We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Colonial Motel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Brattleboro
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I followed suggestions given here and got nowhere. I asked for a new or renovated room.They agreed when I called ahead but on arrival told me there are no renovated rooms or updated sections. Desk associate said instead that every room has been upgraded (meaning 'fixed') since new owners took over a year ago. Ton of work has been done incl painting,new carpets, repairs where needed, etc. She insisted there are no bad rooms and we would be happy in any room -understanding this is not the Ritz.
In an effort to save time and words:
Go to the Motel 6. The aunt I was visiting told me (too late) that many relatives have stayed at the Motel 6 with no complaints.
The bad:
requested a king bed; got a queen
very old air conditioner built in to the wall; dingy and ineffective
water lever in shower wouldn't turn far enough to get hot water
bathroom tiny
bathroom light switch also turns the bathroom fan on which was very LOUD
Therefore no light I could leave on while sleeping
freezer in the small fridge was so heavily frosted it was unusable.
Wifi free but not secured
old TV
The good:
Free wifi
comfortable bed - the most important issue in the end
microwave, fridge
coffeemaker, hair dryer
clean sheets & towels
new carpet
Furnishings were old but not in disrepair
clean room
friendly staff
central location
didn't need, use or want spa, pool, or restaurant
quiet except bathroom fan and showers in other rooms
Thank God we only needed one night; would not have stayed for a second one

Room Tip: disregard all tips here. They won't assign rooms in advance and gave false assurances when the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DMB5419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    80
    39
    26
    27
See reviews for
75
94
26
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brookville, Ohio
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

They offered 3 different king size accommodations. We took the one in the middle and we're put on the second floor. Hated dragging all out stuff to the second floor when all the cheap rooms you drove up to the door. We enjoyed our stay and would come again.

Room Tip: There is a train line that runs behind the hotel. We never heard them during the night. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinkerchief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maine
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The service is very pleasant but the rooms are old and dingy. My teenage kids could not use the hot tub even with me in it with them. The pool lanes are lap lanes and full of locals. Measly little continental breakfast. Not bad but not good overall….

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank north4Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennebunk, Maine
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This motel has a quaint "throwback" feel. The staff at both the front desk and the fitness center/pool were very friendly and helpful. The room was simple but clean. The rooms are a good distance from the road which makes for a peaceful nights sleep. Bring a bathing suit for the outdoor hot tub open year round.

Room Tip: Choose room in newer section
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pa area
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Just back from a 3 night stay at this establishment. I booked a 3 night stay to celebrate by sons 16th birthday by snowboarding at Mt Snow (25 mins away). Queen room, 2 queen beds 230$ for 3 nights - not bad. Friends of ours were in another room with their 2 16 yr olds. I picked this hotel because of the indoor pool and hot tub - figured the boys would love it apres' skiing. Vermont law is no kids in hot tub under 18, doesn't matter with adult or not. The pool is a 3 lane lap pool so if you aren't doing laps GET OUT. They were allowed in one lane WITH parental supervision. We are talking about 3 boys who are 16 and all have their own jet skis! The pool doubles as a gym for the locals. Really not the managers of the pools fault - I fault the hotel for touting this hotel amenity when you have to be over 18 to enjoy. Room was spacious but paint on walls chipped. My friends room had a new flat screen TV ours was an old tube TV. Beds were comfy, rooms cleaned daily. Newer carpeting. Fridges. Set back off of a busy road across from a handy super market and pizza place. We bowled next door 2 nights in a row, that was fun and convenient. I guess I would stay there again if the price was right. Has kinda a dirty dancing feel to it. I hate the hot tub law and the junky tv but you live and learn I guess.

Room Tip: Ask for a recently renovated room - I understand this place is under new ownership.....Don't sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott-fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We booked a one night stay at the hotel based on the price and the amenities ($57 per room per night), but unfortunately when we arrived what we were looking for was not as expected.
The Tavern (the bar that the Motel advertised on the website) close on sunday (buy they tell us after paying for the room), the spa close at 7.45PM (we arrived at 8.30PM).
The entire cost for 3 people in a 1 double room was way over $100 and for a simple Motel I think is a way too high. The bathroom was very dirty we found body hair all over and the room was noisy, I don't know if it was the heater or something else but there was an annoying noise going on and off all night, it make us crazy!!!!!
Not to mentioned that there was no breakfast at all beside a terrible coffee.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miss_sivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brattleboro hotels

Seekonk, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 25 December 2013

This hotel is located close to a big grocery store and pharmacy. It is also close to Downtown.
We had an extended stay at this beautiful hotel. The hotel is clean and cozy. We loved the indoor pool and spa with hot tub. The staff are friendly and helpful. they also have restaurant on site too.

Room Tip: call hotel directly instead booking online, because they will give options for room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruhant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brattleboro
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 10 in Brattleboro
564 reviews
1.9 mi away
Latchis Hotel
Latchis Hotel
#3 of 10 in Brattleboro
340 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Brattleboro
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 10 in Brattleboro
405 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel...
#2 of 2 in West Chesterfield
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Motel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Motel & Spa

Property: Colonial Motel & Spa
Address: 889 Putney Rd, Brattleboro, VT 05301-9047
Region: United States > Vermont > Brattleboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Brattleboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Colonial Motel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonial Motel & Spa is located in Brattleboro, Vermont. Our rooms range from standard to executive suites and offer FREE wireless internet, air-conditioning, cable TV with HBO and free continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Colonial Motel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Motel And Spa
Colonial Hotel Brattleboro
Colonial Motel Brattleboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing