We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disasterous bathroom!”
Review of Black Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Black Mountain Inn
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Brattleboro
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This was likely the worst bathroom/shower that we have ever experienced as travelers. The first room we were given had a non-functional shower...the second room we were given had a shower that sprayed all over the room and the tub drain backed up to several inches of standing water.

Everything in this room was a little odd; from some type of ionizing machine in the corner to some bracketing device that was attached to the bedside table.

The only thing going for the room was a comfortable bed.

Room Tip: If someone was looking for a motel/inn to stop at without a reservation, there is a better one a lit...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Odessa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abibratt, Front Office Manager at Black Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for reviewing our inn. I would like to apologize for the issues you had with the bathroom. The latch that converts the tub to shower had come loose and required re-tightening. I am happy to report that the issue has been fixed and am so sorry that you had to switch rooms because of the problem. As far as the drain moving slow, that has also been rectified,although we were not able to deduce from your review what other issue you felt was a problem. I am glad to hear you felt the beds were comfortable,because they are wonderful King Koils and our bedding and pillows have also been updated to a high standard. America's Best Inns are a "stay healthy" franchise with Evergreen rooms-the guestroom you were in was an Evergreen room and the ionizer in the room is an Evergreen ionizer for clean air filtration, an amenity most our guests love! To clarify,the holder on the nightstand is for the remote control. Thanks again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
There are newer reviews for Black Mountain Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 80 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

The truck parking was great. When I had to stay over the check out time they were more than accommodating. The rooms were comfortable. I highly recommend this place to other truckers. The weekend that I was there the other motels doubled their prices due to an event going on. This one did not...Thank you. I will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clayton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abibratt, Front Office Manager at Black Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so very appreciative to hear your raving comments about your place,especially in regard to truckers. We work hard to accomodate all guests,but truckers are a select group of guests with unique needs. We have a large accomodating parking lot for easy road access,electric hook ups and a designated section far from other guests who could be disturbed if the truck needs to run for refridgearation. We also offer competitive rates to truckers,and we are glad to hear that housekeeping and front desk personnel were kind and accomodating. It was our pleasure to have you. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We recently spent a night at America's Best Inn Brattleboro. We were impressed with the room, amenities and service. The room was large and bright with comfortable beds. The bathroom had nice soaps and lots of towels. Our TV looked new and had an easy to use and clean remote! A continental breakfast came with this very reasonably priced room. The breakfast was good and their was lots of variety. Dogs are welcomed at this hotel and there are lots of places nearby to walk them. The manager was a helpful and pleasant woman. She welcomed us, gave us ideas about where to eat and shared her knowledge of the area - an excellent ambassador for her town and state! We had a lovely chat with her over breakfast - these are the 'little things' that make an impression.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BluenoseNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abibratt, Front Office Manager at Black Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the room amenities, breakfast and found your stay to be a comfortable one. We do indeed have new 32" LED TV's in many guestrooms,as we are in the process of phasing the older tvs out. They are equipped with accessory hook ups, and all guestrooms have Directv with HBO and Cinamax. Our breakfast has gone through some recent additions as well-we are happy to hear that you found it full orf variety and delicious. We look forward to seeing you again when life brings you back to Brattleboro!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here last weekend for a one night stay, it was wonderful! Cozy and clean, Tina was more than helpful with everything, great breakfast and nice rooms, we had a great time and we be there again soon!

Room Tip: Any and all!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannah k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abibratt, Front Office Manager at Black Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for reviewing our inn. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our rooms clean and cozy. We try very hard to make sure that we are a great value for the money and our guest rooms are clean and fresh. Customer service is paramount and we are happy to hear that you found Tina kind and helpful. She is an amazing asset to the property as are all of our staff. We look forward to seeing you again whenever your travel plans bring you back to the beautiful Green Mountain State! Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I had been looking forward to staying here for some time, as I liked the fact that they had rooms with a hot tub & were pet friendly. Needless to say, I was quite disappointed. Upon entering the room, we noticed the cover of the ac/heating unit lying on the floor (thankfully it worked fine, if quite noisy). After then removing the cover from the hot tub, the smell of chlorine was so overpowering it was downright difficult to breathe (opening the window helped but that necessitated turning on the heat, since it was 20 degrees outside). Two of the headrests of the hot tub were floating around, and they would not stay attached no matter how hard we tried. Afterwards while walking to the bathroom, we noticed what looked like rather large bloodstains by the mini fridge. Then, in the bathroom, we noticed a large hole in the floor by the corner of the tub, as if the whole tub were ready to fall through the floor. Not to mention the holes in the wall where there once was a towel rack, but had been crudely patched up with the wrong color caulk. And the extractor fan twice would not work without sounding like someone trying to start a car that just wouldn't turn over (turning it on & off 3 or 4 times seemed to cure it). Also, two times during the night, the hot tub went about making terrible mechanical noises for about 45 minutes both times. I was quite disappointed after spending $150 for one night when I've stayed at another motel right down the road for 2 nights for the same price (didn't have a hot tub, but the accommodations were much nicer & the continental breakfast much better, as well as being pet friendly). If you're looking for a cheap place for the night, go ahead, but skip the fancy rooms. If you're expecting anything more, please look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LRod1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abibratt, Front Office Manager at Black Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you felt we were not what you were looking for. I am happy to report the issues you highlighted in the bathroom have been addressed. The hot tub room has undergone some renovations and now has a new bathroom floor-contemporary plank ceramic tile! We have also repaired the bathroom fan. The hot tub is a 17 jet genuine hot tub,not just a glorified bath tub as many other establishments have. It is serviced by an outside company that specializes in spa and pool servicing. The headrests became unlatched as they do from time to time from the jets bubbling. We are staffed around the clock and would have been happy to put them back in for you had we known. In either event, thank you again for your review,your comments were heard, and as a result, our hot tub room has been attended to.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

our son is in Brattleboro Retreat and this inn is 2.2 miles away, we arrived Friday night 11:30 pm looking for a room for the 3 of us.the man in the office was very nice to talk to. my girlfriend was in wheelchair we stayed in # 304 had no problems getting into the room, the inn had ramps on all ends and into the office on the right side. our room was very clean and nice beds had fridge and microwave but did not use them but also clean. we slept very soundly did not here anything. we went down to have breakfast next to the office we all where met with good morning and the woman helped my girlfriend at the table got her coffee and made here feel welcome and at home. the food selection was very good loved the coffee. we also met other staff as we where there eating they all seemed very nice. we are very thankful. we had a great stay. we are going back to the america's best inn. when we come up to visit our son.
thank you.
Stu, Daria, nana

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abibratt, Front Office Manager at Black Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you so much for reviewing out inn. We are pleased to hear that our customer service has not gone unnoticed. We are happy that your girlfriend was able to enjoy all the same amenities as our able bodied guests,and that the handicap ramp provided ease of access to your guestroom. We have been paying close attention to housekkeping and are glad to hear that you found your room comfortable and very clean. Please do visit us again when you return to Vermont!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My wife and I were making a trip back to Vermont (from NY) when the weather suddenly turned very bad. We decided to get off the interstate in Brattleboro VT and find a place to stay for the night. The first place we found was America's Best Inn--right off exit 3. Big Mistake.

Although the rooms are on the edge of being shabby, they are passable--especially for a 1-night stay. Our problem came in the form of other guests staying in the room below us. All night long, we had to listen to people yelling, swearing, throwing furniture around the room--and slamming doors so hard that it made our room shake. We tried to put up with it as long as we could...but finally resorted to calling the front desk after midnight--as it seemed these guests would never stop fighting. The front desk sent someone to talk with the folks. We did hear someone knock on their door a few minutes after our call. The noise subsided for a while, but around 4 a.m., it started up again. We got almost no sleep and could not wait to get out of there and get on our way. Note to self (and anyone else paying attention), when a hotel advertises $59.00 per night on their sign out front, it might be wise to check elsewhere. Cheap prices attract the wrong crowd and it can make your stay miserable.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else--even if you have to pay a few bucks more.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank inglz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abibratt, Front Office Manager at Black Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Thank you for reviewing our inn here in beautiful Brattleboro, VT. We offer clean,comfortable and affordable rooms. We are very sorry that the guests in the room downstairs were loud and obnoxious. Unfortunately, we cannot control all guests and their behavior. If we had known that these guests continued to be disruptive after we were first made aware,we would have asked them to leave immediately. We take all our guests' rest and peaceable enjoyment at of the utmost priority and we are so sorry that we did not know these particular people continued in such a manner. Please know, you can always make desk personnel here aware of an issue as we are staffed around the clock for your safety and convenience. In all due respect, it may not be fair to judge our patrons and hotel by one particular guest. Thank you for your review, none the less.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brattleboro hotels
0.1 mi away
Colonial Motel & Spa
Colonial Motel & Spa
#4 of 10 in Brattleboro
284 reviews
2.0 mi away
Latchis Hotel
Latchis Hotel
#3 of 10 in Brattleboro
352 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Brattleboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 10 in Brattleboro
586 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 10 in Brattleboro
413 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Mountain Inn

Address: 959 Putney Rd, Brattleboro, VT 05301-9048 (Formerly America's Best Inn Brattleboro)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Brattleboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Brattleboro
Price Range: £57 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Mountain Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just yards from Interstate 91, Route 5 and 9 intersection, we are in the heart of the tri state area and gateway to beautiful Vermont. Our rooms have been renovated recently and are well equipped with microwave, refridgerators,free wifi,32 inch LED TV's with several great channels including HBO and Cinamax. We also feauture Evergreen rooms-with water and air filtration. Our continental breakfast is also free and includes bagels and cream cheese, fresh fruit,and hard boiled eggs. We are an outstanding value and strive to provide our guests clean and comfortable rooms with thought and care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Black Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brattleboro Best Inn
Best Inn Brattleboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing