and microwaves. Remember to enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning featuring a great selection of hot and cold breakfast items. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Brattleboro, VT and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Brattleboro
Holiday Inn Express Brattleboro
Holiday Inn Brattleboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing