We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay service, okay motel, come back in summer.”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Brattleboro
Reviewed 8 March 2012

This is an old fashioned motor court, with a pool in the center. I think if I'd come in summer, I would have given it a four. It happened I came on a cold night in an otherwise mild winter. The room is not heated when there is no guest, so it was pretty chilly when I got there, and even two or three hours later. Their heating system leaves a lot to be desired. Can't adjust it, pulls in cold air because it wasn't properly insulated, and very noisy. So much so that you can't hear the tv. And there was some mold in the bathroom. All the negatives aside, the staff was pleasant and efficient enough, and there was a decent breakfast. The bed was comfortable and the rate was very good. I'll try it again in warmer weather.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VTyankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2012

The Econolodge in Brattleboro was a decent place to stay while in transit to skiing -as long as you're not looking for anything fancy. It was only about $55 p/night, and for that price it was clean and in a safe location. It was also conveniently located right off the highway (rt 91).
Simple breakfast was available in the lobby which included coffee, juice, toast, cereal and waffles.
The bed wasn't the greatest, but adequate.
Close to restaurants, gas and even Walgreens across the street.
All-in-all, a decent place to stay for the price. I'd recommend to anyone looking for a cheap place to stay on-route to skiing or other destination.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Owen1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here overnight Jan 7, 2012 - Jan 8, 2012. We checked in around 6:15 PM after a full day of skiing at Mt Snow. The person at the front desk was very helpful and friendly and gave us great guidance on where to go to find the type of restaurant we wanted to eat at. The room was great...clean, plenty of space and with an extra sink outside of the bathroom! The bed was firm and comfortable and there were no problems with noise...we got an excellent night of sleep! Everything worked fine and we were very impressed with the excellent general condition of the room. In the morning we went to the office area where we expected to find the typical fare for a continental breakfast and were pleasantly surprised not only by the expanded choices of hot and cold foods, but also by a very courteous hotel employee who made our hot waffles to order!! Checkout was a breeze, and we were on our way to another great day on the mountain! We would gladly stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobV888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We were looking for a cheap but clean and comfortable place to stay on our way up to the Green Mountains, and, after reading TA reviews, decided to give this Econo Lodge a shot. I can't add much more to what the other reviewers have said: it's clean, if a little dated, conveniently located right off the highway in Brattleboro, friendly reception staff, and a real bargain for the price. The rooms were spotless, the bathrooms need some updating but were clean, with plenty of hot water. Bed was pretty comfy, and we never heard another person, so it was very quiet--except for the heat. The wall unit was a little noisy, so if you're a light sleeper, you might want to bring earplugs. Otherwise, this place was great and a true bargain. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ecargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

I stayed here last week with a few friends and we were quite pleased except for the beds, which were not very comfortable. Rates were great especially split between three people and rooms were a good size.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avenanzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Although we live only seven miles away, we were trapped @ the Brattleboro Econo-Lodge on Sat.Oct.29th, 2011, due to the early snow storm that made travel--especially w/out our studded snow-tires--impossible. Almost immediately after settling in, the electricity went off. Although I don't fault them for this problem (though as many times as this happens during our inclement New England weather, you'd think they would have a back-up generator to at least provide limited emergency power). However, when we asked for an additional blanket, we were told that this could not immediately happen, as the staff who had the keys to the linen closed was out plowing roads somewhere. We were assured that staff would send a blanket down to our room as soon as he arrived back at the motel. Hours went by; the room grew progressively colder. (At least staff gave us one small candle; otherwise we'd have to rely on the flashlight from my car.) We requested an additional blanket one more time, and were again given the same excuse. Hence, we spent a semi-sleepless night, shivering in a cold room with inadequate blankets. We did have a romantic, candle-lit dinner at a nearby Chinese restaurant (also due tot he generalized power outage caused by the snow storm). Fortunately, around 5:00 a.m., the power did come back on, and we were able to get a few hours of sleep in our warmer room. When we asked for a rebate from the $90+/night room charge, however, we were refused. In the morning a member of the staff said that he had mixed us up with another guest, who had also asked for an additional blanket. This was hard to believe, as we asked multiple times during the early- and late-evening, giving our names and room number each time. In the past, when family came to town for a graduation or other family events, we made reservations at this motel. Never again!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eastmagicmountainman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

I have stayed here many times over the last few years- for Ice fishing- and have always had a positive experience. THE STAFF is very devoted to make your stay the best it can be.
Highly recommend this place for a stop in southern VT.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HardwaterFishin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brattleboro hotels
2.8 mi away
Colonial Motel & Spa
Colonial Motel & Spa
#4 of 10 in Brattleboro
285 reviews
1.0 mi away
Latchis Hotel
Latchis Hotel
#3 of 10 in Brattleboro
352 reviews
3.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 10 in Brattleboro
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Brattleboro
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 10 in Brattleboro
586 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 515 Canal St, Brattleboro, VT 05301-6624
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Brattleboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Brattleboro
Price Range: £50 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Brattleboro
Brattleboro Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing