We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat by the River”
Review of The Marina

The Marina
Ranked #3 of 111 Restaurants in Brattleboro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$23
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Marina offers fresh seafood, steaks, burgers, salads, a wide variety of vegetarian options, a kid's menu, homemade desserts, a full bar (with a great selection of local beer), beautiful waterside dining, amazing sunsets... And much more!
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Eat by the River”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The Marina restaurant has a very nice location on the river with outdoor seating and a small marina. The food and service was very good. The atmosphere is casual. The prices were about average.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    215
    101
    29
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Eclectic, maybe overpriced”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stopped in this restaurant on the spur of the moment. Went to Brattleboro just because it was there, and we had not been. Traveled around town just looking. Stopped here as it was on the water. Nice eclectic touch, a dragon in the river, a 'hippie' houseboat, and some pigs in a boat. But I felt the prices were steep, $22.00 for a lobster man 's cheese. Seems high to me. Guess I am used to lower Florida prices for seafood. Still, for a quick trip it was a good find.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco Island, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Marina Magic”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The Marina has a long history in Brattleboro - but I am delighted to say the meals have never been better. We stopped in for lunch and where immediately impressed by the choices and options. Watching our excess pounds we've been in the salad mode and the Marina has many options. I choose the lobster salad and it was fantastic, plenty of fresh lobster over a generous helping of greens. The view of the river and frolicking swimmers and kayakers contributed to the relaxed and friendly atmosphere. If you are heading north on I-91 take the time to travel on US Route 5 and look for The Marina - it's on the left heading north and not far from the centere of town. A little hard to find the first time but well worth it. I found more info about them online at VTLiving.com - it's a local VT Magazine.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ricky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somers, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Definitely an older crowd”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stopped in for cocktails and a bottle of wine, and sat at the bar to enjoy the sunset over the water below. Service was excellent, and the wine was incredible. There was a live band playing who were better than most of the typical local bands who decide that they are suddenly pro musicians. Some of the patrons were super friendly, off duty employees of the establishment, and they were extremely proud of their workplace. The Marina definitely caters to an older crowd of 50+ patrons who partied and danced like they were still in their youth. Great people, but not a draw for younger persons. Despite numerous invitations four us to come back during our stay in the area, we declined.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maestro96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable evening of our entire New England trip”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The views from the Marina outdoor seating are just gorgeous - right on a lake where the other side are picture-perfect hills. Not sure why they have the kitschy wooden dragon in the middle of the lake it's so pretty without it, but that's a small item. They have a tiered outdoor seating providing lots of tables a nice view. We were there around 6pm on a weekday with no problem getting seated outside for a table of 5 (note they do not take reservations for outdoor seating). Service was friendly and well-paced. The seafood was quite good and well-priced for this type of experience. One of the most enjoyable evenings of our entire New England trip. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carleton_Alumna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing