We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NOT SAFE for individuals with GLUTEN ALLERGIES” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of India Palace - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
India Palace
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Gardner, MA
1 review
“NOT SAFE for individuals with GLUTEN ALLERGIES”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

This establishment is NOT SAFE for individuals with GLUTEN ALLERGIES. The management will claim that they take due precautions, but expect to get sick if you eat there. We returned after a member of our party was struck sick by the food. The manager stated that they specially prepare the food with their vegetarian food, which is NOT necessarily GLUTEN FREE. They are CLUELESS about ALLERGY SAFETY. EAT THERE AT YOUR OWN RISK!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher01440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    0
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Putney, Vermont
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“greasy parathas and overcooked, underspiced, salty food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

What has kept this place in business for some many years remains an unsolved mystery. The food is consistantly poor, though the service is good. I've tasted fabulous Indian food in NYC, London, and many other cities which might explain why I find this so unsatisfactory. It just isn't up to standard, or even close. I suppose if one has never tasted Indian cuisine elsewhere it might be passable, but I will continue to pass it up.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruby05346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dummerston, Vermont
Level Contributor
159 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Fine fare & Ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

Traditional fare always served with cordiality. Great taste, will spice to please, quiet atmosphere. Room made for small groups or a table for two. Very pleasant. The only quality Indian food in Brattleboro

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guilford, Vermont
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A Taste of the Sub-Continent in Downtown Brattleboro”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

The India Palace is a wonderful little family-run restaurant in downtown Brattleboro. We always look forward to enjoying a special meal there twice or thrice a year. Recently, we took our daughter there before she returned to college. My wife had the Tandoori Dinner (soup, half order of Tandoori Chicken, Tikka Kabob, Seekh Cabob, half order of meat curry, dal, rice and nan, plus dessert), my daughter the Lamb Curry (tender lamb cubes in medium spiced gravy), and I had the Keema Mattar (spiced ground lamb cooked with peas and tomatoes). We all shared Vegi Pakora (spinach and onion fritters, Poori (deep fired whole wheat bread) and Garlic Nan (soft and fluffy bread, seasoned with garlic). The meal memorable, the service superb, the atmosphere restful. Their menu has a wide variety of Tandoori Specialties, Curry, Rice, Bahar-e-Sabaz vegetable curries, Bahar-e-Murg Meat curries and Goshtlaziz Meat Curries. Resonably priced. Enjoy!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eastmagicmountainman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
575 reviews
373 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Great Indian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

Passing through Brattleboro, I ate at Indian Palace Saturday dinner and then returned for Sunday lunch! That says enough! But to say more, Saturday night the place was packed and service was a little slow. Sunday lunch the place was almost empty, the waiter recognized me, and service was perfect. The food was great both times, especially the mint sauce. I liked the beer list, too, which includes a couple local Vermont brews.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank abecedarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed India Palace also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing