We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best people in Vermont” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Mountain Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Black Mountain Inn
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Brattleboro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best people in Vermont”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

We had an interesting experience at this lovely Inn. When they say Pet Friendly they mean Pet Family. Our dog got hurt and the owners were there to support and help us with her injuries. In short, they went above and beyond to make us and our dog feel like family.

The rooms are large and comfortable with Great amenities as well.

Thank you so much America's Best Inn! We will see you again in the fall.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BellaRobAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abibratt, Front Office Manager at Black Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel personnel. We pride ourselves in customer service and treat our guests with the utmost courtesy, respect and genuine concern for their comfort and care. We do not just accept pets, as some hotels may, we are truly pet friendly! We all adored your beautiful dog and are so glad to hear she is feeling better. Once again, thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you again as your travel plans bring you back to Vermont.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    31
    18
    13
    20
See reviews for
36
30
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hatfield, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

it was a clean friendly area.the area was very refreshing an the woman at the front desk very friendly will go there again an will tell others to go and stay there.close to all stores an none pushy people

Room Tip: just stay at this hotel middle room on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abibratt, Front Office Manager at Black Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for your review. It is great to hear you found our place clean and "refreshing". We pride ourselves on being a comfortable and homey environment as our guests are away from home. All of our front desk staff are knowledgable of our local area, kind and truly love their work and our patrons. We are happy that you found the staff to be friendly-it is with our sincerest effort to provide one of a kind customer service. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brattleboro, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

This hotel is the best for the buck! The rates are very affordable, the rooms are clean, the staff is friendly and courteous, the price includes a delicious hot breakfast plus u get FREE WI - FREE SPORTS Channel that u normally pay for everywhere else and it's conveniently located in the center of town making it super easy to get anywhere u need to go. Will go back again and will recommend it to my family and friends! This hotel gets a big Thumbs Up!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbara7584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keene, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

The lady at the front desk was very nice and was very helpful. The room I stayed in was very clean and tidy. The pool was very refreshing and clean. Overall I enjoyed my stay at America's Best Inn and would stay there again without a doubt. Also the breakfast wasn't bad at all, giving me many options and the bagels and donuts were fresh and tasty.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

This was by far the worst hotel experience of my life. Unfortunately there was no other available in the area and we were tired and had a long way to go. The room had a musty, smoky, moldy smell which I guess was the reason for the tabletop air purifier that was fighting a losing battle. The alarm clock looked as if it had not been dusted in months. The bedspread had blood stains on the underside. There was some kind of disgusting deposit around the drain of the tub. The door had a lock, but the chain was missing on the top lock. The sheets and towels neither smelled nor looked clean. I could go on, but I really do not want to think about this place any more. I also have noted that the management makes frequent attempts to reply to these reviews. Don't! Instead spend the time truly looking at the state of your rooms!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Suzerduzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

There is nothing more to say than it was terrible. It smells bad. It was discusting. In addition, the next morning, my friend found a dirty underware in her room...
We tried to cancel and go somewhere else, but everything was full since there was a lot of sport tournements in the area...
Sincerely, we should sleep in the car that night instead!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VamosAlaPlaya-22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abibratt, Front Office Manager at Black Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Thank you for your comments. We apologize that we were not able to satisfy your group reservation. Although we tried to accomodate you and your friends,as best we could within our means, we regret that you were dissatisfied. Cleanliness is of the utmost importance,and we apologize that your guest room smelled. We did try to rectify any issues you experienced,and although we were not able to, we do, none the less,appreciate your comments in hopes of growth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

My son and I stopped overnight in Brattleboro on our way north, and I wish we had checked out these reviews first. I've stayed in hotels all over the United States, and this night -- at America's Best -- was one of America's Worst. Some examples: the room (303) seemed not to have been updated in at least 20 years. It was a "non-smoking" room, but it smelled of smoke. The carpet had not been cleaned, and there were (somebody else's) toe-nail clippings on the floor. The bathtub was dirty, with an old cigarette burn on the side. The TV remote didn't work, which was OK, since the TV was so old anyway. There were pills (also not ours) on top of the TV. And the headboard over one of the beds had fallen off of the wall and was resting on the floor -- leaning into the bed. Breakfast (a continental affair) was tremendously disappointing -- small wrapped donuts and lukewarm coffee. Just a terrible, terrible experience. We could have stayed at another cheap hotel (rhymes with ate) a block down -- for twenty dollars less. Honest to goodness, I don't know how this place has survived.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alwaysdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brattleboro
0.1 mi away
Colonial Motel & Spa
Colonial Motel & Spa
#4 of 10 in Brattleboro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 10 in Brattleboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
2.0 mi away
Latchis Hotel
Latchis Hotel
#2 of 10 in Brattleboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Brattleboro
0.4 mi away
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel...
#2 of 2 in West Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Mountain Inn

Property: Black Mountain Inn
Address: 959 Putney Road, Brattleboro, VT 05031 (Formerly America's Best Inn Brattleboro)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Brattleboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Brattleboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Mountain Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just yards from Interstate 91, Route 5 and 9 intersection, we are in the heart of the tri state area and gateway to beautiful Vermont. Our rooms have been renovated recently and are well equipped with microwave, refridgerators,free wifi,32 inch LED TV's with several great channels including HBO and Cinamax. We also feauture Evergreen rooms-with water and air filtration. Our continental breakfast is also free and includes bagels and cream cheese, fresh fruit,and hard boiled eggs. We are an outstanding value and strive to provide our guests clean and comfortable rooms with thought and care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Black Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brattleboro Best Inn
Best Inn Brattleboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing